Jump to content
SAGolfLuvr

Fleetwood Not Given Relief From Drain. Why Not?

10 posts / 663 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

If you're watching the Players Championship, you know what I am talking about, no relief from a man-made drain around the green, resulting in a bogey. After seeing this, I am now afraid to take relief from any obvious man-made object without breaking the rules. I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

3 minutes ago, SAGolfLuvr said:

If you're watching the Players Championship, you know what I am talking about, no relief from a man-made drain around the green, resulting in a bogey. After seeing this, I am now afraid to take relief from any obvious man-made object without breaking the rules. I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.

You're gonna need to post a picture or something.

He probably didn't meet the criteria for relief.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I saw this while watching today. It was directly in front of his line of play, but wasn't interfering with his stance, swing, and the ball wasn't on it. I guess the PGA Tour doesn't have the Local Rule on immovable obstructions interfering with your line of play near the green (Local Rule F-5). Without the Local Rule, you don't get relief when a drain is only interfering with your line of play.

FWIW, I think the drain was more than 2 club lengths away from the putting green, so he wouldn't have gotten relief under the local rule anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It’s only in his line of play, not stance, lie, or swing.

From what I know, I don’t believe the PGA Tour uses that local rule. And as Deadman pointed out, he’s more than 2CL’s from the green and wouldn’t be eligible anyway. I know they use the local rule overseas on a lot of courses. 

Just a bad break here in America. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, SAGolfLuvr said:

If you're watching the Players Championship, you know what I am talking about, no relief from a man-made drain around the green, resulting in a bogey. After seeing this, I am now afraid to take relief from any obvious man-made object without breaking the rules. I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.

It was too far from the edge of the green to qualify for interference on line of play under the local rule (the local rule IS in effect, as I saw it used in Thursday's round).  The lie of his ball met the second provision of the local rule, but not the first requirement.  Both conditions must be met to be entitled to relief:

Quote

Model Local Rule F-5

“Relief from interference by an immovable obstruction may be taken under Rule 16.1.

The player also has these extra options to take relief when such immovable obstructions are close to the putting green and on the line of play:

Ball in General Area. The player may take relief under Rule 16.1b if an immovable obstruction is:

Exception – No Relief If Line of Play Clearly Unreasonable. There is no relief under this Local Rule if the player chooses a line of playthat is clearly unreasonable.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

20 hours ago, SAGolfLuvr said:

If you're watching the Players Championship, you know what I am talking about, no relief from a man-made drain around the green, resulting in a bogey. After seeing this, I am now afraid to take relief from any obvious man-made object without breaking the rules. I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.

So there's your answer. While it was "around the green" it wasn't within 2 CL of the green.

Would have been the same thing if a drain was a yard in front of him in the fairway. Irrelevant.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 hours ago, Augster said:

It’s only in his line of play, not stance, lie, or swing.

From what I know, I don’t believe the PGA Tour uses that local rule. And as Deadman pointed out, he’s more than 2CL’s from the green and wouldn’t be eligible anyway. I know they use the local rule overseas on a lot of courses. 

Just a bad break here in America. 

Bingo! It did not interfere with his stance or his swing, Thus, no relief. I've played plenty of shots like that. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 3/15/2019 at 10:49 PM, SAGolfLuvr said:

I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.

Or....we can all make an effort to understand the rules a bit better and learn how to abide by them and when they can be advantageous.😁

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...