• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rstyle

What do you consider the most stupid rule in golf?

365 posts in this topic

I think having to play from a divot in the fairway is stupid. Particularly in PGA tournaments when on the last day a hundred or more players landed and hit a second shot from the same area. Why does one player have to be penalized for ending up in a divot. It is not the way the course was at the beginning of the tournament and it is not the usual state of the course.
2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

I think having to play from a divot in the fairway is stupid. Particularly in PGA tournaments when on the last day a hundred or more players landed and hit a second shot from the same area. Why does one player have to be penalized for ending up in a divot. It is not the way the course was at the beginning of the tournament and it is not the usual state of the course.

It is a tough break, certainly. As my 'ole man would say, "it's just the rub of the green". Basically saying it's the same for everyone, so you just deal with it. Thanks to MDF you wouldn't have more than 78 players on the course on Sunday. However, it does happen to the players in contention. They should make the players carry cans of white paint to mark it Ground Under Repair everytime they take a hairpiece.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For me, hit it in a lateral hazzard, stroke penalty, if that lateral hazzard is actually out of bounds, stroke and distance. Makes no sense to me that the same shot has a different penalty based strictly on the color of the stake.
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree that divots should be ground under repair, but I think the worst rule is the stroke and distance penalty for out of bounds. It should be one or the other, not both.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as balls in divots go, we all get them. My dad always tells me "a roule isnt unfair if everybody plays it."
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think having to play from a divot in the fairway is stupid. Particularly in PGA tournaments when on the last day a hundred or more players landed and hit a second shot from the same area. Why does one player have to be penalized for ending up in a divot. It is not the way the course was at the beginning of the tournament and it is not the usual state of the course.

Grounding your club in a hazard - two stroke penalty. It's your club...the hazard is part of the environment...so what's the problem?

Of course, stroke and distance is a pain, too.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

this happens around this time of year when it gets really windy, and greens are fast or sloped the way the wind is blowing and the ball moves by the wind after u adress it, its a stroke penalty.

Its silly
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

missing a 1inch tap in for par and getting a bogey I WANT MY PAR :(

no seriuosly i hate the rule when you hit someone eles ball and its 2 stroke penilty it should just be replayed shot
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the 14 club rule is obsolete.The way they build new courses with deep rough 7500 yards large bunkers you should be able to carry what ever you feel you need.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As Arnold Palmer says, I don't understand how you can hit a perfect drive that is straight down the middle and hits a concrete yardage marker or sprinkler head and bounces through the fairway OB and you have to come back to the tee and take a stroke penalty. Yet, someone can swing and miss the ball completely and they are now playing their second shot."

OB stroke and distance has always been the stupidest rule in golf to me.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As Arnold Palmer says, I don't understand how you can hit a perfect drive that is straight down the middle and hits a concrete yardage marker or sprinkler head and bounces through the fairway OB and you have to come back to the tee and take a stroke penalty. Yet, someone can swing and miss the ball completely and they are now playing their second shot."

Make it a distance penalty only and call it a day.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think having to play from a divot in the fairway is stupid. Particularly in PGA tournaments when on the last day a hundred or more players landed and hit a second shot from the same area. Why does one player have to be penalized for ending up in a divot. It is not the way the course was at the beginning of the tournament and it is not the usual state of the course.

I see your point, but where do you draw the line? Cuppy lie? Hard pan? Mud on the ball? I don't see anyway to change this. A divot is part of the course and requires a shot be made from it...else the exceptions would be endless.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you are making the divots a big deal. Here is a thought if you replace yoru divot there will be no hole for you ball to land in. At my course very rarely do you land in a divot
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Icing! I hate it it slows up the game, I mean they have to then have the face off in the other end....oh wait.. LOL

Seriously, the that has effected me the most.. ball+divot! drives me nuts! I hit a phenominal drive last week, landed what would think was a cut from a gd sod cutter!!!! 2" deep divot no BS and it's a very nice course.. my ball went another inch into the soil. I had to pick it out and ranger gave me relief thank god because of the bs divot.

SiD
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Incorrect score card will disqualify you from a golf tournament.

I agreed with this as well, but I was witness to an odd occurrence this past summer where I felt the DQ was just and appropriate.

Not sure how I feel about it now, perhaps the Committee should have discretion.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • First round foursome clubchampionship was yesterday. First round is to cut the field to 16 pairs, format Stableford without handicap. You get 3 points for a birdie, 2 for a par, 1 for a bogey. Worse than bogey is zero points. My playing partner had the tee off on hole 1 and hit it left in the water. I had a shot avoiding some trees at 140y from the flag and hit it at 3 feet, par.  After 5 holes 9 points (1 bogey), but then a streak of 3 bad holes and still 9 points. But then 3 pars in a row and all together 11 pars and two bogeys (24 points) was enough to end 5th (best team 31 points).  Next weekend we will play against the team that ended 13th. That will be matchplay. 
    • Does it make sense to write ".........combined together"? Why not just write "............combined"? Let's not call the kettle black. Anyway..... the following are excerpts from The Australian Golf Club's Dress Code. They are not typical of what is expected in Australia, but  some of the snootier clubs are very strict and do little to change the stuffy reputation of the game. ‘Sporting attire’. Collared shirts which must be tucked in at all times. Tailored shorts to the knee, with a belt, may be worn. Closed in shoes must be worn with socks at all times (see Definitions for appropriate socks).  Men - Collared shirts which must be tucked in at all times. Trousers must be tailored and worn with a belt. Tailored shorts to the knee, with a belt, may be worn. When wearing shorts on the course, Members must wear long socks or short white socks which are either plain or which bear only a Golf Club logo. Anklet type socks are not acceptable. Shoes must be of a type which have been specially manufactured for the playing of golf.  Jeans of any description are not acceptable anywhere in the Clubhouse or on the Course. Children 12 years or younger are exempt.  If you turn up here wearing socks with a small Nike logo they will sell you a pair of plain white ones for about $30.
    • May 27th:- 10 mins full swing practice (Driver). Moved the tee further forward in the stance, and concentrated on sliding the hips to initiate the through swing.  
    • Whether I score better riding vs. walking depends on who I am with. I have two friends who are VERY slow players and if I am in the cart with them for some reason it cost my 5 strokes a round.
    • Playing there next year. My buddy is getting married there, we have discussed this very topic and have agreed to re-tee as we will never play there again. Plus with our scores it really doesn't matter an 8 there will match a couple others on the card.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bigtosh90
      bigtosh90
      (27 years old)
    2. dopplegvnger
      dopplegvnger
      (25 years old)
    3. Frank62
      Frank62
      (55 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon