Jump to content
IGNORED

Talking to a Competitor About Their Shot Before They Hit


MattM

Recommended Posts

Hey Guys!

I find this egregious, but I don't know if there is a rule for this or not.  So I'm in a singles tournament (decent amount of money).  We have gross and net scores to win (I can only win on net right now). 

Anyway, I'm playing in a foursome with an older guy who acts like he's the nicest person ever, but wiley screws with people to either annoy or other wise mess with them (thus giving him the advantage).  First hole is a PAR 5.  After a little adventure I wind up just short of the left greenside bunker.  For some reason I get a brain fart and my wedge just digs into the ground and winds up in the trap and I take an 8 on number 1.  Usually my chipping would be ruined the rest of the round, but I keep it somewhat together and am still in it by hole 7 (an uphill PAR 3).  I blade my 6 iron and it winds up just shy of the right green side bunker.  Ok so, I'm trying to keep my mind clear of negativity to hit this shot I'm walking up to the ball to hit it and right before I do this old guys walks up to the ball looks at it and says, "I'm so glad I don't have your shot right now that's such a difficult shot etc."  

Naturally, I'm over the ball and can't shake the negative feeling and obviously I did the wedge into the ground and it winds up in the bunker.....I wind up taking a 7 and am LIVID!  

My question is..is there any rule where a competitor can't talk smack on his competition's shot before they hit it like, "that out of bounds is deadly, or man I hope you don't hit it into the water," right before their competition hits?  If this isn't the case this is the one time I think a rule needs to be added for a competition!

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Talking to a Competitor About Their Shot Before They Hit
  • Administrator

No. Not really.

So long as he’s not giving “advice” he can say things like “oh man you’re screwed over there” or “that’s gonna be an adventure.”

If it’s super excessive it could be an etiquette violation but that’s unlikely to result in anything.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

That blows!  How would it be ok for a competitor to say "I hope you don't hit it in the water," like right before you hit.  I'm surprised, if it's allowed that it doesn't happen on the PGA Tour then...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 minutes ago, iacas said:

“Okay” and “against the rules” are two different things.

Yeah I get you.  I guess I'll just have to start having coughing fits as he's swinging.  The rules of golf are so weird in that you basically get penalized about everything on the course except stuff that a competitor would actually pull against you to win a competition.  It's kind of strange that way...

I get that most people are good people and want the best for folks in a golf competition, but some people just ruin it...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Can you induce an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty against a competitor if while walking up to your ball you tell them not to say anything to you?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, mdl said:

Can you induce an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty against a competitor if while walking up to your ball you tell them not to say anything to you?

Ooooh!  So, if I tell a competitor to please not talk to me while I walk up to my ball and they still do I can get them for unsportsmanlike conduct?  I'll have to try that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, MattM said:

Ooooh!  So, if I tell a competitor to please not talk to me while I walk up to my ball and they still do I can get them for unsportsmanlike conduct?  I'll have to try that.

I have no idea. Notice the question mark!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
58 minutes ago, MattM said:

Ooooh!  So, if I tell a competitor to please not talk to me while I walk up to my ball and they still do I can get them for unsportsmanlike conduct?  I'll have to try that.

No.

There’s no such thing as “unsportsmanlike conduct” in golf either.

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, billchao said:

The way to get a guy to stop talking shit about your game is to hit good shots. Seeing that his comments are getting to you is just inviting him to do it more.

Your not getting it.  I would totally be ok with someone talking shit to me!  In fact, I like that and think it's funny, and have no problem with that.  

The issue is when someone introduces bullshit doubt into the next shot I'm about to take.  On my own I can sometimes eliminate (in my mind) the possible negative outcome of the next shot, but if someone specifically talks about that negative outcome right before I hit the shot I'm unable to clear it from my mind.  That's completely different from what you are talking about....

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
14 minutes ago, MattM said:

Your not getting it.  I would totally be ok with someone talking shit to me!  In fact, I like that and think it's funny, and have no problem with that.  

The issue is when someone introduces bullshit doubt into the next shot I'm about to take.  On my own I can sometimes eliminate (in my mind) the possible negative outcome of the next shot, but if someone specifically talks about that negative outcome right before I hit the shot I'm unable to clear it from my mind.  That's completely different from what you are talking about....

No, it’s not. Some people call it “gamesmanship.”

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

"Talking Shit" is saying something like, "oh you suck, your swing sucks, my grandma could beat you" etc.  That is "talking shit."  

Saying "if you miss this it will go into the water," or "there is out of bounds to your right don't hit it out of bounds."  Is definitely not talking shit.  I guess you could consider it gamesmanship.  

Regardless, it goes back to the weirdness of not having a rule regarding "gamesmanship."  Technically, "gamesmanship" could keep escalating. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Maybe a sheltered life here.

I suck and I have problems with this kind of stuff. Certain people know it and will kill me with this sort of stuff. There is no rule. They aren't threatening me. They aren't talking in the middle of my swing, so I don't got a pot to piss in.

You rise above it or you don't. Hope some day I can manage myself.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Assigning motive to what other people say is not helpful...unless you know that person.  Adopt the principle of charity and assume they mean nothing by it.  Most of the time they don't...they are just making conversation or expressing their own thoughts.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...