IGNORED

Wildly inconsistent - Driver is biggest problem

Note: This thread is 3169 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

A little background: I'm 31, I started playing golf about 3 years ago. I'm not a big guy, 5'10 160lbs but I hit the ball pretty far. Routine distances for the 3W and Driver are hard to pinpoint but I hit my PW about 150 swinging about 80% effort. I hit my 5i between 200 and 220.

I'll be starting a swing thread as soon as I can convince my wife to come to the driving range with me and film my swing.

My biggest issue in my game is just the wild inconsistency.  I've been trying different training methods, tried slowing down my swing even more and nothing seems to be working. At the driving range I have an excellent ability to control the flight path for all my clubs up until I start getting past the 7i, it starts dropping off pretty quickly after that. I hardly have any mishits with my irons on the range.  As I get up to my 3W and my driver things start to get really crazy. With my 9i I might have 9 out 10 good shots; with my driver its more like 1 out of 10 good shots. I got some chalk and a dry erase marker because I thought I might be hitting the ball in the wrong spots but I discovered that I'm mostly hitting it dead center or slightly high center, which should be perfect for a driver. However, for my mishits they are all over the place. Sometimes they are low and inside and more often the high and on the toe. But even when I hit dead center the ball has a nasty slice. Its been frustrating me to get this figured out because I can hit draws, fades, etc at will with my low irons. I tried to carry over the same principles and setup to my driver and it doesn't seem to work.