or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Chipping on the green.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Chipping on the green.

post #1 of 52
Thread Starter 
Morning
With the tournament this week being at Riveria C.C, There was a debate in my office with the bunker on the 7th green. whether or not you could chip over the bunker on the green? or do you have to putt around it.

thanks
post #2 of 52

You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course.  You can tee off with your putter if you like.  You may pitch or chip on the green.

 

For those of us not playing professional tournament golf, the course will rightfully discourage (or even prohibit) chipping on the green......in other words, kids, don't try this at home!  ;-)

post #3 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by owens251109 View Post

Morning
With the tournament this week being at Riveria C.C, There was a debate in my office with the bunker on the 7th green. whether or not you could chip over the bunker on the green? or do you have to putt around it.

thanks

 Chipping on the putting green is not forbidden by the Rules.

post #4 of 52
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course.  You can tee off with your putter if you like.  You may pitch or chip on the green.



 



For those of us not playing professional tournament golf, the course will rightfully discourage (or even prohibit) chipping on the green......in other words, kids, don't try this at home!  " src="http://files.thesandtrap.com//images/smilies/new/a2_wink.gif" />


 



Thankd David. I was pretty sure it was not against the rules. But not encouraged .
post #5 of 52

I'll mess with David's assertion, "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." for a minute. (Not because I wish to argue with him ... he's a smart guy about the Rules and a distinguished pillar of the Sandtrap Rules folder.)

 

This folder went dark for almost a week and we haven't had anything to talk about, plus I'm suddenly snowed-in in Asheville and he's not. ;-)

 

Back to "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." I can think of one instance when that statement might not apply. There must (or may) be others.

 

And, OP, your question is quite legitimate. Last week at Pebble Beach Hunter Mahan chipped from the front of #17 to the back hole location because there was no easy putting line.

post #6 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

I'll mess with David's assertion, "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." for a minute. (Not because I wish to argue with him ... he's a smart guy about the Rules and a distinguished pillar of the Sandtrap Rules folder.)

 

This folder went dark for almost a week and we haven't had anything to talk about, plus I'm suddenly snowed-in in Asheville and he's not. ;-)

 

Back to "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." I can think of one instance when that statement might not apply. There must (or may) be others.

 

And, OP, your question is quite legitimate. Last week at Pebble Beach Hunter Mahan chipped from the front of #17 to the back hole location because there was no easy putting line.

 

Huh........

 

Gonna have to think about that.  Give me a few.

post #7 of 52

Still here.....

 

We're talking a normal, conforming club.  Not one that's been damaged or an excess club declared out of play, right?

post #8 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

I'll mess with David's assertion, "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." for a minute. (Not because I wish to argue with him ... he's a smart guy about the Rules and a distinguished pillar of the Sandtrap Rules folder.)

 

Back to "You may use any club in your bag from any place on the course." I can think of one instance when that statement might not apply. There must (or may) be others.

.

Measuring?

post #9 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 

Measuring?

 

I was talking specifically about using it for a stroke though......

post #10 of 52
What is chiping? a1_smile.gif Paging @jamo
post #11 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post

What is chiping? a1_smile.gif Paging @jamo

I read this thread three times this morning before you @ed me and I missed that every time. d2_doh.gif
post #12 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 

Measuring?

 

This is similar thinking.

 

 

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-20/#d20-2c-0.7

 

The player would like to use his wedge, but is not allowed.  He must re-drop instead.

post #13 of 52

I will bet a virtual beer that there isn't  any Rule which dictates what club you must or must not use to make a stroke - assuming that you have only 14 in your bag, none has been borrowed from another player on the course and none is non-conforming.

post #14 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 

Still here.....

 

We're talking a normal, conforming club.  Not one that's been damaged or an excess club declared out of play, right?

 

Think "any place" vs "any club."

post #15 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post
 

 

This is similar thinking.

 

 

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-20/#d20-2c-0.7

 

The player would like to use his wedge, but is not allowed.  He must re-drop instead.

 

That's not a situation where he's prohibited from using a certain club though.....in this case he needs to re-drop because the ball rolled to a spot where he didn't achieve relief from the circumstance that allowed the drop in the first place.

post #16 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinL View Post
 

I will bet a virtual beer that there isn't  any Rule which dictates what club you must or must not use to make a stroke - assuming that you have only 14 in your bag, none has been borrowed from another player on the course and none is non-conforming.

 

I suspect that your sweeping statement is correct, thus I'll not accept your offer. :-)

post #17 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

I suspect that your sweeping statement is correct, thus I'll not accept your offer. :-)

Shame.  I recall enjoying a Sam Adams or three when I was in the USA some years ago and hoped for a virtual taste of a fine beer. 

 

The statement may be sweeping, but  it was carefully crafted to avoid what I sensed was a trap in the wording of the original challenge. B-)

post #18 of 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

 

Think "any place" vs "any club."

 

There are places "on the course" that you may not be allowed to make any stroke at all, an environmentally sensitive area for example, but that's not what you're going for, is it?

 

And again, in responding to the OP, I was talking about "using" a club to make a stroke, not measuring.


Edited by David in FL - 2/13/14 at 12:16pm
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Chipping on the green.