IGNORED

Total beginner advice wanted

Note: This thread is 2473 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all, noob here. I've played a few times 7 years back then quit and decided to pick it up again.

I can only play on my local course where the 'pro' is a 20 year old with a handicap you wouldn't call inpressive enough to taje advice seriously from for €90 an hour. Sooo I decided to take the free advice from anonimous internet users. And there we are.

I've played for 2-3 weeks now and found myself to have a stable iron swing. I tee off mostly with my iron 3, about 170-180 meters. Hardly impressive, but 90% of the fairways are hit. It's that I have to 3-putt a lot that makes me score a lot of double bogeys. Onto the problem. 

The only way I seem to be pretty stable with the (longer) irons is when the ball is positioned a little bit in front of my back foot. 

Is this at all acceptable? I NEVER see somebody doing this, but it seems to work for mr pretty well.

Go with what works? Or quit this while it still isnt in my system that much?

Thanks in advance.

First,  Welcome to TST.   We're glad you found out "slice" of heaven.   Read the "How to" section and post a swing video.   You'll get free exceptional help that will get you on your way to a better golf game.   The instructional videos that are posted here are priceless.   Check them all out and ask questions.   You'll usually get prompt responses and very help information.

Again,  welcome.

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

57 minutes ago, weetikveel said:

Hi all, noob here. I've played a few times 7 years back then quit and decided to pick it up again.