Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3087 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

Not sure who else is watching the Irish Open right, but there's an interesting rules situation with Jon Rahm that has a lot of parallels to the Lexi situation. Here's what happened:

  • On the green.
  • Rahm putts, his ball finishes basically on top of the other player's marker. 
  • He marks his ball to the side, and then uses his putter head to move the mark to the side.
  • Other player finishes.
  • Rahm moves marker back with his putter head. No problem yet.
  • He places his ball in front of the marker - he had originally marked it to the side.

Apparently he's discussed it with rules officials and there will be no penalty for this. I'm a little dumbfounded. Here's some tweets with explanation:

 

I'm trying to dig up video, but I haven't seen anything posted yet. I'm not sure I agree with this decision, especially that second tweet. Maybe it will change when they all look at the video at the end? I don't like that he's going to get away with being sloppy because he didn't mean to move the ball. 

It looks like it won't be relevant to the final winner of the event. Rahm is running away with the event right now - 2 strokes would not make a difference here in all likelihood. Honestly, if I'm Rahm, I'm taking the 2 strokes here no matter what. He'll get so much credit for doing it.

Edited by DeadMan

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Paradym :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :aimpoint:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

This is relevant as well:

 

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Paradym :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :aimpoint:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I saw them talking about it a bit ago and set the recorder so I can go back and get video of we need to.  Rules official seemed pretty reasonable about the whole thing.  So did Rahm.  Whole thing made little difference anyway because it would've been a couple strokes penalty at most and he won by 6.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

Embedded for the board: 

 

Edited by DeadMan
  • Upvote 1

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Paradym :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :aimpoint:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I actually think incorrectly marked the ball in the exact place it was supposed to be. So what he said was correct. He thought he put it back in the same spot.....which it looks like but not the same way he marked it. I think he knows that part was different.

"My ball is on top of a rock in the hazard, do I get some sort of relief?"

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Marking the mark and then back marking the remark is fraught with potential for mis-marking. Particularly in getting the absolute alignment of the marking guide (in this case the putter face) correct.

 


Posted

After thinking about this a little more, the one thing that makes me think this isn't a penalty is that Rahm had to move his marker in the first place. When you're doing that, you are going to be imprecise no matter how careful you are. Once you've moved your marker, you aren't going to be playing from exactly the same position. The rules already allow imprecision in this case, so Rahm's adding a small amount of additional imprecision isn't a big deal.

Not sure I buy that, but it's a thought.

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Paradym :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :aimpoint:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
8 minutes ago, DeadMan said:

After thinking about this a little more, the one thing that makes me think this isn't a penalty is that Rahm had to move his marker in the first place. When you're doing that, you are going to be imprecise no matter how careful you are. Once you've moved your marker, you aren't going to be playing from exactly the same position. The rules already allow imprecision in this case, so Rahm's adding a small amount of additional imprecision isn't a big deal.

Not sure I buy that, but it's a thought.

Why wouldn't you buy it?  You're right! :-) 

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
21 minutes ago, David in FL said:

Why wouldn't you buy it?  You're right! :-) 

Because the flip side is that his marker was pretty big and he replaced his ball on the wrong side of it, and ended up closer to the hole. I think the video makes it pretty obvious that he didn't replace the ball the same way he marked it.

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Paradym :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :aimpoint:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Just now, DeadMan said:

Because the flip side is that his marker was pretty big and he replaced his ball on the wrong side of it, and ended up closer to the hole. I think the video makes it pretty obvious that he didn't replace the ball the same way he marked it.

You don't have to replace the ball "the same way you marked it".  You need to replace it in the same spot where it was originally.  

Whether accidentally, or by design, he did that.  As you and @Rulesman alluded to, moving the mark itself also adds a little extra degree of difficulty and allows for a little more latitude in defining any reasonable margin for error.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Rahm could've just pulled a Bubba and looked to his caddie and say, "Shoulda caught that bro! Shoulda caught that!"

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Not to get too OT, but do the rules require one to move his or her mark when an opponent or FC requests it? Obviously etiquette would dictate moving it but I'm not 100% clear on whether it is required based on the way the rule is worded. This is more of a curiosity, I'm not planning to deny anyone ;-)


Posted
33 minutes ago, David in FL said:

You don't have to replace the ball "the same way you marked it".  You need to replace it in the same spot where it was originally.  

Whether accidentally, or by design, he did that.  As you and @Rulesman alluded to, moving the mark itself also adds a little extra degree of difficulty and allows for a little more latitude in defining any reasonable margin for error.

Everything you said here is totally right. There's also no way to definitively prove if he replaced it in the original spot. It just doesn't sit well with me that Rahm was sloppy but got lucky and replaced in the right spot.

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Paradym :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :aimpoint:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
37 minutes ago, drmevo said:

Not to get too OT, but do the rules require one to move his or her mark when an opponent or FC requests it? Obviously etiquette would dictate moving it but I'm not 100% clear on whether it is required based on the way the rule is worded. This is more of a curiosity, I'm not planning to deny anyone ;-)

Yes.

The coin is a moveable obstruction, and as such the player is entitled to having it moved if he desires.

  • Upvote 1

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
2 hours ago, drmevo said:

Not to get too OT, but do the rules require one to move his or her mark when an opponent or FC requests it? 

22-2. Ball Interfering with Play

Except when a ball is in motion, if a player considers that another ball might interfere with his play, he may have it lifted.


Posted
2 hours ago, drmevo said:

Not to get too OT, but do the rules require one to move his or her mark when an opponent or FC requests it? Obviously etiquette would dictate moving it but I'm not 100% clear on whether it is required based on the way the rule is worded. This is more of a curiosity, I'm not planning to deny anyone ;-)

 

1 hour ago, David in FL said:

Yes.

The coin is a moveable obstruction, and as such the player is entitled to having it moved if he desires.

Actually, in stroke play, a player required to lift his ball may choose to play his stroke first, as long as that doesn't interfere with the play of another player.

Quote

22-2. Ball Interfering with Play

Except when a ball is in motion, if a player considers that another ball might interfere with his play, he may have it lifted.

A ball lifted under this Rule must be replaced (see Rule 20-3). The ball must not be cleaned, unless it lies on the putting green (see Rule 21).

In stroke play, a player required to lift his ball may play first rather than lift the ball.

 

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 hour ago, Fourputt said:

 

Actually, in stroke play, a player required to lift his ball may choose to play his stroke first, as long as that doesn't interfere with the play of another player.

 

A little pedantic here, but its golf rules, so that seems apropos ... the wording if that rule says the player may choose to "play first rather than lift the ball."  But the question above was asking about a coin, and thus a ball that has already been lifted.  Does the player still retain the option to play first at that point?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3087 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.