IGNORED

ball position

Note: This thread is 2466 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

i had a couple lessons since i am getting back into golf this season.  I always watched guys tee the ball up high in a forward positon.  I tried that and seem to have a slice or a sky ball.  Having my stance closer together and  actually moving the ball back in my stance with a little lower tee height.  I have a titelist 909 driver which is an older club.  I started hitting alot further and straighter balls, is that because i have the ball teed lower and more back in my stance, and why would that be?

I'm far from an expert, but my initial thought would be that you aren't getting your weight far enough forward in your swing.  When the ball is teed up far forward in my stance, I still need to get my weight moving towards that point so the ball is close to where my weight center is (not sure if I'm describing it correctly, but it works for me).

If you struggle with getting your weight forward, the swing you have will keep your weight center more towards the middle of your stance which then would cause your hits to be straighter with the ball where you say you have it set up.  However, you're giving up a ton of distance this way, and keeping you from making a better swing in general.  

Keep in mind that this is only an assumption, a swing video would help infinitely more in determining why this is occurring for you.

Edited by amished
Clarity

Woods: Ping G15 10.5* Draw Driver;   Ping G Series 14.5* 3 Wood;  Callaway 2019 Apex 19* 3 Hybrid

Irons: Mizuno MP-33 4-PW

Wedges: Ping Glide 1.0 52* SS, Glide Stealth 2.0 56* ES, Hogan 60* SW

Edel E-1 Putter

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

IMHO  if you are hitting the ball straighter and further, don't change a thing. It doesn't matter what other golfers do, or how they do it.