• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Vinsk

Hank Haney questions Bernhard Langer's Putting

183 posts in this topic

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Post #2   Posted (edited)

His forearm sure does appear to be touching his chest and not really moving during his stroke in the video.

langer.JPG.7005556ec48ee15b09c9be13dc3a966d.JPG

Definitely doesn't look like this...

592f91be5e1e4_forearmaway.JPG.727f28f0f90257b61c8101a36ef94ea2.JPG

Edited by coachjimsc
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think Haney has a good point here. I don't believe BL is within the rules on his technique. Curious if anything will come of this. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Pros with this stroke will have to start wearing tight shirts going forward to keep the accusations away.  I cringe when I think about some players in tight shirts...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I thought the rule was only the club was not allowed to be anchored to the body? It doesn't appear Langer does that. Can you argue that you cant anchor yourself to yourself? Seems weird. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

I thought the rule was only the club was not allowed to be anchored to the body? It doesn't appear Langer does that. Can you argue that you cant anchor yourself to yourself? Seems weird. 

The offical rule 14-1b...

b. Anchoring the Club
In making a stroke, the player must not anchor the club, either "directly" or by use of an "anchor point."

Note 1: The club is anchored "directly" when the player intentionally holds the club or a gripping hand in contact with any part of his body, except that the player may hold the club or a gripping hand against a hand or forearm.

Note 2: An "anchor point" exists when the player intentionally holds a forearm in contact with any part of his body to establish a gripping hand as a stable point around which the other hand may swing the club.

anchor.thumb.JPG.0efc3bdec981ced5567c84aaba46146c.JPG

Sure looks very similar to what BL did in the video.

That's assuming in the video he is actually making a stroke during tournament play.

 

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, coachjimsc said:

The offical rule 14-1b...

b. Anchoring the Club
In making a stroke, the player must not anchor the club, either "directly" or by use of an "anchor point."

Note 1: The club is anchored "directly" when the player intentionally holds the club or a gripping hand in contact with any part of his body, except that the player may hold the club or a gripping hand against a hand or forearm.

Note 2: An "anchor point" exists when the player intentionally holds a forearm in contact with any part of his body to establish a gripping hand as a stable point around which the other hand may swing the club.

anchor.thumb.JPG.0efc3bdec981ced5567c84aaba46146c.JPG

Sure looks very similar to what BL did in the video.

That's assuming in the video he is actually making a stroke during tournament play.

 

It certainly does by that explanation. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

57 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

I thought the rule was only the club was not allowed to be anchored to the body? It doesn't appear Langer does that. Can you argue that you cant anchor yourself to yourself? Seems weird. 

I posted about this yesterday as well over here, and included the handy graphic that they put out with the rule change: 

understanding-anchored-strokes.jpg

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

 

Was that from a stroke?

What does the rest of the stroke look like? How loose is his shirt?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, iacas said:

 

Was that from a stroke?

What does the rest of the stroke look like? How loose is his shirt?

Honestly, based on the sequence of the video on Haney's tweet, it looks like it's a practice stroke.  Here's an article with a link to the (very short) video: http://www.golf.com/tour-news/2017/05/31/hank-haney-takes-twitter-question-bernhard-langers-putting-style

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

Honestly, based on the sequence of the video on Haney's tweet, it looks like it's a practice stroke.  Here's an article with a link to the (very short) video: http://www.golf.com/tour-news/2017/05/31/hank-haney-takes-twitter-question-bernhard-langers-putting-style

That's the ultimate question… If it's a practice stroke (maybe it is?), then who cares? If it's an actual stroke, I'd say he violated the rules.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The video looks like a practice stroke and I think u can clearly see his forearm is pressed against his chest by the way the shirt creases. Personally I feel everything is anchored anyways cause hell your arms are attached to your shoulders.Are we gonna measure how much of flesh on arm can touch chest? Im guessing anything below elbow is illegal or is the elbow touching illegal too. 

1 hour ago, iacas said:

 

Was that from a stroke?

What does the rest of the stroke look like? How loose is his shirt?

Doesnt matter how loose that shirt is, you can see the crease pressed in between his forearm and chest and its not moving cause it is pressed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well I dunno ....looks like his arm is touching his body...this is from an actual stroke during play...it's just a photo...but in action as the ball is seen there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Well I dunno ....looks like his arm is touching his body...this is from an actual stroke during play...it's just a photo...but in action as the ball is seen there.

 

That's the video. It's likewise murky as to whether it's a practice swing or a real stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

That's from February.

I watched him then and he seemed to be doing what he said - completely taking his hand and forearm off his chest. The video is from the last event.

So some are thinking that he's gotten lazy or changed his method, and the "new" method may be in violation.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The video posted in #15 shows;

1) While making the stroke, there is a wrinkle in the shirt that is supported by the arm,

2) After the arm moves very slightly away from the body, the shirt "falls" and the wrinkle comes out.

It appears to me that the weight and drape of the shirt is enough to not allow such a wrinkle unless the arm was actually pressed against the body.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now