Jump to content
iacas

Embedded Ball Holed?

37 posts / 1527 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

What do you think?

More here:

HoleInOneControversy.jpg

This mind-bending photo had everybody asking: Is a ball embedded in the side of the cup a hole in one? We tracked down the answer.

(I think there's likely some of the ball above the lip, thus, the ball is not holed.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

When will people learn to take photos from the proper angles to determine if the ball is completely below the putting surface?

I can’t tell from the picture, so absent additional evidence I can’t say that it’s holed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, dennyjones said:

It looks as if it is resting against the flag stick.    If they pulled the stick and it fell into the hole, ace, no? 

Not if the ball is embedded in the side of the hole. Then the rule for embedded ball applies.

Plus, the whole pulling the stick and the ball drops thing is the old rule. Now if the ball is resting against the stick and not embedded, it is considered holed as long as any part of the ball is below the putting surface.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Here is my question with this. If you consider it not holed, how do you continue the hole? If you mark this ball, pull it out to clean it, and then replace it, it will definitely fall in the hole. Horizontally, more than half of the ball is "over" or "in" the cup. I say its a hole in one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, dennyjones said:

It looks as if it is resting against the flag stick.    If they pulled the stick and it fell into the hole, ace, no? 

Old rule.

29 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

Here is my question with this. If you consider it not holed, how do you continue the hole? If you mark this ball, pull it out to clean it, and then replace it, it will definitely fall in the hole. Horizontally, more than half of the ball is "over" or "in" the cup. I say its a hole in one.

You repair and replace it on the lip, and have to tap it in.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, iacas said:

You repair and replace it on the lip, and have to tap it in.

Interesting. I thought that you had to replace the ball where it was. I guess if you are too close, you have to move it? Pity for that guy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, Bonvivant said:

Interesting. I thought that you had to replace the ball where it was. I guess if you are too close, you have to move it? Pity for that guy.

You do replace it. And, as it's deemed "not holed," you can't replace it so that it falls in. That would not be replacing it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

🤦‍♂️...This again? Last time this turned into someone getting banned I think.

Just now, iacas said:

You do replace it. And, as it's deemed "not holed," you can't replace it so that it falls in. That would not be replacing it.

BTW... Where have you been on my SS thread? I figured you would know from your students if it were possible...:offtopic:...🤷‍♂️

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, iacas said:

You do replace it. And, as it's deemed "not holed," you can't replace it so that it falls in. That would not be replacing it.

You do not "replace" it, if it isn't in the same spot.

 

3 minutes ago, TRUCKER said:

🤦‍♂️...This again? Last time this turned into someone getting banned I think.

🔨

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

36 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

You do not "replace" it, if it isn't in the same spot.

You’ll have to take that up with the USGA.

Quote

But if the ball is embedded on the putting green, the player may mark the spot of the ball and lift and clean the ball, repair the damage caused by the ball’s impact, and replace the ball on its original spot (see Rule 13.1c(2)).

The ball is replaced on its original spot after repairing the damage, as if the damage didn’t exist to begin with.

You mark the ball, pull it out, fix the damage to the green, replace the ball, then tap in to hole out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, billchao said:

You’ll have to take that up with the USGA.

The ball is replaced on its original spot after repairing the damage, as if the damage didn’t exist to begin with.

You mark the ball, pull it out, fix the damage to the green, replace the ball, then tap in to hole out.

That rules quote says "in its original spot". If we are talking about a 2 direction axis, that puts the ball over the hole in this case. You would have to move the ball from its original spot to keep it out of the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

From Definitions: Holed - When a ball is at rest in the hole after a stroke and the entire ball is below the surface of the putting green.

When the Rules refer to “holing out ” or “hole out,” it means when the player’s ball is holed.

For the special case of a ball resting against the flagstick in the hole, see Rule 13.2c (ball is treated as holed if any part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

That rules quote says "in its original spot". If we are talking about a 2 direction axis, that puts the ball over the hole in this case. You would have to move the ball from its original spot to keep it out of the hole.

