Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3760 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I'd entertain this hypothetical and research this in my rules book if you could convince me that this scenario actually exists somewhere.  I don't think it does.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

@David in FL aring that up.  I guess I'd never looked into water hazard versus lateral water hazard.  Are there any hard and fast rules about what should or should not be considered a lateral water hazard?  Is it possible for the same lake to be both a lateral water hazard and just a water hazard?

For instance, what if a lake borders the left side of the fairway, then widens out creating a forced carry to the, say, peninsula green with the peninsula coming from behind the hole?  Is that a lateral hazard to the left of the fairway and a hazard on the approach, one or the other the whole way?

Matt

Mid-Weight Heavy Putter
Cleveland Tour Action 60˚
Cleveland CG15 54˚
Nike Vapor Pro Combo, 4i-GW
Titleist 585h 19˚
Tour Edge Exotics XCG 15˚ 3 Wood
Taylormade R7 Quad 9.5˚

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

He'd drop a ball on a line where his ball first crossed the hazard and the flag and can go as far back from the yellow line as he wants. OR can take stroke and distance and re-tee.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
@David in FL , thanks for clearing that up.  I guess I'd never looked into water hazard versus lateral water hazard.  Are there any hard and fast rules about what should or should not be considered a lateral water hazard? Is it possible for the same lake to be both a lateral water hazard and just a water hazard? For instance, what if a lake borders the left side of the fairway, then widens out creating a forced carry to the, say, peninsula green with the peninsula coming from behind the hole?  Is that a lateral hazard to the left of the fairway and a hazard on the approach, one or the other the whole way?

Yep, that can absolutely happen!

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I'd entertain this hypothetical and research this in my rules book if you could convince me that this scenario actually exists somewhere.  I don't think it does.

You don't think there is a hole in existence where there is a 16' section of curved hazard line equidistant from the hole over the back portion of the green? @David in FL already said there are 2 holes locally that must fit that description as they use the local rule allowing a provisional if you aren't sure. You're saying there is no situation where the hazard is shaped behind the green in such a manner that you can't find a place to drop that's not "nearer to the hole"? This seems like it could occur easily, if there is a hazard line surrounding a hole over the back of a green.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

That's what I suspected you meant. Yep, you're wrong. But it's a common mistake.

Assuming the water hazard in the OP is not marked (incorrectly) as a lateral hazard, then the ball must be dropped behind the hazard. You may not drop it on the side nearest the green.

26-1. Relief for Ball in Water Hazard

It is a question of fact whether a ball that has not been found after having been struck toward a water hazard is in the hazard. In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that a ball struck toward a water hazard, but not found, is in the hazard, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

If a ball is found in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in the water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

David,

I have to disagree with your statement that it is incorrect to mark the back of an island green as a LWH. TPC 17 was marked that way for many years. Also, the USGA policy (which, admittedly differs with the PGA of America policy) is that the default marking is always yellow. Mark it yellow unless there is a good reason not to. That 'good reason' is usually that option 26-1b is impracticable. In the current scenario, we can assume that there is nowhere to go under 26-1b therefore making the LWH marking appropriate.


Posted
David,             I have to disagree with your statement that it is incorrect to mark the back of an island green as a LWH. TPC 17 was marked that way for many years. Also, the USGA policy (which, admittedly differs with the PGA of America policy) is that the default marking is always yellow. Mark it yellow unless there is a good reason not to. That 'good reason' is usually that option 26-1b is impracticable. In the current scenario, we can assume that there is nowhere to go under 26-1b therefore making the LWH marking appropriate.

Even if the hazard over the back of the green is marked red (LWH), I'm saying there isn't a spot to drop that is within 2 club lengths and NOT closer to the hole. So your only option is to re-hit from tee.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Even if the hazard over the back of the green is marked red (LWH), I'm saying there isn't a spot to drop that is within 2 club lengths and NOT closer to the hole. So your only option is to re-hit from tee.

Almost geometrically impossible, I had a ruling last week at the PGA section championship (you are probably familiar with #2 at Grande Dunes Resort course?) on the right side of the green where the drop was literally 2 inches from the margin!


Posted
Almost geometrically impossible, I had a ruling last week at the PGA section championship (you are probably familiar with #2 at Grande Dunes Resort course?) on the right side of the green where the drop was literally 2 inches from the margin!

I'm familiar with the course and the hole. My co-worker played in the event. But I am picturing a much different scenario. Something more like this: Let's assume that the 8' arc of hazard on either side of where my ball crossed the hazard is equidistant from the hole. This is what I was picturing in my hypothetical example. * tough to find an exact hole match on short notice *

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I'm familiar with the course and the hole. My co-worker played in the event. But I am picturing a much different scenario.

Something more like this:

Okay, so show me a hole location and point of entry  where 26-1ci is impossible.


