Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3757 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Sorry if this has been brought up before... I hit my 2nd shot on a par 5. I hit a thin 3 wood and it absolutely nailed an electrical box. A playing partner said I get a free redo. I never knew this rule, but re-hit. Was he correct? Yesterday my high capper buddy hit a worm burner that nailed a "no carts" sign that sits 8" off the ground. He brought up my redo with that electrical box and wanted the same do over. I told him I thought it was different. We don't play for money or anything, but I was curious about these two situations. Thanks in advance!

Posted

I don't think so. Electrical boxes are not "outside agencies." It is called "rub of the green." It is no different than if my ball hits a tree.

19-1 . By Outside Agency

If a player's ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency , it is a rub of the green , there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies, except:

a.

If a player's ball in motion after a stroke other than on the putting green comes to rest in or on any moving or animate outside agency , the ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped, or on the putting green be placed, as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball came to rest in or on the outside agency , but not nearer the hole , and

b.

If a player's ball in motion after a stroke on the putting green is deflected or stopped by, or comes to rest in or on, any moving or animate outside agency , except a worm, insect or the like, the stroke is canceled. The ball must be replaced and replayed.

If the ball is not immediately recoverable, another ball may be substituted .

In match play, an " outside agency " is any agency other than either the player's or opponent's side , any caddie of either side , any ball played by either side at the hole being played or any equipment of either side .

In stroke play, an outside agency is any agency other than the competitor's side , any caddie of the side , any ball played by the side at the hole being played or any equipment of the side .

An outside agency includes a referee , a marker , an observer and a forecaddie . Neither wind nor water is an outside agency .

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I remember at one of the courses I played if you hit the light post you are allowed to rebut they ball.. It was actually written part of the rules on the score card.. It's an executive course, but I heard this was the ruling in the other courses I play as well.. Never heard anything about eclectic boxes though.

:adams: / :tmade: / :edel: / :aimpoint: / :ecco: / :bushnell: / :gamegolf: / 

Eyad

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Sorry if this has been brought up before...

I hit my 2nd shot on a par 5. I hit a thin 3 wood and it absolutely nailed an electrical box. A playing partner said I get a free redo. I never knew this rule, but re-hit. Was he correct?

Yesterday my high capper buddy hit a worm burner that nailed a "no carts" sign that sits 8" off the ground. He brought up my redo with that electrical box and wanted the same do over. I told him I thought it was different.

We don't play for money or anything, but I was curious about these two situations.

Thanks in advance!

No, he wasn't correct unless there's some kind of local/course rule about it (which should be written on the score card).  I've played some courses which have overhead power lines which potentially come into play, and have local rules stating that you play another ball without penalty if you hit them, but immovable/movable obstructions are usually considered part of the course.  No freebies if you hit them.

Mac

WITB:
Driver: Ping G30 (12*)
FW:  Ping K15 (3W, 5W)
Hybrids: Ping K15 (3H, 5H)
Irons: Ping K15 (6-UW)

Wedges: Cleveland 588 RTX CB (54*, 58*)

Putter: Ping Scottsdale w/ SS Slim 3.0

Ball: Bridgestone e6

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Thanks for the info! I've never hit one before and the guy I was playing with was very sure of the rule. I wasn't the first to hit this thing, as it had about 50 dents in it already!

Posted
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkNballs View Post

Sorry if this has been brought up before...

I hit my 2nd shot on a par 5. I hit a thin 3 wood and it absolutely nailed an electrical box. A playing partner said I get a free redo. I never knew this rule, but re-hit. Was he correct?

Yesterday my high capper buddy hit a worm burner that nailed a "no carts" sign that sits 8" off the ground. He brought up my redo with that electrical box and wanted the same do over. I told him I thought it was different.

We don't play for money or anything, but I was curious about these two situations.

Thanks in advance!

Both are rub of the green.... Play the ball as it lies .

From the Definitions:

Quote:

Rub of the Green

A " rub of the green " occurs when a ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency (see Rule 19-1 ).co

Contrary to popular belief, a rub of the green is the above and nothing else - it's not just bad luck.  Could be good luck if a poorly hit ball hit something and deflected back into a good lie.

