Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Important rules question with a hazard


Note: This thread is 3376 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Well, I played quite an eventful nine holes of golf today at a local municipal course. The fifth hole at the golf course is an uphill 380 yard dogleg right par 4 with trees right and a small pond to the front left of the green. Needless to say, I made quite a mess of the hole today and ended up just to the right of the pond (although down in the gully with no stance and part of the ball submerged). Amazingly, the pond is unmarked on the ground, but it does state in the yardage book that shots in the water "incur a one shot penalty." Being that there are no hazard markers I did not know what to do. I am literally 15 feet below the surrounding area with a wall in front of me and to my right. My stance is in the water. So, other than find a new golf course, I didn't know what the heck I was supposed to do. Anyways, I ultimately elected to take an unplayable. After picking up and dropping two club lengths backwards, the ball proceeds to role half way down the slope and literally in a hole that covered the entire bottom half of the golf ball. I still have virtually no stance, but I was able to hit at it which ultimately plopped down into the water anyways as the ground totally caught the clubhead and turned it over. At this point, all I could do was just laugh. I am totally unsure as to what I should have done.

Thank you

 


Posted

Per the rules of the game, I think that I probably played it correctly. My playing partner was adamant afterwards that the ball was obviously in a hazard to begin with and I should have simply played it as such. He then informed me that once I drop, the ball will be in play and I should play it from there as if I had not taken an unplayable and subsequently gone into the pond. Hence, this begs the second question. If I did misplay the situation, the strokes that I accumulated would obviously still count would they not?


Posted
18 minutes ago, TryingtoPlay said:

...My playing partner was adamant afterwards that the ball was obviously in a hazard to begin with and I should have simply played it as such. ..

Review the definition of "water hazard" in the Rules of Golf. A water hazard does not need to be marked as a water hazard to still be one.

Brian Kuehn

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
26 minutes ago, TryingtoPlay said:

Per the rules of the game, I think that I probably played it correctly. My playing partner was adamant afterwards that the ball was obviously in a hazard to begin with and I should have simply played it as such. He then informed me that once I drop, the ball will be in play and I should play it from there as if I had not taken an unplayable and subsequently gone into the pond. Hence, this begs the second question. If I did misplay the situation, the strokes that I accumulated would obviously still count would they not?

You were in a water hazard.  You should have proceeded under that assumption.  Actually if your drop was not in accordance with the procedure under Rule 26-1, you played from a wrong place, and you incurred a 2 stroke penalty for that, in addition to the actual strokes taken plus the penalty stroke under Rule 26 for taking relief from the water hazard.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I appreciate the response. How exactly are we sure that I was in a hazard again? I also have a further problem. What should the procedure be if the card was submitted for handicap purposes? I assume that the round should be invalidated?


Posted
1 hour ago, TryingtoPlay said:

Well, I played quite an eventful nine holes of golf today at a local municipal course. The fifth hole at the golf course is an uphill 380 yard dogleg right par 4 with trees right and a small pond to the front left of the green. Needless to say, I made quite a mess of the hole today and ended up just to the right of the pond (although down in the gully with no stance and part of the ball submerged). Amazingly, the pond is unmarked on the ground, but it does state in the yardage book that shots in the water "incur a one shot penalty." Being that there are no hazard markers I did not know what to do. I am literally 15 feet below the surrounding area with a wall in front of me and to my right. My stance is in the water. So, other than find a new golf course, I didn't know what the heck I was supposed to do. Anyways, I ultimately elected to take an unplayable. After picking up and dropping two club lengths backwards, the ball proceeds to role half way down the slope and literally in a hole that covered the entire bottom half of the golf ball. I still have virtually no stance, but I was able to hit at it which ultimately plopped down into the water anyways as the ground totally caught the clubhead and turned it over. At this point, all I could do was just laugh. I am totally unsure as to what I should have done.

Thank you

 

Your ball was in the hazard. If it fit the definition of a WH (which it did from your description) it is a WH marked or not. As the ball was in a WH you may not declare it unplayable. Dropping where you did sounds like it was in accordance with option b of 26-1, the ball went back into the WH and you should have re-dropped. The stroke you then made was from a wrong place (2ps). (No penalty for laughing)


Posted
4 minutes ago, TryingtoPlay said:

I appreciate the response. How exactly are we sure that I was in a hazard again? I also have a further problem. What should the procedure be if the card was submitted for handicap purposes? I assume that the round should be invalidated?

