Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

When can I elect to play 3 off the tee?


Note: This thread is 3818 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Rule 28 says if I deem a ball unplayable I have three options, 1 off which is, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played. So if it was hit from the tee may I tee it up again?

Posted

Yes.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
When can I elect to play 3 off the tee?

Anytime you want (assuming that you have only played 1 stroke off the tee so far). You don't even have to look for or find the 1st ball. While I think it would be considered sandbagging for handicap purposes, you could elect to hit 3 even if your first was right down the middle. Note- If you hit a 2nd tee ball, it is presumed to be in play as your 3rd shot UNLESS you declare it as a provisional before hitting.

:mizuno: MP-52 5-PW, :cobra: King Snake 4 i 
:tmade: R11 Driver, 3 W & 5 W, :vokey: 52, 56 & 60 wedges
:seemore: putter


Posted

Rule 28 says if I deem a ball unplayable I have three options, 1 off which is, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played.

So if it was hit from the tee may I tee it up again?

Indeed you can:

20-5 . Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made

When a player elects or is required to make his next stroke from where a previous stroke was made, he must proceed as follows:

(a) On the Teeing Ground: The ball to be played must be played from within the teeing ground . It may be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed.


Posted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daz65 View Post

Rule 28 says if I deem a ball unplayable I have three options, 1 off which is, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played.

So if it was hit from the tee may I tee it up again?

First off, welcome to the forum!!

As to your question, you can always elect to replay your previous shot with a penalty of stroke and distance.  And while one CAN justify it under rule 28 by immediately declaring your tee shot unplayable and electing the re-tee option, that is really not necessary.

The rule to look to is 27-1 which states:

Quote:

27-1 . Stroke and Distance; Ball Out of Bounds; Ball Not Found Within Five Minutes

a . Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance

At any time, a player may, under penalty of one stroke , play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5 ), i.e., proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.

Except as otherwise provided in the Rules , if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance .

Do not let the title of the rule fool you.  The ball doesn't need to be OB or lost to use this option, it is available at all times.

There is an extreme example I always like to cite:  you have a short putt on an extreme downhill lie.  You stroke it a little too hard, it catches a slope, rolls off the green, and right up against the vertical face of a St. Andrew bunker.  Sure you could whack it 4 or 5 more times to get out of the bunker, but a MUCH BETTER option is to invoke Rule 27-1, replace your ball (distance) add a stroke (stroke) and re-putt.  Gently, this time, lol

But then again, what the hell do I know?

Rich - in name only

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

As to your question,

The rule to look to is 27-1 which states:

l

The question was: So if it was hit from the tee may I tee it up again?

The rule to look to is 20-5 . Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made

which was already posted some hours before yours :-O

Note that he said tee not teeing ground. ;-)


Posted

Recent round. I rolled my tee shot. Said. "i'm abandoning that ball." Picked it up (it went exactly 18"). Re-teed to hit three.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

Recent round. I rolled my tee shot. Said. "i'm abandoning that ball." Picked it up (it went exactly 18"). Re-teed to hit three.


I'll assume there was a chasm or pond or something to cross with your driver, because if it's just 18" in front of you on the short grass you should have been able to advance your ball in two strokes (so you'd lie 3) at least as far as you could with one driver swing (lying 3 also).

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I'll assume there was a chasm or pond or something to cross with your driver, because if it's just 18" in front of you on the short grass you should have been able to advance your ball in two strokes (so you'd lie 3) at least as far as you could with one driver swing (lying 3 also).

I can't argue with you, Erik. It was a bad decision, but I didn't want to take a mulligan, and wanted to rehit the driver for practice and so took the penalty and bombed the driver out there. I know I could have hit a 5 iron off the deck about 170 and had it roll out to about 190, then hit an 9 iron onto the green and probably ended up with a bogey on the hole and a 41 or 42 for the 9. If it was in tall thick wet rough that would have been another matter.

It was my first swing with my driver in two months.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3818 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • That was a good watch. When I started working on pelvis in the backswing. I thought, this sounds contradictory to those leg straightening threads on the site. Erik has already done a correction. Then the last lesson we went more down the route of feeling the right knee gains flex. It doesn’t, but the feeling keeps my knee position in a good range. Also, I just realized how much extra work my right hip needed to do to stabilize the body with the proper weight shift. Those glute and hip stabilizers got worked. 🤣 I wish this evolution in the golf instruction happened 20 years ago! 😭
    • I've been Playing Golf for: 40 yrs My current handicap index or average score is: 4.0 factor My typical ball flight is: Straight however sometimes slight draw. The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: squirt to the right due to to much arm not enough turn. Videos:  [Delete this, Embed Videos Here - https://thesandtrap.com/how-to/embed-videos/]
    • Wordle 1,656 3/6* ⬜⬜🟨🟨🟨 🟩⬜🟨🟨🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,656 4/6 🟩⬜⬜⬜🟨 🟩⬜⬜🟩🟨 🟩🟩🟩🟩⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • The first issue Erik spoke about is something we worked on for my swing during both GEARS sessions. GEARS was showing my pelvis center moving towards the ball during the back swing. I wasn’t the 4” guy though! This forced me to correct on the downswing to give myself space. My hip rotation was to high as well. We corrected it by first getting the weight off my heels in my stance and getting my posture correct. Then the feel was shifting back into my right hip at a 45 degree angle. This kept my pelvis center from moving towards the ball at the start of the backswing. I also didn’t sway back as much as I felt I did because of the angle I was shifting. Feel Ain’t Real. The cool thing about GEARS is as you work on something you can see the exact (Real) change happening. On video, it is much harder to spot this issue because of the 2D nature of filming. But I know what to look for now. Sadly, I was hurt all last year and most of this year so I really haven’t been able to work on it much. I did do a lot of backswing work though.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.