IGNORED

Scores Not Showing Improvement

Killa
Note: This thread is 1345 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

So I have been working on my game for the past 3 years pretty often. I’m practicing much more often than playing as I don’t have the time to go out as much and it’s much easier to hit the practice area for 45 minutes than 18 holes for 5 hours. 

I have dedicated a lot of time to my full swing while neglecting my short game and putting and I added about 15 yards to my irons from last year (same clubs so not because of a change in loft). 

This winter I worked on my putting and it shows on course. I miss little short putts, make more mid range putts (I almost never made a 10’ putt before) and my lag putting has been much improved. I also worked on my chipping and it’s a guarantee that if I’m chipping inside 20 yards I will be in a position where 1 putt is an option while a 3 putt is pretty much off the table. 

Admittedly I have slacked in my irons, and especially my long irons are pretty inconsistent off the rough/fairway. I’m pretty confident hitting up to 6 iron from play but 4 and 5 are a lottery. I can hit them off the tee though. 

My driver is currently the club I’m most confident with, but my 3 wood doesn’t instill even a slight shred of confidence.

And with all of those improvements my scores still hover in the 95 range. I might play 15-20 rounds per year, but we do play longer courses, in the 6600 range. 

For example yesterday I played the first 18 in a month and a half. I did practice 3 times this week before the round.