Rules of Golf, Definitions section.

Quote

Water Hazard

A "water hazard" is any sea, lake, pond, river, ditch, surface drainage ditch or other open water course (whether or not containing water) and anything of a similar nature on the course. All ground and water within the margin of a water hazard are part of the water hazard.

 

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
6 minutes ago, TryingtoPlay said:

I appreciate the response. How exactly are we sure that I was in a hazard again? I also have a further problem. What should the procedure be if the card was submitted for handicap purposes? I assume that the round should be invalidated?

For handicap purposes use ESC (7 if your handicap is 10-19; 8 if 20-29)


Posted
1 minute ago, TryingtoPlay said:

The hazard had no margins though as it was unmarked.

The margin is the natural break in the terrain in the scenario you describe

 


  • Administrator
Posted
2 minutes ago, TryingtoPlay said:

The hazard had no margins though as it was unmarked.

That means the natural margins of the water hazard, not the stakes or lines.

Addendum: Jinx!

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Just now, Martyn W said:

The margin is the natural break in the terrain in the scenario you describe

 

I see. Good to know. Thank you. The problem with the scorecard is that it was already submitted. Aren't cards invalidated once submitted if incorrect, aside from several specific instances.


Posted
8 minutes ago, TryingtoPlay said:

The hazard had no margins though as it was unmarked.

IN that case the natural bank of the hazard is the margin for purposes of the rules.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
4 minutes ago, Fourputt said:

IN that case the natural bank of the hazard is the margin for purposes of the rules.

Live and learn. I had never seen a pond that was unmarked before like this.


Posted
3 hours ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Review the definition of "water hazard" in the Rules of Golf. A water hazard does not need to be marked as a water hazard to still be one.

True. Very few courses that I have played even have stakes defining the water hazards, let alone painted lines! You have to use common sense. You're either in the hazard or you're not. The courses I usually play don't have the budget or the manpower to support such an endeavor.

Contrast that with something like the WGC Bridgestone at Firestone CC in Akron. They had watercourses staked and lined so far off the course it was bizarre! Even out beyond the spectator entrance! I couldn't see how a competitor's ball could wind up out there, but it was on the property so they were taking no chances.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
12 hours ago, Buckeyebowman said:

True. Very few courses that I have played even have stakes defining the water hazards, let alone painted lines! You have to use common sense. You're either in the hazard or you're not. The courses I usually play don't have the budget or the manpower to support such an endeavor.

Contrast that with something like the WGC Bridgestone at Firestone CC in Akron. They had watercourses staked and lined so far off the course it was bizarre! Even out beyond the spectator entrance! I couldn't see how a competitor's ball could wind up out there, but it was on the property so they were taking no chances.

That really is crazy. This is the only course that I have ever seen in which a water hazard like a pond was unmarked.


  • Moderator
Posted
15 hours ago, TryingtoPlay said:

I see. Good to know. Thank you. The problem with the scorecard is that it was already submitted. Aren't cards invalidated once submitted if incorrect, aside from several specific instances.

For a competition, submitting an incorrect scorecard can mean disqualification.  For handicap purposes, talk to your head pro, and he can change the score.  Its better to get it right than to eliminate the score from the records.  Just as an aside, a player who is disqualified from a competition is still (in most cases) required to post that score for handicap purposes.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I have come to the conclusion that some shots just aren't worth attempting. Sometimes Stroke and Distance is the easier way out. 

1) the duffed tee shot that ends up rolling down a steep slope into a lateral water hazard. You're hitting out on a steep slope - lucky if your ball stays on it. Your local knowledge of the course says "f*** it." You re-load +2 strokes and stripe one down the middle of the fairway and get a B or DB. Be thankful. It could have been a snowman.

2) the shot that ends up in the tall fescue... deep in the tall fescue, but you know you can find it because you know the course. Your local knowledge once again tells you to abandon the ball and take a S&D and drop a ball and just hit a shot because hacking your way out of that thick dry grass is a total nightmare. Stop and pick up your first shot on your way... that $4 ball is still usable.

Now a pro or low handicapper might actually try these shots, but for us higher handicappers these make blow up holes. Stroke and distance can actually be a lifesaver at times. It is something that can always be used.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3376 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
    • Day 136 12-26 Had a different practice planned today but life happened. Worked on "wide to wide" and still working on remaining flowy. Starting the club head in front of the ball as a drill, is helping with the flow of the swing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.