Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

How would you handle unmarked GUR in a match?


Note: This thread is 3729 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

The inquiry is based off a real & somewhat contentious interaction in a match play event recently (not mine).

Those of us who play enough muni golf have probably seen our fair share of crappy lies, or areas where the course conditions are really unfit for play. In some cases, those areas are marked as Ground Under Repair. In many cases, they are not.

In a casual round, your group can serve as the "committee" and determine whether a free drop is appropriate given the circumstances. In a stroke play tournament event, a competitor who believes he has found an unmarked area that should be GUR is entitled to play two balls under Rule 3-3 and ask the committee for a ruling afterward. In match play, however, things get a bit trickier.

 

In a match between two members of my mens club, one of the players found himself in a terrible spot. A muddy patch just off the green had been driven over recently by someone who had clearly parked their cart too close to the green. The result was a one inch deep tire track in which his ball ended up settling. He asked for relief as unmarked GUR. His opponent declined. After a brief argument, he played the ball as it lie, lost the hole and then the match one hole later. Afterwards, he told me that he couldn't believe his opponent would grant relief. In his mind, it was the right thing to do. He showed me a picture of the lie and I had to agree it was pretty bad.

 

But my question isn't about the etiquitte of the situation, but rather the rules. Could the affected player have taken it upon himself to declare the area as GUR? Of course, his opponent may have filed a claim at that point. But practically speaking, would it have been possible for him to take the drop, play the hole out, and then go back afterward (assuming that his opponent did indeed make a claim) with a head pro or other official to get a ruling on the area?

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

The closest thing I can find in the rules is this decision:

Rut Made by Tractor

Q.Is a rut made by a tractor considered a hole made by a greenkeeper and thus ground under repair? If not, should the Committee declare such a rut to be ground under repair?

A.Such a rut is not a hole made by a greenkeeper. The Committee would be justified in declaring a deep rut to be ground under repair, but not a shallow indentation made by greenkeeping equipment.

The rut you describe could fall under the same definition, as GUR.  

As I read Rule 2.5, about disputes in match play, the affected player could have played it as GUR, and let his opponent make a claim.  If it turns out that he's taken relief incorrectly, the penalty would be loss of the hole, so its not like he's really lost anything.  If it was bad enough that he had no chance of pulling off the shot from the rut, I think that would have been the way to go.

 

  • Upvote 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

In a match between two members of my mens club, one of the players found himself in a terrible spot. A muddy patch just off the green had been driven over recently by someone who had clearly parked their cart too close to the green. The result was a one inch deep tire track in which his ball ended up settling. He asked for relief as unmarked GUR. His opponent declined. After a brief argument, he played the ball as it lie, lost the hole and then the match one hole later. Afterwards, he told me that he couldn't believe his opponent would grant relief. In his mind, it was the right thing to do. He showed me a picture of the lie and I had to agree it was pretty bad.

I wouldn't have given him relief as well. Primarily under section 1 you can not agree to waive the rules. Since the ground was not marked GUR then you play it as it lies. If I agreed to let you have relief then I would have allowed you to waive a rule. That would mean we both would be disqualified. 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I wouldn't have given him relief as well. Primarily under section 1 you can not agree to waive the rules. Since the ground was not marked GUR then you play it as it lies. If I agreed to let you have relief then I would have allowed you to waive a rule. That would mean we both would be disqualified. 

2-5/8.5

Player and Opponent Agree on Incorrect Procedure; Whether Valid Claim May Be Made After Procedure Followed

Q.In a match, a player's ball comes to rest on an artificially-surfaced road. He is uncertain if the road is to be treated as an immovable obstruction or an integral part of the course. He asks his opponent and they agree that the player should treat the road as an immovable obstruction. The player drops the ball in accordance with the procedure under Rule 24-2b and plays it. Prior to playing from the next tee, the opponent discovers that he and the player were wrong as the Committee had introduced a Local Rule declaring the road to be an integral part of the course and, therefore, the player was not entitled to take relief under Rule 24-2b. The player should have incurred a loss of hole penalty under Rule 18 for lifting his ball without authority and failing to replace it. May the opponent claim the hole?

A.No. The claim must not be considered by the Committee because the opponent and the player agreed that the player was entitled to relief under Rule 24-2b. When this agreement was reached, there was no longer a doubtful or disputed point and there was no basis under Rule 2-5 for making a claim.

The players were not in breach of Rule 1-3 as they believed at the time they were proceeding properly.

  • Upvote 1

Posted

Here's the issue with that one. There is a rule for artificial surface roads. In that instance the players did not know that a local rule was in place. 

The rule for GUR is clear cut. You play the ball as it lies unless it's marked GUR. A player can either go under 3-3 for stroke play. The player can play the ball and make a claim to the committee. 

This isn't a local rule issue. I don't think that decision counts in this scenario. As a golfer who knows the GUR rule it is not my place to claim something is or isn't GUR. That is the committee's job. 


 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The players may both believe that tractor marks were in fact GUR or that they must have missed the 'posted' local rule. In the decision, the players don't know if there is a local rule declaring the path as an integral part of the course.

He is uncertain if the road is to be treated as an immovable obstruction or an integral part of the course. He asks his opponent and they agree that the player should treat the road as an immovable obstruction. 

He is uncertain if the tractor rut  is to be treated as GUR or not. He asks his opponent and they agree that the player should treat the rut as GUR. 

See also 1-3/5


Posted

The players may both believe that tractor marks were in fact GUR or that they must have missed the 'posted' local rule. In the decision, the players don't know if there is a local rule declaring the path as an integral part of the course.

