Jump to content
gbogey

Embedded Balls in the Lip or Wall of a Bunker

26 posts / 5224 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

1 hour ago, bkuehn1952 said:

One has a ball embedded in the stacked sod face of a bunker.  One is not permitted to  drop in the bunker (correct?) and let's say the position of the embedded ball makes it impossible to have a spot no closer to the hole and outside the bunker.

What are your options?  Play the ball or return to the spot where one last hit with a 1 stroke penalty?  Are there other options (besides quitting this infernal game 😉)

 

p.s. @DaveP043 I think we were partners when I had the unfortunate opportunity to experience this situation.  As I recall, I just allowed you to birdie the hole to win it for our team.

I remember pretty clearly, we were on #13 at Talamore.  I don't remember what I did, but I sure do remember your ball embedded in the face of the bunker.

You can always take relief for an unplayable lie.  For a ball in the General Area, which is the case here, you can take two clublengths (no closer to the hole), and the Relief Area may be in any are of the course.  You may also take relief "back on the line", and that Relief Area may be in any area of the course.  So yes, you could drop in the bunker, or behind the bunker, with a stroke penalty.  The third option, you can replay the original shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

You may also take relief "back on the line", and that Relief Area may be in any area of the course.  So yes, you could drop in the bunker, or behind the bunker, with a stroke penalty.  

Always forget about that one.  I guess I'm not used to having the option to go back on most unplayable lies, but in the case described might be the best option.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It’s worth remembering that in declaring your ball unplayable, you also have “back-on-the-line” relief available to you, which could easily be the best option in this scenario.

 edited to add that @DaveP043 beat me to it... 

Edited by David in FL

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It's still not clear to me. If the ball is like that in the picture below, buried in the lip, do I get relief without penalty?  If so, where can I drop?

Bill33k

image.png.4c0002ec164856c4d9f9708759496dcf.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

9 hours ago, Bubbak said:

It's still not clear to me. If the ball is like that in the picture below, buried in the lip, do I get relief without penalty?  If so, where can I drop?

Bill33k

image.png.4c0002ec164856c4d9f9708759496dcf.png

Your ball would appear to be in the General Area, not in the bunker. So free relief is only available within 1 clublength of the ball but it must be in the general area. So you won't get free relief. 

See rule 16.3(b)

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=16

Also see posts #19-21

 

Edited by Rulesman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

16 hours ago, Bubbak said:

It's still not clear to me. If the ball is like that in the picture below, buried in the lip, do I get relief without penalty?  If so, where can I drop?

Bill33k

image.png.4c0002ec164856c4d9f9708759496dcf.png

If I found my ball at the end of your red arrow, I would first ask myself if the ball was touching the sand in the bunker (not merely some grains of sand which were not in the bunker.) If I find that the ball is not touching the bunker, I will conclude that the ball is embedded in the general area and at first glance, free relief is available.

 

Now, in order to proceed, I must determine the proper relief area. I will look for a place in he general area which is within one club-length of the ball but not nearer the hole. If I can find such a place, I shall take free relief.

 

However, such a relief area might not exist due to the shape of the edge of the bunker and the location of the hole. The sad news now is that free relief cannot be taken and the unplayable options are all that are left.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

51 minutes ago, Asheville said:

If I found my ball at the end of your red arrow, I would first ask myself if the ball was touching the sand in the bunker (not merely some grains of sand which were not in the bunker.) If I find that the ball is not touching the bunker, I will conclude that the ball is embedded in the general area and at first glance, free relief is available.

Now, in order to proceed, I must determine the proper relief area. I will look for a place in he general area which is within one club-length of the ball but not nearer the hole. If I can find such a place, I shall take free relief.

However, such a relief area might not exist due to the shape of the edge of the bunker and the location of the hole. The sad news now is that free relief cannot be taken and the unplayable options are all that are left.

This is 100% correct, and was specifically addressed by a Clarification to Rule 16.3b

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rulesarticles/clarifications-of-the-2019-rules-of-golf.html#rule16

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Makes me feel better for asking the original question - it was confusing enough to get a clarification.😊

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...