Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3782 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I believe when the red stakes are not visible, then the player may call it a provisional.

But when he discovers that the ball was most likely in the hazard, then the 2nd ball would be in play as he has a ready used the option to play from previous position.

The guy should not been allowed to take the drop.

A player not familiar with the course does not give him a break, he could have inquired or proceeded forward without playing a provisional.

Club Rat

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I believe when the red stakes are not visible, then the player may call it a provisional. But when he discovers that the ball was most likely in the hazard, then the 2nd ball would be in play as he has a ready used the option to play from previous position. The guy should not been allowed to take the drop. A player not familiar with the course does not give him a break, he could have inquired or proceeded forward without playing a provisional. Club Rat

That can't be right. As long as one is certain it ended up in a hazard, all your hazard options are available to you. You only have to play the provisional if you get up to the area around the hazard and can't tell for sure if the ball went in the hazard or was lost outside.

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I believe when the red stakes are not visible, then the player may call it a provisional.

I only stated "when the hazard is not visible"

A player on a course they had never played, may not know if there's a creek over a berm or hillside.

Club Rat

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I only stated "when the hazard is not visible" A player on a course they had never played, may not know if there's a creek over a berm or hillside. Club Rat

So maybe I'm confused, but I'm understanding your point to be that if you know where your tee shot ended up but don't realize before hitting your provisional that that place was a hazard, you've de facto chosen your stroke and distance option of the hazard procedures? If so, I don't think that's the case. You're hitting a provisional because you think it's lost outside a hazard; it'd be counterproductive to getting people to hit more provisionals if they would be penalized like that. But I feel like I still might be misunderstanding you, in which case, my bad! Haha.

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Yes, I was only noting a scenario when it's a blind shot, a player would most likely play a provisional, being they were unfamiliar with the course.

In the OP statement the guy knew he hit into the hazard and was wrong in calling it a provisional.

Club Rat

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I believe when the red stakes are not visible, then the player may call it a provisional.

But when he discovers that the ball was most likely in the hazard, then the 2nd ball would be in play as he has a ready used the option to play from previous position.

The guy should not been allowed to take the drop.

A player not familiar with the course does not give him a break, he could have inquired or proceeded forward without playing a provisional.

Club Rat

This is not right.  Since the hazard margin was not visible from where the shot was hit, a provisional ball was perfectly allowable.  When they then discovered that a hazard was the only place where a ball could be lost, the provisional ball was immediately out of play and Rule 26-1 became the operative rule for proceeding.  The player was required to follow one of the procedures under 26-1.

If he played the provisional ball, he played from a wrong place and incurred a 2 stroke penalty, which is the general penalty for breach of Rule 26 (he is in breach of Rule 26 for not following the prescribed dropping procedure).  Or he incurs the 2 stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place... these multiple infractions always confuse me as to which takes precedence.  In any case it's two strokes in addition to the one stroke for taking relief from the water hazard.  If it was his tee shot in the hazard, he now lies 5 after playing from the wrong place (1 for the tee shot, 2 for the wrong place, 1 for the water hazard, and 1 for the stroke from the wrong place).

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

This is not right.  Since the hazard margin was not visible from where the shot was hit, a provisional ball was perfectly allowable.  When they then discovered that a hazard was the only place where a ball could be lost, the provisional ball was immediately out of play and Rule 26-1 became the operative rule for proceeding.  The player was required to follow one of the procedures under 26-1.

If he played the provisional ball, he played from a wrong place and incurred a 2 stroke penalty, which is the general penalty for breach of Rule 26 (he is in breach of Rule 26 for not following the prescribed dropping procedure).  Or he incurs the 2 stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place... these multiple infractions always confuse me as to which takes precedence.  In any case it's two strokes in addition to the one stroke for taking relief from the water hazard.  If it was his tee shot in the hazard, he now lies 5 after playing from the wrong place (1 for the tee shot, 2 for the wrong place, 1 for the water hazard, and 1 for the stroke from the wrong place).

The player incurs a 2 stroke penalty for a general breach of R26.  The penalty statement for R20-7c says "he incurs a penalty of two strokes under the applicable Rule ."

So when a player plays from a wrong place, (no serious breach), the 2 stroke penalty is actually a breach of the rule he did not follow correctly.

That's how I understand it anyway. :-)

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

This is not right.  Since the hazard margin was not visible from where the shot was hit, a provisional ball was perfectly allowable.  When they then discovered that a hazard was the only place where a ball could be lost, the provisional ball was immediately out of play and Rule 26-1 became the operative rule for proceeding.  The player was required to follow one of the procedures under 26-1.