You can’t put a ball in the hole if it’s not holed. I don’t know why you’re trying to argue the semantics of it. Whether a ball is holed or not when it is embedded in the side of the hole is clearly defined.

Quote

Holed/1 – All of the Ball Must Be Below the Surface to Be Holed When Embedded in Side of Hole

When a ball is embedded in the side of the hole, and all of the ball is not below the surface of the putting green, the ball is not holed. This is the case even if the ball touches the flagstick.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, Dutch Boy said:

IMO If the ball is embedded rule 16.3b applies and relief may be taken  by dropping a ball in the relief area right behind where the ball was embedded.

 

R16.3b is for a ball embedded in the general area.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2020 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • I play better and quicker when I walk, but I mostly ride now due to knee/ankle issues. If someone is riding with me, I will try to walk a few flat holes to get more exercise.
    • Pain is like that.  Depending upon how one swings the club, a tightened back can affect the shot. Pinehurst 2 was 7 hours.  But you are correct, 6 hour rounds are rare.  I exaggerated.   5+ are common.
    • I actually like my clubs to look beat up, but clean. I don't even cover my woods sometimes. The putter, on the other hand, is always covered. 
    • I don’t see this situation as playing through. I see it as first come first serve on the turn. You go to order food and have to wait a bit with an open tee, I’m going. I don’t see that as rude. Maybe they could have asked earlier in the front 9. 
    • New golf courses are EXPENSIVE to design, build, etc and will only continue to increase in price, and many of the existing ones are simply running out of room to move tee boxes back. FFS Augusta had to buy an entire road so they could move a tee box back recently. Which would absolutely suck because there are soooo many really really good golf courses that exist now that would be able to challenge all aspects of a PGA tour player's game if they didn't hit it so far.  They don't need to be treated as separate events, the pros just need a slight distance limiter (ball, club technology, etc) that allows them to continue to play these iconic and awesome golf courses. Amateurs can buy those balls if they want, or keep playing the regular balls like now. What about upcoming high level amateurs and how would they adjust? Well the same thing exists in Baseball. Across all levels of college baseball metal bats are used. The moment a player gets drafted and signs with a professional team, instantly wood bats. The top hitters still have the ability to hit, just like the top collegiate (or h.s.) golfers would have the ability to score with a shorter ball/equipment when they move up to the next level. That is so BORING to watch though, and it would still be bombs away 90% of the time for the top players, and that can make the distance gap between short and long hitters even more, look at Bethpage last year. Brooks didn't care if his drive went into the rough on most holes because he had the speed to get an 8 iron through the rough and still get his approach shot to the green. A shorter hitter who carried it into the same rough as Brooks but 30 yards further back probably doesn't have enough speed to get their 5 iron through the rough so they have to lay up while Brooks was able to reach the green.  Another example is comparing watching the Ryder Cup to the President's Cup at Royal Melbourne. The rough at Royal Melbourne wasn't super grown in and those fairways weren't super narrow at all but players still got punished when they were out of position because angles into greens actually mattered there.   I know you didn't specifically mention it, but super long rough around the greens is really boring too and easy for the pros to handle. It stops errant shots so much quicker when they miss the green, easier for pros to open the face and slide the club underneath the ball, etc. Pros struggle so much more chipping off of very tight lies and on holes where missing the green in the wrong spot can funnel your ball further away from the hole/green, not keep it close because of the rough. I don't think that narrower fairways and increased rough is the proper solution at all. Yup, this is part of the solution IMO. Make angles into greens matter again.  The other part IMO is equipment related. The driver is the most forgiving club in the bag, I think guys should be penalized more for off-center strikes, knowing if they hit it off the toe or heel there is a chance that ball could be off the planet O.B. Whether that's with a smaller CC driver head, lowering the max MOI, higher spin golf balls, etc I'm not sure, but I think that hitting driver really straight and really far for pros should require more skill than it does now.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Jay G
      Jay G
      (44 years old)
    2. JRan
      JRan
      (40 years old)
    3. Rkrider99
      Rkrider99
      (70 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...