Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3858 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I played a nine hole round last night.  The weather was getting pretty nasty with dark clouds and winds picking up.  I started to pick up the pace around hole number 5.

1)  I tee off on number 8 and the ball lands in the middle of the fairway right next to the 150 yard stake.  If I was a lefty, I could have taken a swing no problem.  Being a righty, I pulled the stake up because it either would have either been altering my stance or having the possibility of hitting it with the shaft.  My brother who is not into golf says I cheated by pulling it up and not taking a penalty.  I'm not risking ruining equipment with graphite going against pvc.  Who is right or how is this played out?

2)  The next hole the winds are something fierce.  I backed off a few times waiting for a little break.  None to be had and I took a crack at it and it really affected my swing.  I pulled it to the left side and down along the sparsely populated trees lining that side of the fairway.  I did not bother to hit a provisional because it was so nasty out.  I walk down there and think I see my ball but it is some Nike with its top cut from a mower.   It is so windy and dark and the trees are turning inside out.  Yeah, I know!   Well I decide to chalk it up as a lost ball and see another ball farther down the hill.  It is my Top Flite Gamer.  I deciding to finish this hole out or getting out of there.  I tag my 5 wood for an attempt between a vary narrow window of trees and leaves.   My hat blows off as I'm about to take a swing.  I retrieve it as it's blowing down the fairway.  I get back to my ball and tag again because I forgot if I did or not.  Meanwhile, it starts to pour and I see a flash.  Enough of that!  I put a tee in the ground next to the ball and pick up.  My hat flies off again and I'm giving chase in some half assed trot with one leg.  It is close to the parking lot so I only got 90% drenched.  Ok, is it legal to play from there the next day?   Do I take a drop or set the ball down by the tee?  Are their any penalties involved?

Oh, it probably will be my best nine hole round if I par or bogie the hole.  It's a par 5 by the way.  I'm sitting at 6 over par with the drive which is not too shabby for this 30 handicapper.  When I took the clubs out of the car later that night, I noticed I lost my 3 hybrid cover.  I did not use it so I was hoping it came off in the last hole debacle.  I'm out and about at 1:00 am and decide to take a wander to find it with flashlight in tow.  It looked like a mini war zone with all the little branches and water runoff.  I retraced all my steps from hat chasing to the vicinity of where the drive landed.  No hybrid cover to be found.  Oh well, chalk it up and hope someone finds it the next day.  I turned the flashlight off and was using the light coming from the parking lot and stumbled on something.  It's my soaking wet hybrid cover.

I'm sitting 354 yards out with no chance of advancing directly to the hole.  Maybe a 5 Wood isn't the best club to use if it comes out too high as I sit here waiting to go back over to finish out the hole.  Besides the stupidity of not quitting sooner, is it legal to change clubs or be viewing distances to the edges of the fairway or water hazard out there while I'm at home without being subject to penalties?  If it is then I will not sign the round today for the Sand Trap Challenge and do it after the competition is over.  I would still like it for the stats in the end.

What if I cannot find my tee?

Driver:  :nike:  Vapor Pro 9.5°  Wood & Hybrids : :nike:Covert Tour 13°, 18° & 21°
Irons & Wedges:
  :nike:  Covert 2.0  5i - AW,  :titleist:   56-14F,  60-07S
Putter:     :titleist:Newport Select
Balls:  :bridgestone: B330-RX


Posted

1)  The pole is a movable obstruction.  No penalty.

2)  You should be able to finish the round the next day since it's not a competition and there is no committee to say you can't.  This is done in tournaments all the time.  If your tee goes missing, then estimate as closely as possible and drop at that point.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Thanks for the reply!

