Note: This thread is 1672 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!
Remember P Reed being penalized for improving his lie at the Hero, in a sandy waste area? He moved sand in the same area where Phil did the raking. The difference, Phil was restoring the lie to its original condition as part of replacing his ball after marking and lifting it for the other player's shot.
Thanks. And the rule applies to a ball in sand, whether in a bunker or not, so it certainly applied in Phil's case.
I guess, what would be the area that defines a lie? Is it directly under the ball? If so, then I believe his lie was not disturbed since he was able to place it then asked for the official to confirm if he could rake the bunker.