IGNORED

ACL Reconstruction on weight bearing leg

Note: This thread is 2660 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi

Great site, so much useful info.

I'm struggling to find an answer to the following question though. 

I am in week 12 post ACL reconstruction and removal of meniscus. The surgery was my second ACL reconstruction, but first on my left knee (right handed, so weight bearing knee) 

I have been advised not to play golf until end of this year. However, I have been playing golf without the AC ligament for 4 years now, and have a large build up of muscles that have compensated for the missing ligament. I have been seeing a personal trainer for 6 weeks now, and he has mentioned that there is significant over development of unusual muscles, and he agrees that this has been brought on by the (above mentioned) compensation. 

My question is, has anyone had the same surgery on the weight bearing leg?? If so, how long until you returned to golf?? Plenty of people have had it on the non loading leg. But it would be great to hear from anyone with knowledge specific to this injury, and a bonus if they can relate to my current circumstance. 

I plan to make my return to golf for our annual  "Chubbs Peterson Memorial" on the 13th of August (14 weeks post surgery)

Regards

DoubleBogeyMan

Hey,

2 time ACL reconstruction on my load bearing leg.

My surgeon recommended the same no golf for about a 6 - 7 months post surgery. It takes that long for the graft to fully vascularize and for you to redevelop the muscles surrounding the knee.

For myself there was significant atrophy in the quad and surrounding muscles post surgery. It took 6 months + of rehab to get the muscle back. To this day there is still a small but visible difference in the definition and tone of my quad muscles.

Hope this helps.