If he played the provisional ball, he played from a wrong place and incurred a 2 stroke penalty, which is the general penalty for breach of Rule 26 (he is in breach of Rule 26 for not following the prescribed dropping procedure).  Or he incurs the 2 stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place... these multiple infractions always confuse me as to which takes precedence.  In any case it's two strokes in addition to the one stroke for taking relief from the water hazard.  If it was his tee shot in the hazard, he now lies 5 after playing from the wrong place (1 for the tee shot, 2 for the wrong place, 1 for the water hazard, and 1 for the stroke from the wrong place).

The player incurs a 2 stroke penalty for a general breach of R26.  The penalty statement for R20-7c says "he incurs a penalty of two strokes under the applicable Rule."

So when a player plays from a wrong place, (no serious breach), the 2 stroke penalty is actually a breach of the rule he did not follow correctly.

That's how I understand it anyway.

Works for me.  A costly mistake in any event.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Works for me.  A costly mistake in any event.

Thinking about this further, are we sure on the ruling?  The player correctly played a provisional.  However, once the player determined his original ball was in the hazard, he should have abandoned the provisional (It was no longer in play).  Instead he played it.   Wrong ball? (R27-2c, R15-3)

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Works for me.  A costly mistake in any event.

Thinking about this further, are we sure on the ruling?  The player correctly played a provisional.  However, once the player determined his original ball was in the hazard, he should have abandoned the provisional (It was no longer in play).  Instead he played it.   Wrong ball? (R27-2c, R15-3)

I believe that the provisional ball changes it status once played and becomes a legally substituted ball, but under an incorrect procedure.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I believe that the provisional ball changes it status once played and becomes a legally substituted ball, but under an incorrect procedure.


Rick, that's not the way it is. It's a wrong ball. The  original ball when  known to be in a water hazard,  is the ball in play. John correctly refers you to  Rule 27-2c.  This is  the pertinent part (my bold type)

If the original ball is neither lost nor out of bounds , the player must abandon the provisional ball and continue playing the original ball. If it is known or virtually certain that the original ball is in a water hazard , the player may proceed in accordance with Rule 26-1 . In either situation, if the player makes any further strokes at the provisional ball , he is playing a wrong ball and the provisions of Rule 15-3 apply.

A  player  who plays a wrong ball has to correct the mistake by playing his original ball.   In this case that means proceeding under Rule 26 for the ball known to be in the water hazard.


Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

I believe that the provisional ball changes it status once played and becomes a legally substituted ball, but under an incorrect procedure.

Rick, that's not the way it is. It's a wrong ball.  The  original ball when  known to be in a water hazard,  is the ball in play.   John correctly refers you to  Rule 27-2c.  This is  the pertinent part (my bold type)

If the original ball is neither lost nor out of bounds, the player must abandon the provisional ball and continue playing the original ball. If it is known or virtually certain that the original ball is in a water hazard, the player may proceed in accordance with Rule 26-1. In either situation, if the player makes any further strokes at the provisional ball, he is playing a wrong ball and the provisions of Rule 15-3 apply.

A  player  who plays a wrong ball has to correct the mistake by playing his original ball.   In this case that means proceeding under Rule 26 for the ball known to be in the water hazard.

I stand corrected.  Yet the player could drop another ball right next to the provisional ball and play from there and it would be a wrong place, and he would not have to correct it unless it was a serious breach, and the he would be charged the same penalty.  I guess I don't understand reasoning or the actual difference here.

I've stumbled over the difference between an improperly substituted ball and a wrong ball before on the USGA Workshop exam too.  Nobody has yet managed to demonstrate a clear way to differentiate them in my mind in some situations.  This case it becomes a wrong ball, in other scenarios it's a substituted ball played incorrectly.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I stand corrected.  Yet the player could drop another ball right next to the provisional ball and play from there and it would be a wrong place, and he would not have to correct it unless it was a serious breach, and the he would be charged the same penalty.  I guess I don't understand reasoning or the actual difference here.

I've stumbled over the difference between an improperly substituted ball and a wrong ball before on the USGA Workshop exam too.  Nobody has yet managed to demonstrate a clear way to differentiate them in my mind in some situations.  This case it becomes a wrong ball, in other scenarios it's a substituted ball played incorrectly.