Well I'm glad that little ordeal is over.  I went back out and found the spot.  I thought I would play it conservative and hit a little 3 hybrid shot into the middle of the fairway.  Then it would be 3 wood time to run it up to the green.  I hit the hybrid 70 yards too far and it made a bee line right into that red staked water hazard I damn well knew was there.  I found the ball and dropped it a club length from where it entered.  Now that I think about it, I should have dropped it in the fairway instead of the high grass.  I hit another hybrid with a half hearted shot just to get it too the fairway on the other side of the road for an easy pitch home.  The pitch was way short and then the sand wedge thumped the ground behind the ball and went to a different part of the green.  Two putts later and a big snowman is on the board.

http://www.gamegolf.com/player/srx700xxx/round/364354?hole_id=17123731

Driver:  :nike:  Vapor Pro 9.5°  Wood & Hybrids : :nike:Covert Tour 13°, 18° & 21°
Irons & Wedges:
  :nike:  Covert 2.0  5i - AW,  :titleist:   56-14F,  60-07S
Putter:     :titleist:Newport Select
Balls:  :bridgestone: B330-RX


Posted

1)  The pole is a movable obstruction.  No penalty.

Unless there is a local rule which states that these distance poles are immovable obstructions. Some (many?) courses have that in effect.


Posted

Unless there is a local rule which states that these distance poles are immovable obstructions. Some (many?) courses have that in effect.

But then you get relief in the form of a drop without penalty.

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

1)  The pole is a movable obstruction.  No penalty.

Unless there is a local rule which states that these distance poles are immovable obstructions. Some (many?) courses have that in effect.

I've never seen a course where they were removable where they weren't movable obstructions.  If they are anchored or embedded in some way, then  they are immovable obstructions.  Many that I've seen have them installed in a sleeve of some kind so that they are designed to be easily removable.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I've never seen a course where they were removable where they weren't movable obstructions .  If they are anchored or embedded in some way, then  they are immovable obstructions.  Many that I've seen have them installed in a sleeve of some kind so that they are designed to be easily removable.

Ditto.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I'm confused why anyone would think that moving a yardage marker would be a penalty. Now, I've had to put up with people in my "golf league" breaking branches under trees and stuff which is a rule violation I believe, but that's not even enforced. *which is why I put quotes around golf league, they break so many rules what they do is hardly golf* As for the second part, isn't that basically what they do when they have to call play due to rain/darkness on the tour? Mark with a tee and come back the next day to play from that spot?

KICK THE FLIP!!

In the bag:
:srixon: Z355

:callaway: XR16 3 Wood
:tmade: Aeroburner 19* 3 hybrid
:ping: I e1 irons 4-PW
:vokey: SM5 50, 60
:wilsonstaff: Harmonized Sole Grind 56 and Windy City Putter

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I'm confused why anyone would think that moving a yardage marker would be a penalty. Now, I've had to put up with people in my "golf league" breaking branches under trees and stuff which is a rule violation I believe, but that's not even enforced. *which is why I put quotes around golf league, they break so many rules what they do is hardly golf* As for the second part, isn't that basically what they do when they have to call play due to rain/darkness on the tour? Mark with a tee and come back the next day to play from that spot?

I think the rules for this apply to hazards?

OTOH, I think the course might kick them off for vandalism. . .

To the OP, the first one was fine, you just need to put the marker back. I think you could also take a drop?

The second one was a penalty for not going back and re-teeing.

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremie Boop

I'm confused why anyone would think that moving a yardage marker would be a penalty. Now, I've had to put up with people in my "golf league" breaking branches under trees and stuff which is a rule violation I believe, but that's not even enforced. *which is why I put quotes around golf league, they break so many rules what they do is hardly golf* As for the second part, isn't that basically what they do when they have to call play due to rain/darkness on the tour? Mark with a tee and come back the next day to play from that spot?

I think the rules for this apply to hazards?

OTOH, I think the course might kick them off for vandalism. . .

To the OP, the first one was fine, you just need to put the marker back. I think you could also take a drop?

The second one was a penalty for not going back and re-teeing.

He's talking about branches on live trees - that applies anywhere.  You aren't allowed to bend or break anything like that except in fairly taking your stance.  "Fairly taking your stance" means taking the least obtrusive way to get set.  You can't deliberate move into a bush from a direction that would bend a branch out of the way if there is a more direct way to take your stance.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I'm just cracking up you went back at 1AM to find your hybrid cover! That's dedication, my friend.

