IGNORED

Club for long par 5

Note: This thread is 2165 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been playing on and off for about two years.  Broken 100 a couple of times, but never turned in any cards.  I'm thinking of doing so.  I have about a dozen lessons, so understand the fundamentals, and my apparently my swing is reasonable (video to follow).  Main problem is that I often get busy or travel, so can for for months at a time without playing.  I'm hoping to fix that!

I'm fairly happy with my Iron play from 5/6-9, and my short game and putting isn't bad, but I don't do so well when I need to hit the ball more than 160 yards - mainly because it's not something I've worked on in lessons, at the range, or something I do in a round.

Generally my strategy is defensive, and based around playing one or two middle irons, a wedge and a putter for each hole.  It's not a recipe for low scores, but it does avoid high ones.

However, for par 5s (there are two on my home course - a lovely, mature 9 hole), sometimes 150 off the tee isn't enough, and for one I need to go more like 170+ to reach the fairway, or I'm left with steep uphill shot out rough.

My options (in the bag) are:

- 4I -- probably my best bet, but not super reliable

- 4H -- which I tend to slice, and just don't love hitting

- 3W -- which I tend to slice, but sometimes hit beautifully

- Driver -- which I rarely hit, and if I do, tend to lose a ball

I'm trying to work out my strategy to improve in this area - should I:

a) Work on extending my iron play, where I'm most comfortable

b) Look to incorporate some hybrid play to extend my range

c) Look to incorporate something longer off the tee - either work on the 3W or get a 5W

d) Look to incorporate the driver into my game

Thoughts?