It can be a bit tricky; at my last workshop, Dean Alexander made this statement which may help: 'A substituted ball is NEVER a wrong ball; it becomes the ball in play' (whether correctly in play or not is another matter;))  Hope this helps.

  • Upvote 1

Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

I stand corrected.  Yet the player could drop another ball right next to the provisional ball and play from there and it would be a wrong place, and he would not have to correct it unless it was a serious breach, and the he would be charged the same penalty.  I guess I don't understand reasoning or the actual difference here.

I've stumbled over the difference between an improperly substituted ball and a wrong ball before on the USGA Workshop exam too.  Nobody has yet managed to demonstrate a clear way to differentiate them in my mind in some situations.  This case it becomes a wrong ball, in other scenarios it's a substituted ball played incorrectly.

It can be a bit tricky; at my last workshop, Dean Alexander made this statement which may help: 'A substituted ball is NEVER a wrong ball; it becomes the ball in play' (whether correctly in play or not is another matter;))  Hope this helps.

I'll try to keep that in mind.  Thanks.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I guess I don't understand reasoning or the actual difference here.

I've stumbled over the difference between an improperly substituted ball and a wrong ball before on the USGA Workshop exam too.  Nobody has yet managed to demonstrate a clear way to differentiate them in my mind in some situations.  This case it becomes a wrong ball, in other scenarios it's a substituted ball played incorrectly.

I think you understand it pretty well. Here's how I understand it.

If a player physically puts his hand on " any " ball and puts it into play it is a substituted ball , not a wrong ball.  For example, if a player takes a swipe at a ball in a bush that isn't his, he has made a stroke at a wrong ball.  If the player had first removed the ball from the bush and drops it, for whatever reason, it's now a substituted ball.  Doesn't matter if the ball was his or not.

In this particular case the player has played two balls under the provisional rule, however R27-2c tells the player which ball is in play.  That means the other ball is not in play .  A ball not in play is, by definition, a wrong ball.  You are correct, however, it the player were to pick up the provisional and then drop it, it is no longer a wrong ball, it is an incorrectly substituted ball.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

It can be a bit tricky; at my last workshop, Dean Alexander made this statement which may help: 'A substituted ball is NEVER a wrong ball; it becomes the ball in play' (whether correctly in play or not is another matter;))  Hope this helps.


Totally OT, but for a split second, I thought perhaps you got a tip from MacGyver. :)

But that's Richard Dean Anderson, so it's not really even as close as I thought at first.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Totally OT, but for a split second, I thought perhaps you got a tip from MacGyver. :)

But that's Richard Dean Anderson, so it's not really even as close as I thought at first.

MacGyver could teach you how to hole out from the fairway only using a golf towel and a paperclip!

In my Grom:

Driver-Taylormade 10.5 Woods- Taylomade 3 wood, taylormade 4 Hybrid
Irons- Callaway Big Berthas 5i - GW Wedges- Titles Volkey  Putter- Odyssey protype #9
Ball- Bridgestone E6
All grips Golf Pride

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Concerning rule violations in medalplay/strokeplay dont insist on anything hole by hole , (play your round knowing they are disqualified and relieve yourself of the pressure) just refuse to sign the card and and make your remarks on the 19th bar hole (ask for them to pay drinks before this since they played awesome). the players are disqualified point blank. this is not golf.

in match play thought clame the hole lost by the opponent before you tee up the next shot and before you leave the 18th green concerning an infraction on that hole .

have a rules book in the bag to show why (i.e. you blame you prouve, then with his rules book he responds or accepts) or call in for help before your tee up if arguments are made back and forth.

you say " Par 3 hole and Mr. Charles and I jump up to hit. Charles hits an iron on the left fringe, pin high, and Mr. Able says "What did you hit, Charles?" Charles says 'that was my pretty 5 iron" I'm laughing to myself at this point."

if mister able and team have already hit their tee shots there is no penalty. (The question can not help them on the shot already made). Otherwise it's 2 strokes for advice and 2 strokes for responding. do not respond other wise than "requesting advice is a 2 shot penalty for you, I won't take 2 shots penalty myself for responding".

can't see any other non violation. the third violation is a disqualifier if the player takes the net tee before fixing the damage with a 2 stroke penalty to add on the total hole score.

anyway dont loose your time, just read the rules book, takes 20 minutes, then read it again, then look at decisions when ruling questions you (takes 5 minutes).


Note: This thread is 3782 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.