A committee does not have to make a tractor rut GUR. It says they would be justified in declaring. It does not say they have to declare it a GUR. It doesn't say it shall be GUR. If it isn't marked as such then the play is still to play the ball as it lies and either of the players depending on how it's played make a claim to the committee. 

Again, GUR has to be marked GUR. In all decisions they specify that the players bring the situation to the committee to review it. So unless it is marked GUR you can not assume it is GUR. 

25/16

 

Rut Made by Tractor

Q.Is a rut made by a tractor considered a hole made by a greenkeeper and thus ground under repair? If not, should the Committee declare such a rut to be ground under repair?

A.Such a rut is not a hole made by a greenkeeper. The Committee would be justified in declaring a deep rut to be ground under repair, but not a shallow indentation made by greenkeeping equipment.

Like many things in golf. We sometimes think the golf course should consider something GUR. In the end I've played out of bunkers with no sand that on other courses have been marked GUR before. I've played out of ripped up fairway due to it being wet and a golf cart went through there. It's golf. I don't get to decide what GUR is. That is why there is a process to go to the committee to have it reviewed. 

 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

A point to remember - your opponent is not a referee.  He has no right to "decline" your relief.  You have the right to do what you consider proper proceed accordingly.  If your opponent disagrees with your choices, he must file a claim in accordance with 2-5.

 


Posted
 

I don't get to decide what GUR is. That is why there is a process to go to the committee to have it reviewed. 

 

Of course. But if the players got it wrong and player B agreed to A's action, they have not agreed to waive a rule.

 "The players were not in breach of Rule 1-3 as they believed at the time they were proceeding properly." As 1-3/5 says.


Posted (edited)

Of course. But if the players got it wrong and player B agreed to A's action, they have not agreed to waive a rule.

 "The players were not in breach of Rule 1-3 as they believed at the time they were proceeding properly." As 1-3/5 says.

Right.  An honest mistake on both players parts doesn't equal an agreement to waive a rule.

I think @DaveP043's suggestion makes the most sense.  Play it as GUR, let the opponent file a claim.  You were likely going to lose the hole playing it as it lie anyway, so it's not much of a gamble in that regard if you're wrong.

Edited by Golfingdad
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Of course. But if the players got it wrong and player B agreed to A's action, they have not agreed to waive a rule.

 "The players were not in breach of Rule 1-3 as they believed at the time they were proceeding properly." As 1-3/5 says.

I agree to that. 

I am saying, as a player who knows the GUR rules. I would not have agreed to grant him relief because it was not marked. If I did I would felt like I was waiving the rules. For me it's up to that player to bring a claim to the committee. 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I agree to that. 
I am saying, as a player who knows the GUR rules. I would not have agreed to grant him relief because it was not marked. If I did I would felt like I was waiving the rules. For me it's up to that player to bring a claim to the committee. 

Actually, if I understand everything above correctly, it's up to him to ignore your opinion, play it as he feels he should play it, and then YOU bring a claim to the committee.  If he acquiesces to you then there isn't anything he can do about it because he can't use rule 3-3, and he can't get a hole awarded back to him after the fact.

  • Upvote 1
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I'm sort of wondering why nobody considered declaring the ball unplayable, and dropping under Rule 28.  At least then the bad lie can only be blamed for one additional stroke.  I've done that more than once in situations that might have been marked if the course bothered to do so.  

 

Unmarked GUR is not GUR.  That's all one really needs to know to proceed in the most certain manner.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Unmarked GUR is not GUR.  That's all one really needs to know to proceed in the most certain manner.

If the committee has posted a notice 'Local Rule - the tyre ruts to the left of the 12th green are GUR', they are GUR whether actually marked or not.

Ground under repair” is any part of the course so marked by order of the Committee or so declared by its authorized representative.

 


Posted

If the committee has posted a notice 'Local Rule - the tyre ruts to the left of the 12th green are GUR', they are GUR whether actually marked or not.

Ground under repair” is any part of the course so marked by order of the Committee or so declared by its authorized representative.

 

Still I think it's the best option for the guy to take relief and the opponent making a claim to the committee. 

In the end all local rules should be given to the competitors.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
 

 

Here's the issue with that one. There is a rule for artificial surface roads. In that instance the players did not know that a local rule was in place. 

The rule for GUR is clear cut. You play the ball as it lies unless it's marked GUR. A player can either go under 3-3 for stroke play. The player can play the ball and make a claim to the committee. 

This isn't a local rule issue. I don't think that decision counts in this scenario. As a golfer who knows the GUR rule it is not my place to claim something is or isn't GUR. That is the committee's job. 


 

The player doesn't make the claim, the opponent does. He must say he is making a claim, the reason, and that  he wants a ruling. He must do this before starting the next hole in order for the claim to be considered.

Edited by Martyn W

Posted

That was pointed out earlier.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

There's an area directly behind the fringe of the 2nd green that's marked GUR about 80% of the time. The other 20% of the time I'd rather land in a bunker. It becomes basically hardened ruts from lawnmowers and other equipment and the course removes the pink stakes. During casual play we always consider it GUR and drop behind it. In a match, I'd do the same, take a picture, and let my opponent take it up with the committee afterward because I'd stand a better chance with them than successfully hitting the ball out and winning the hole.

I'd also have to play the original ball and we'd have to score both results - probably halving the hole taking relief, and me losing the hole not taking relief. This would affect the length of the match.

The problem with challenging before the next hole in our cases is that the "committee" is in the clubhouse, or out giving a golf lesson, not on the course. We don't have officials at our tournaments.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3729 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.