Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 6137 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

0  

  1. 1. How often do you take a mulligan?

    • Every round
      9
    • Only in practice rounds
      36
    • If I hit a real stinker!
      22
    • Never
      62


Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
I can't remember the last time I took a mulligan...

http://www.comics.com/creators/wizar...5101220908.gif

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Sometimes

* In a strictly practice round where I'm trying to get to know a course for the very first time and only during slow times where I won't slow anyone down.
* Living in AZ practically every course is a desert course with lots of rocks. I don't want to damage my clubs so I sometimes carry a rock club or will take a drop out of the rocks.
* I have bad eye sight, so when I am playing by myself and can't see the ball. Most of these times I'll play a provisional.

NEVER
*During a tournamant or any round involving money.
*When I'm playing a round that I'm posting for handicap reasons.
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Been out with a new group of guys, starting somewhat late this season, who allow themselves one per side so I go along with it. (Must be to save ourselves the grief of looking for a couple of "lost" balls per round because no one ever cares, or talks about, what he shot for the day.)

The majority of my rounds are with my wife and we don't take "mulligans". She badgered me out of a self-imposed, eight-year "retirement" from the game to teach her how to play. My stipulation was that she'd learn to play by the Rules. Hence, no "freebies" for either of us. (Actually, for the sake of her sanity, and mine, she picks up if not on the green in three over, or less. Her intermediate goal is to eliminate "pick-ups" from her game and it's a hell of a lot easier on our marriage. )

Rick


The two guys I play with including myself take a mulligan if we hit a bad shot. If it slices hard into the trees and no one is behind us I will tee up another. We give each one per 18. We don't play for money, we don't play in tournaments, we don't have our handicaps listed with the USGA, we are just a couple of guys hitting golf balls for fun.

Driver: X460 10°
Hybrid: Heavenwood 2H
Irons: X-12 3-PW
Wedges: Vintage Forged 48° & 56°
Putter: DF 990Ball: HX Hot


When i 1st started playing earlier in the year, we used to allow ourselves mulligans if we fluffed the tee shot 10 foot or similar.

Now though i play what i hit. I feel its improved my game a lot.

The only time I would hit a Mulligan would be in practice. Even then I always play my first ball. I guess its more of a practice shot then a mulligan..


Never if I'm playing real golf, ie. posting a score. If I'm out late in the afternoon, not keeping score, skipping holes to find an open hole, etc. I might hit four or five from a particular location whether they are good or not. That's not a mulligan; it's called practice, so under my definition of what a mulligan is - I would say I never take one.
R7 Quad 9.5*
Cleveland Launcher 13*
Cleveland Launcher 15*
Ben Hogan C455 21*
MP-33 PW-4 iron MP Series 56* & 60*Corza MonzaProV1

  • 2 years later...
I tell myself i get one mulligan per 9 on anything besides a putt but I always forget..and then not end up even contemplating using one until the last approach on the last hole..I go through this self owning everytime I play.
THE WEAPONS CACHE..

Titleist 909 D2 9.5 Degree Driver| Titleist 906f4 13.5 degree 3-Wood | Titleist 909 17 & 21 degree hybrid | Titleist AP2 irons
Titleist Vokey Wedges - 52 & 58 | Scotty Cameron Studio Select Newport 2 Putter | ProV1 Ball

Never. Doesn't mean I never need to hit a second ball, but the score is what it is.

