Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Completely lost a drive & it ended up on green on next hole ?!?!


Note: This thread is 4686 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

FOrtunately the course I was playing wasn't crowded & nobody was on the green on the adjacent hole.   Obviously, I didn't want to hit a 5 iron off the green to get back to my fairway.     I took a lie no closer to the hole, dropped on the fringe of the green & got it back nicely on my fairway.      How would you play and score the penalty associated with flying a drive onto a green on an adjacent hole ?     I played it OB, but could it be considered ground under repair with no penalty ?   THx

John

Fav LT Quote ... "you can talk to a fade, but a hook won't listen"

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The rules allow you a free drop off an adjacent green, assuming it isn't marked as OB. No penalty.  That is, unless you bonk someone putting on it, then see your lawyer.


Posted

And to be respectful of the course, I'd drop off the fringe so any divot is not on the fringe.

Russ - Student of the Moe Norman swing as taught by the pros at - http://moenormangolf.com

Titleist 910 D3 8.5* w/ Project X shaft/ Titleist 910F 15* w/ Project X shaft

Cobra Baffler 20* & 23* hybrids with Accra hybrid shafts

Mizuno MP-53 irons 5Iron-PW AeroTech i95 shafts stiff and soft stepped once/Mizuno MP T-11 50.6/56.10/MP T10 60*

Seemore PCB putter with SuperStroke 3.0

Srixon 2012 Z-Star yellow balls/ Iomic Sticky 2.3, X-Evolution grips/Titleist Lightweight Cart Bag---

extra/alternate clubs: Mizunos JPX-800 Pro 5-GW with Project X 5.0 soft-stepped shafts


Posted

Just a couple of notes on this.

This is a "must" under the rules.  You are not allowed to play from a wrong green.  You must take relief.

Relief from the green means the ball is on the green, if your stance is on the wrong green and the ball is not, this rule does not apply.

Although not playing from the fringe is good advice in a casual round, be aware that technically, (you're in a tournament)  the drop (ball hits the ground) must be within 1 club length from your nearest point of relief.  This may or may not get you off the fringe.

If you DO NOT take relief from a wrong putting green the penalty is loss of hole in match play, a 2 stroke penalty in stroke play.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Dormie's point totally valid for tourney rounds, but big second for Rustyredcab's point for every other round.  I've seen a few guys take huge divots on the fringe barely off the green.  So lame and damaging to the course.

Matt

Mid-Weight Heavy Putter
Cleveland Tour Action 60˚
Cleveland CG15 54˚
Nike Vapor Pro Combo, 4i-GW
Titleist 585h 19˚
Tour Edge Exotics XCG 15˚ 3 Wood
Taylormade R7 Quad 9.5˚

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Thanks everybody for the clarification (I'm kinda glad I'm not the only one who's done it)

John

Fav LT Quote ... "you can talk to a fade, but a hook won't listen"

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 5 months later...
Posted

no closer to the whole what? Enchilada??

  • Upvote 1

Yours in earnest, Jason.
Call me Ernest, or EJ or Ernie.

PSA - "If you find yourself in a hole, STOP DIGGING!"

My Whackin' Sticks: :cleveland: 330cc 2003 Launcher 10.5*  :tmade: RBZ HL 3w  :nickent: 3DX DC 3H, 3DX RC 4H  :callaway: X-22 5-AW  :nike:SV tour 56* SW :mizuno: MP-T11 60* LW :bridgestone: customized TD-03 putter :tmade:Penta TP3   :aimpoint:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by stangmark

The rules require free relief from a foreign putting surface, no closer to the whole.

You did not mention that the relief allowed is upto one clublength from the nearest point of relief. That is important if a penalty is not to be incurred.


Posted

Done it a couple of times. Once I hit my drive like a giant pulled lobwedge on the green of the previous hole. After the drop I hit my next shot on the green of the next hole.

But also a question. What if the green is a green for training aid. I would think that's no official green. What to do if it is not out of bounds and also no local rule in place. Play as it lies?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

If it meets the definition of a green and is not out of bounds and is not the green in play for the hole, it is a wrong green.

ie It is specially prepared for putting or otherwise defined as such by the Committee.


Posted

Let me get this right.

I hit an errant drive into another green. I have to find the point of entry and take a full length drop from the point of entry, but not closer to the hole?

At no penalty right?

"Luck is where opportunity meets preparation.."


Posted
Originally Posted by tstrike34

Let me get this right.

I hit an errant drive into another green. I have to find the point of entry and take a full length drop from the point of entry, but not closer to the hole?

At no penalty right?

Close but no cigar

Nearest point of relief not closer to the hole it is.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by tstrike34

Let me get this right.

I hit an errant drive into another green. I have to find the point of entry and take a full length drop from the point of entry, but not closer to the hole?

At no penalty right?

Point of entry is irrelevant. You find the nearest point of relief, no closer the hole, and drop within a club length of that point.

Correct, no penalty.

Bill


Posted
Originally Posted by MacDutch

Close but no cigar

Nearest point of relief not closer to the hole it is.

Originally Posted by sacm3bill

Point of entry is irrelevant. You find the nearest point of relief, no closer the hole, and drop within a club length of that point.

Correct, no penalty.

Pardon me for belaboring the issue, but based on earlier conversations that would indeed be the fringe of the green right?

"Luck is where opportunity meets preparation.."


Posted

Almost certainly, but scenarios could arise where this isnt the case.

Also, for avoidance of doubt - not nearer the pin - this is the pin on the hole you're supposed to be playing, not the green you've ended up on!


Posted
Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Relief from the green means the ball is on the green, if your stance is on the wrong green and the ball is not, this rule does not apply.

So what is "full relief here", ie the ball is on the green so you take relief - ball obviously can't be on the green, can you stand on the green after relief has been taken? Obviously a big no no in a friendly game but could be an issue in a comp.


Note: This thread is 4686 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Yes it's true in a large sample like a tournament a bunch of 20 handicaps shouldn't get 13 strokes more than you. One of them will have a day and win. But two on one, the 7 handicap is going to cover those 13 strokes the vast majority of the time. 20 handicaps are shit players. With super high variance and a very asymmetrical distribution of scores. Yes they shoot 85 every once in a while. But they shoot 110 way more often. A 7 handicap's equivalent is shooting 74 every once in a while but... 86 way more often?
    • Hi Jack.  Welcome to The Sand Trap forum.   We're glad you've joined.   There is plenty of information here.   Enjoy!
    • Wordle 1,630 4/6 ⬜⬜🟨⬜⬜ 🟨🟨⬜⬜🟨 ⬜🟨🟨🟨🟨 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Good job!  I struggled with this for some reason. Wordle 1,630 5/6 ⬜⬜🟨⬜⬜ 🟩⬜⬜🟨⬜ 🟩⬜🟩⬜⬜ 🟩🟨🟩🟩⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,630 3/6* ⬛🟨⬛⬛⬛ ⬛⬛🟨🟩⬛ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.