Also the definition for outside agency:

Quote:

Outside Agency

In match play, an " outside agency " is any agency other than either the player's or opponent's side , any caddie of either side , any ball played by either side at the hole being played or any equipment of either side .

In stroke play, an outside agency is any agency other than the competitor's side , any caddie of the side , any ball played by the side at the hole being played or any equipment of the side .

An outside agency includes a referee , a marker , an observer and a forecaddie . Neither wind nor water is an outside agency .

An outside agency can be a tree, rock, ball washer, a goose - anything not excluded above.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I don't think so. Electrical boxes are not "outside agencies." It is called "rub of the green." It is no different than if my ball hits a tree.

Electrical boxes are Outside Agencies.

They are also Immovable Obstructions.

In any event play the ball as it lies.


Posted
I don't think so. Electrical boxes are not "outside agencies." It is called "rub of the green." It is no different than if my ball hits a tree.

19-1. By Outside Agency

If a player's ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies, except:

a.

If a player's ball in motion after a stroke other than on the putting green comes to rest in or on any moving or animate outside agency, the ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped, or on the putting green be placed, as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball came to rest in or on the outside agency, but not nearer the hole, and

b.

If a player's ball in motion after a stroke on the putting green is deflected or stopped by, or comes to rest in or on, any moving or animate outside agency, except a worm, insect or the like, the stroke is canceled. The ball must be replaced and replayed.

If the ball is not immediately recoverable, another ball may be substituted.

In match play, an "outside agency" is any agency other than either the player's or opponent's side, any caddie of either side, any ball played by either side at the hole being played or any equipment of either side.

In stroke play, an outside agency is any agency other than the competitor's side, any caddie of the side, any ball played by the side at the hole being played or any equipment of the side.

An outside agency includes a referee, a marker, an observer and a forecaddie. Neither wind nor water is an outside agency.

I think you mistyped your second sentence: "Electrical boxes are not "outside agencies.". Yes they are (as I think you know)

Edit - Rulesman spotted it too...


Posted

Power lines must be the only "reload for free" obstacle.

What if you bounce off the windmill and deflect off the clown's mouth? ;)

There is a specimen LR for powerlines which interestingly changed several years ago - it used to say may cancel the stroke; now it says must.

If a ball strikes an elevated power line or cable, the stroke is canceled and the player must play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was played in accordance with Rule 20-5 (Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made).

Note: Guy wires supporting a temporary immovable obstruction are part of the temporary immovable obstruction, unless the Committee, by Local Rule, declares that they are to be treated as elevated power lines or cables.

Exception: A stroke that results in a ball striking an elevated junction section of cable rising from the ground must not be replayed.


Posted

There is a specimen LR for powerlines which interestingly changed several years ago - it used to say may cancel the stroke; now it says must.

If a ball strikes an elevated power line or cable, the stroke is canceled and the player must play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was played in accordance with Rule 20-5 (Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made).

Note: Guy wires supporting a temporary immovable obstruction are part of the temporary immovable obstruction, unless the Committee, by Local Rule, declares that they are to be treated as elevated power lines or cables.

Exception: A stroke that results in a ball striking an elevated junction section of cable rising from the ground must not be replayed.

The Decision has changed a few times since 2004 (when it said must ).

It now reads -

"If a ball strikes the power line during play of the ____ hole, the stroke is canceled and the player must play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was played in accordance with Rule 20-5 (Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made)."

In some cases the Committee may wish to include in the Local Rule the towers or poles supporting such lines when the towers or poles are positioned such that they interfere with the play of the hole.


Posted

Because I know from playing Call of Duty that my ball would strike the power line. How do I know this? When I threw a grenade it would strike the power  line, come straight back, and kill me.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The Decision has changed a few times since 2004 (when it said must).

It now reads -

"If a ball strikes the power line during play of the ____ hole, the stroke is canceled and the player must play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was played in accordance with Rule 20-5 (Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made)."

In some cases the Committee may wish to include in the Local Rule the towers or poles supporting such lines when the towers or poles are positioned such that they interfere with the play of the hole.

On further investigation I find that the replay has always been compulsory.

The wording change was a bit complicated but originally the wording said the player must abandon the ball (ie implied a different ball had to be used) but was altered so that he may play any ball.


Note: This thread is 3757 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.