My Swing


Driver: :ping: G30, Irons: :tmade: Burner 2.0, Putter: :cleveland:, Balls: :snell:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremie Boop

I'm confused why anyone would think that moving a yardage marker would be a penalty. Now, I've had to put up with people in my "golf league" breaking branches under trees and stuff which is a rule violation I believe, but that's not even enforced. *which is why I put quotes around golf league, they break so many rules what they do is hardly golf* As for the second part, isn't that basically what they do when they have to call play due to rain/darkness on the tour? Mark with a tee and come back the next day to play from that spot?

I think the rules for this apply to hazards?

OTOH, I think the course might kick them off for vandalism. . .

To the OP, the first one was fine, you just need to put the marker back. I think you could also take a drop?

The second one was a penalty for not going back and re-teeing.

Why would he have to take stroke and distance when he found his original ball in play?

Mac

WITB:
Driver: Ping G30 (12*)
FW:  Ping K15 (3W, 5W)
Hybrids: Ping K15 (3H, 5H)
Irons: Ping K15 (6-UW)

Wedges: Cleveland 588 RTX CB (54*, 58*)

Putter: Ping Scottsdale w/ SS Slim 3.0

Ball: Bridgestone e6

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Why would he have to take stroke and distance when he found his original ball in play?


He wouldn't.  Lihu is a bit confused on several counts -

the breaking of branches  - which has already been answered;

the suggestion that you can take relief from a movable obstruction with a drop as an alternative to moving the obstruction - you can't;

and penalising the OP for not playing again from the tee - he found his ball presumably within 5 minutes of searching.

The procedure when resuming play after a discontinuation is to replace your ball where it was marked or if your marker has disappeared to estimate the spot and place the ball there.


Posted

I've never seen a course where they were removable where they weren't movable obstructions.  If they are anchored or embedded in some way, then  they are immovable obstructions.  Many that I've seen have them installed in a sleeve of some kind so that they are designed to be easily removable.

In Finland the National Golf Union has implemented four local rules which are in effect on all (couple of exceptions) golf courses in Finland. One of them is that "All distance measurement markings are immovable obstructions, relief according to rule 24-2." So even if you could remove them, better leave in place.


Posted
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mac62

Why would he have to take stroke and distance when he found his original ball in play?

He wouldn't.  Lihu is a bit confused on several counts -

the breaking of branches  - which has already been answered;

the suggestion that you can take relief from a movable obstruction with a drop as an alternative to moving the obstruction - you can't;

and penalising the OP for not playing again from the tee - he found his ball presumably within 5 minutes of searching.

The procedure when resuming play after a discontinuation is to replace your ball where it was marked or if your marker has disappeared to estimate the spot and place the ball there.

Oops, I've probably let more than one playing partner do these things. . .but I've never had issues with having to bend branches nor to not move a moveable obstruction.

Resuming play is not something I've considered in the past. Didn't know you could. . .

http://www.randa.org/en/Rules-and-Amateur-Status/~/media/RandA/Related%20Documents/2011/2012%20Rules/72580_ROG_CLUBHOUSE_with%20cover.ashx

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I'm just cracking up you went back at 1AM to find your hybrid cover! That's dedication, my friend.

It's only 1/2 mile from the house.  I usually don't get up with the early birds and did not want it to become one of the missing.  I could of waited and asked the pro shop if someone brought one in.  Someone might decide it is their very own or it could meet its demise at the hands of a mower deck.

He wouldn't.  Lihu is a bit confused on several counts -

the breaking of branches  - which has already been answered;

the suggestion that you can take relief from a movable obstruction with a drop as an alternative to moving the obstruction - you can't;

and penalising the OP for not playing again from the tee - he found his ball presumably within 5 minutes of searching.

The procedure when resuming play after a discontinuation is to replace your ball where it was marked or if your marker has disappeared to estimate the spot and place the ball there.

Thanks for the replies.

Driver:  :nike:  Vapor Pro 9.5°  Wood & Hybrids : :nike:Covert Tour 13°, 18° & 21°
Irons & Wedges:
  :nike:  Covert 2.0  5i - AW,  :titleist:   56-14F,  60-07S
Putter:     :titleist:Newport Select
Balls:  :bridgestone: B330-RX


Note: This thread is 3858 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
    • Day 136 12-26 Had a different practice planned today but life happened. Worked on "wide to wide" and still working on remaining flowy. Starting the club head in front of the ball as a drill, is helping with the flow of the swing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.