Jump to content
Squarek Rhombus

PING Eye 2 Beryllium Copper (Square Grooves)

7 posts / 3431 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Hello , I just purchased a sweet set of Ping Eye 2 beryllium copper irons.   They are  from the 1st two years of producing the Becu’s . The Serial #s are D4512577 and D276644.  Anyway...if you look closely to the left side, just outside the oval region of the eye inset (right above the U.S.) , you would notice a small number 4 oddly placed.  Now, my set is a complete with matching serial numbers.  Only 4 of 8 clubs have the 4 and it’s pretty random as to which clubs.   Does anyone know what this means? I’ll try to include a pic 

E9023435-0809-4090-A1A7-2DD92BC25966.jpeg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

That's cool...I have a set of coppers and just ran downstairs to check mine.  No 4's..." Go fish"...

Did u Google it?   I'm going to do that now.

Did u call Ping?  Give them the serial # and ask about the "4"...they should know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I first saw these clubs way back when I was a young kid (late ‘80’s).  I fell in love and lusted over them all the way until I was in High School. I was at the JGA Orlando golf tournament at Grand Cypress GC ..then I just up and decided to quit the game. ??!!??!?!!!!!!!!      I never was able to get a set back then.   I tried to pick the game back up 2 or 3 times over the years and had some surprising success each time .  Each time I played a few rounds and went to the range a great deal. Unbelievably I got  my swing back or better each time (I say swing , not game).  Keep in mind I was a maybe a 15 handicap at best back in H.S.  For one reason or another life always got in the way. The game and I would go our separate ways.  Now I’m 40. I’ve suddenly landed my lifelong “dream clubs”, and with them I am feeling the warm, daydreamy gift of optimism in life that playing golf gave me “once upon a time”.  I don’t know how or why I ever lost it. I really couldn’t tell ya.  I can explore my past, once I’m out on the course (golf therapy)...but one thing I do know; I’m not going to let it slip away now.   

Long story short....  I can’t wait to go hit these clubs!!!!   😀🤪😖😆😃.   

Btw...i like the forum ... so u guys can like analize my swing and all that if I’m struggling?  All I gotta do is like video myself?   Can’t wait.   I sure would have lived this site when I was growing up.

Lol I sounded “like” ...like a valley girl in that last bit, didn’t I?  Lol

DB62C5CC-C1CB-4B12-92DD-6A846C2123EC.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I remember a couple of years ago there was a guy on this site that was a Ping expert, at least I think it was this forum. Anyway, I had a question about an old Ping putter that I have, sent him a picture and he was able to tell me it was of a ~1973 vintage, (not worth much). I'll see if I can find him again assuming he is still around.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • 68 - 72 (-4) : Really good weekend. Every part of my game was on point. I´m finally hitting more greens, and more GIR means shotting lower scores. Hugh improvement in my irons accuracy in the last weeks, a bit better dispersion with my driver and decent short game makes the game easier and more fun. Keeping the ball in play is crutial, i played with the same ball the last 4 rounds, no penalty´s. This summer looks good so far.   
    • The 9th, thus Rule 9. First the Clif Notes version: Ball moved? By who or what and what we’re to do about it. BALL MOVED BY THE PLAYER Except on the putting green or during a search, if a player either accidentally or intentionally causes their ball in play to move or picks up their ball when not allowed by the Rules, the ball must be replaced.  The penalty is one stroke. (R9.4b) BALL MOVED ON PUTTING GREEN If a player accidentally moves their ball or ball-marker on the putting green, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. No penalty. (R13.1d) BALL MOVED DURING SEARCH If the player or anyone else accidentally moves the player's ball while looking for it, the ball must be replaced.  No penalty to anyone. (R7.4) BALL MOVED BY OUTSIDE INFLUENCE If it is known or virtually certain that a player's ball has been moved by someone or something else, the ball must be replaced. No penalty to anyone. (R9.6) BALL MOVED ON ITS OWN If a player's ball is moved by natural forces such as wind, water or gravity, the ball must be played from its new location. No penalty. (R9.3) Exception: On the putting green, if the ball moves on its own after having been lifted and replaced, the player may not play the ball from the new location and the ball must be replaced. No penalty. (R13.1d2) -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Rule 9 - Ball Played as It Lies; Ball at Rest Lifted or Moved Purpose of Rule: Rule 9 covers a central principle of the game: “play the ball as it lies.” If the player’s ball comes to rest and is then moved by natural forces such as wind or water, the player normally must play it from its new spot. If a ball at rest is lifted or moved by anyone or any outside influence before the stroke is made, the ball must be replaced on its original spot. Players should take care when near any ball at rest, and a player who causes his or her own ball or an opponent’s ball to move will normally get a penalty (except on the putting green). Rule 9 applies to a ball in play at rest on the course, and applies both during a round and while play is stopped under Rule 5.7a. What’s covered in the Rule: 9.1 Ball Played as It Lies 9.2 Deciding Whether Ball Moved and What Caused It to Move 9.3 Ball Moved by Natural Forces 9.4 Ball Lifted or Moved by Player 9.5 Ball Lifted or Moved by Opponent in Match Play 9.6 Ball Lifted or Moved by Outside Influence 9.7 Ball-Marker Lifted or Moved https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=9 https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=interp&section=rule&rulenum=9
    • Hey y'all! I'm Chris from South Carolina here!  Finally bought my first beginner set after years of flirting with game!  Can't wait to pick them up this week!  I am totally excited to learn from you fine men and women about this great game!   
    • I prefer to walk. But will ride if the green fee includes cart or if my friends ride. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...