Posted

You don't think there is a hole in existence where there is a 16' section of curved hazard line equidistant from the hole over the back portion of the green?

There probably is but if there was no relief other than re-teeing using the water hazard rules then I think the course designer would put in a drop area that would be closer to the hole than the tee box.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I'm familiar with the course and the hole. My co-worker played in the event. But I am picturing a much different scenario.

Something more like this:

Let's assume that the 8' arc of hazard on either side of where my ball crossed the hazard is equidistant from the hole. This is what I was picturing in my hypothetical example.

* tough to find an exact hole match on short notice *

Is there a drop area on that hole?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
There probably is but if there was no relief other than re-teeing using the water hazard rules then I think the course designer would put in a drop area that would be closer to the hole than the tee box.

Ok, but it's hypothetical. I already stated there is no drop area.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

A back pin placement would make it impossible.

Well it's obvious there needs to be a drop zone on that hole probably north west of the island across from the cart path. I hate the idea of island greens.

In a situation like you describe, dunk two and carry across to the fringe and chip on until the course fixes the problem by putting in a drop zone. Rules or not, it's totally stupid to have to keep hitting balls into a hazard like that. Holes like this are for professional golfers, and even TPC Sawgrass has a drop zone, which is no picnic either.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Okay, so show me a hole location and point of entry  where 26-1ci is impossible.

Just picture a back pin that is equidistant from a 16' arc where my ball crossed the hazard in the back. I'm on my mobile and can't really "draw" on the diagram. [quote name="No Mulligans" url="/t/83941/water-hazard-penalty-question/30#post_1187466"] Is there a drop area on that hole? [/quote] I honestly have no idea. It's not a local course. It's in upstate NY and I played it as a teen. It came to mind as an example of my hypothetical.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Let's not forget about 26-1c(ii) for a LWH, a point on an opposite margin equidistant from the hole to where the ball last crossed the margin of the LWH.

And drvfrshow, let's forget about where the ball first crossed the margin of the WH or LWH, that point is irrelevant; the only relevant point is where the ball last crossed the margin of the WH/LWH.


Posted

Let's not forget about 26-1c(ii) for a LWH, a point on an opposite margin equidistant from the hole to where the ball last crossed the margin of the LWH.

And drvfrshow, let's forget about where the ball first crossed the margin of the WH or LWH, that point is irrelevant; the only relevant point is where the ball last crossed the margin of the WH/LWH.

In the case of an island green or similar there is not going to be an opposite margin. To invoke this option there must be nothing but hazard between the two points.

We don't want people to think that if the ball crossed the margin at the back of the green 15 yards from the hole, he may drop at any point on the margin 15 yards from the hole, do we? ;)

26-1/14

Clarification of "Opposite Margin" in Rule 26-1c (ii)

Q. Please clarify the words "opposite margin" in Rule 26-1c . With regard to the diagram, "X1" indicates where a ball in the hazard last crossed the hazard margin. May the player drop a ball within two club-lengths of "Y1"? And, may a player whose ball last crossed the hazard margin at "X2" drop a ball within two club-lengths of "Y2," and so on?

A. With respect to "X1," "Y1" is "a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole." Accordingly, the player would be entitled to drop a ball within two club-lengths of "Y1."

The same applies in the cases of "X3"-"Y3" and "X4"-"Y4," but not in the case of "X2"-"Y2." A "point on the opposite margin" is a point across the hazard from "the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the hazard." "Y2" is not across the hazard from "X2" because an imaginary straight line from "X2" to "Y2" crosses land outside the hazard.


Posted

In the case of an island green or similar there is not going to be an opposite margin. To invoke this option there must be nothing but hazard between the two points.

We don't want people to think that if the ball crossed the margin at the back of the green 15 yards from the hole, he may drop at any point on the margin 15 yards from the hole, do we? ;)

26-1/14

Clarification of "Opposite Margin" in Rule 26-1c(ii)

Q.Please clarify the words "opposite margin" in Rule 26-1c. With regard to the diagram, "X1" indicates where a ball in the hazard last crossed the hazard margin. May the player drop a ball within two club-lengths of "Y1"? And, may a player whose ball last crossed the hazard margin at "X2" drop a ball within two club-lengths of "Y2," and so on?

A.With respect to "X1," "Y1" is "a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole." Accordingly, the player would be entitled to drop a ball within two club-lengths of "Y1."

The same applies in the cases of "X3"-"Y3" and "X4"-"Y4," but not in the case of "X2"-"Y2." A "point on the opposite margin" is a point across the hazard from "the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the hazard." "Y2" is not across the hazard from "X2" because an imaginary straight line from "X2" to "Y2" crosses land outside the hazard.

I don't think such a blanket statement is correct.  Depending on the location of the flagstick (hole) and where the ball last crossed the margin of the lateral water hazard, there may well be an opposite margin and equidistant point that can be used.


Note: This thread is 3760 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.