Jump to content
IGNORED

Clarification of New Lost/OB Local Rule


golfer2b2000
 Share

Note: This thread is 1080 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I understand that the rule for hitting a ball out of bounds is that you tee up another ball and hit it which would be your 3rd shot. I was told that you no longer have to go back to the tee, but you are allowed to drop where you think that the ball went out. I would like some clarafication on this rule as to what your options are, and what penalty is assessed..

Thank you

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • iacas changed the title to Clarification of a Rule
  • Administrator
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Clarification of New Lost/OB Local Rule

Last Sunday when Koepka lost his ball on the front nine, it looked like he dropped in the middle of the fairway instead of two club lengths from the rough.  

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 hour ago, dennyjones said:

Last Sunday when Koepka lost his ball on the front nine, it looked like he dropped in the middle of the fairway instead of two club lengths from the rough.  

Then it must have been something else as the Local Rule is not in effect on the PGA Tour.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, dennyjones said:

Last Sunday when Koepka lost his ball on the front nine, it looked like he dropped in the middle of the fairway instead of two club lengths from the rough.  

He had hit a provisional from the tee...

  • Like 2
  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Upvote 1

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not sure if this was the instance being referred to on Hole #7
Shot tracker has him playing the following.

Quote

Shot 6 in the hole

Shot 5 putt 26 ft 7 in., 9 in. to hole

Shot 4 131 yds to green, 27 ft 3 in. to hole

Shot 3 352 yds to right fairway, 139 yds to hole

Shot 2 Penalty

Shot 1 313 yds to tree outline, 184 yds to hole

 

 

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 hours ago, golfer2b2000 said:

I understand that the rule for hitting a ball out of bounds is that you tee up another ball and hit it which would be your 3rd shot.

It will in fact be your 4th shot.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 minute ago, Rulesman said:
  14 hours ago, golfer2b2000 said:

I understand that the rule for hitting a ball out of bounds is that you tee up another ball and hit it which would be your 3rd shot.

1 minute ago, Rulesman said:

It will in fact be your 4th shot.

How so?

Hit first shot OB

2nd shot is penalty stroke

3rd stroke is the tee shot

If you use the local rule and drop in the fairway then I believe you are hitting 4 from the fairway, but if you retee, that second tee shot is only your 3rd shot.

Driver: :callaway: Epic Flash Sub Zero
Woods:  :ping: G425 3Wood:ping: G410 3 Hybrid
Irons: :tmade: P770 (4-PW)
Wedges: :callaway: MD3 50   MD5 54 58 degree  
Putter: :scotty_cameron:  2018 Select Fastback
Ball: :tmade: TP5x

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
21 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

It will in fact be your 4th shot.

@Rulesman, he was talking about stroke and distance, not the new Local Rule in that part.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, golfer2b2000 said:

I don't think so..If you hit your first ball out of bounds, stroke and distance should make your third shot from the tee I believe.

See post #11

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 1080 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • I'm not so sure that it has no standing just based on what other sports have been through and Golf has mostly avoided so far. How Long Will The PGA Handicap Its Golfers? Unlike the NBA, MLB and NFL, the PGA Tour considers golfers to be independent contractors, and they have to pay their own expenses, including extensive travel, caddy and coaching costs, entry fees, and even a $50...    
    • I wish this was the case for me. being just shy of 5'-9" I find that the driver swing is much different that say my PW. With the PW I am standing much closer to the ball and my swing plane is more vertical. My driver seems much more horizontal and I also work to hit up on it. Maybe I am too 1-plane? I know it might be a little off-topic.
    • Okay, I did this today. Perhaps I did it just a little differently than everyone else. I put 5 balls in a circle around the hole at 8 feet. (Sort of the "clock drill" everyone is familiar with but with only 5 balls and at 8 feet.) Then after I putted those, I did the exact same thing, but put the 5 galls in a circle around the hole at 12 feet. Here are my results: 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - made it = +4 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - 3 putt = - 4 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - made it = +8 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - not past the hole - 2 putt = -1 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points Total = 13 points.  I look forward to trying this again to improve upon that 13 points.   
    • I doubt it was really intentional, but...    
    • And if there were, as @boogielicious points out, would it be reasonable to expect anybody to be able to play both at a time? Of course not - that idea is absurd.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...