IGNORED

Training aids for irons

Note: This thread is 2036 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm fairly new to golf (just under a year). I thought I was getting the hang of things and was consistently shooting high 40s to 50. Recently, I started regressing and chunking or hitint my irons low and into the ground. I took a lesson but can't afford to do so all the time. I will try to take another this summer  

I was was looking into training aids that were not too expensive and found this: https://m.dickssportinggoods.com/p/maxfli-weighted-swing-trainer-w14mxflwgtdswgtrn/w14mxflwgtdswgtrn

The reviews weren't bad and it's not expensive.  I just need to work on getting good contact and getting the ball into the air. 

Anyone have any other suggestions?

Having been a "flipper" for a long time (with a tendency to relapse occasioanally), I use the Tour Striker 7i several times a week in my range sessions.  The idea of that product is to help you work toward a downward strike (5SK's inline impact) position.  I have the "Pro" version, just to force me into the best strikes (and center of the face) as possible when I work, but their normal version is less penal, and may be less maddening for the less experienced player.  You can't fool it (unless you're teeing up or hitting from fluffy lies).  It's been a good tool for me.  Links:

Regular version: https://www.tourstriker.com/shop/tourstriker_7new.aspx
Pro Version: https://www.tourstriker.com/shop/product_details.aspx?p=142

$95 is a relatively expensive aid, but it can be found used for much less...you'd just want to find their instructional videos somewhere online to understand the ideas and proper drills.

That said....