Titleist 907D1 10.5°
Titleist 906F4 15.5°
Titleist 906F4 18.5°
Wilson Staff Pi5 3-P
Titleist Vokey 56.14Cleveland CG12 60°Scotty Cameron Newport Two


never i try to play by the rules as much as possible

in my x72 stand bag
g10 driver 10.5
g10 3-wood 15.5
g10 3 iron hybrid
cg gold with actionlite flighted vokey spin milled oil can 56 t35 60 degree anser 2 putterz urs


I have made this migration: First 7 years of play, tons of mulligans. Next 2 years, 1 a round. Then I started tracking my handicap the last two years, so I switched from mulligans to giving myself penalty strokes. That really sucked: like learning about income tax the first time after leaving home.

if I'm by myself and not paired up with anyone else, I normally hit a 2nd ball if on my 1st shot I didn't like the results (from any point on the course) but I don't keep my score either when I play alone. but I wouldn't call that a Mulligan

now when I play with my neighbor or guys from work I never use a Mulligan no matter how bad a tee shot is, I've taken a 8 or 9 many times on a hole with a bad OB tee shot...last season I drove 2 tee shots OB on the same hole

I NEVER take them as far as the scorecard goes... but when I'm playing alone I will drop one and "show myself" that I can hit a better shot. I will also hit a few extra greenside shots and putts when playing alone... but only the REAL ball counts for my score.

Wednesday... HOLY CRAP! I shortsided myself on a par 3 171 yards... so I tee up another and hit it perfect. I knew I pured it so I bend down to grab the tee, look up and it's headed right at the HOLE. Lands 6 feet short rolls dead at the pin, HITS the PIN and stops about a foot.

I would have cried myself to sleep for many nights had I got a quasi hole-in-one that I could not card or count as such. Thank God it didn't fall.
My Clubs: Callaway FT-i Tour LCG 9.5° w/ Matrix Ozik Xcon 6 stiff; Sonartec GS Tour 14° w/ Graphite Design Red Ice 70 stiff; Adams Idea Pro 2h(18°) & 3h(20°) w/ Aldila VS Proto 80 stiff; Adams Idea Pro Forged 4-PW w/ TT Black Gold stiff; Cleveland CG12 DSG RTG 52°-10° & 58°-10°; Odyssey...

I never take mulligans. Not that I have anything against other people doing it because to each his own.. but I personally feel that if I hit a bad shot than crying over it and hitting a second ball isn't going to help.. so I just walk up to my only ball in play and wack it again.

Titleist 913 D3 10.5*

Adams Super XTD 17*

Adams DHY 21*

TaylorMade TP MB 4-PW

Titleist SM4 54*/58*/62*

Bettinardi SS 11

Leupold GX-3i Rangefinder

Titleist ProV1 Ball


  Big_M said:
I NEVER take them as far as the scorecard goes... but when I'm playing alone I will drop one and "show myself" that I can hit a better shot. I will also hit a few extra greenside shots and putts when playing alone... but only the REAL ball counts for my score.

haha, that really would've sucked if it had gone in eh? I would rather miss the green again than even come close to getting a hole in one on the second shot.

Titleist 913 D3 10.5*

Adams Super XTD 17*

Adams DHY 21*

TaylorMade TP MB 4-PW

Titleist SM4 54*/58*/62*

Bettinardi SS 11

Leupold GX-3i Rangefinder

Titleist ProV1 Ball


if its a practice round, sure ill take a mulligan if i want to give the shot another try . i don't think its a big deal, its a practice round. you think you can make a better shot so you see if you can fix a mistake. i don't worry about score in a practice round, so in that case i don't see any harm.
Sticks
driver- X460 tour 9.5 Aldila NVS 75
irons- X-forged 3-PW TT BlackGold stiff
wedges- x-tour vintage 52, 56, 60
hybrid- FT-hybrid #2 17* putter- Sophia 33" "If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough."_Mario Andretti

Note: This thread is 6137 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • That’s a 19th hole story that would be recounted for many, many moons to come for sure…..
    • I know. I was just kidding. BTW - I'd take the second place with the meltdown. It would at least make a good story. 
    • That answers my question.  That feels more natural to me. I'll work on that. Thanks
    • Complex question. Good players begin pushing forward around P2. Visibly around P3. They're well on their way forward at P4.
    • Still plugging away with the teacher.  I do have a question after working on some drills last night. This is something I should know already but for some reason, I have gotten myself confused. It deals with weight transfer on the downswing. At what point, should that take place?  Should it be early (prior to reaching A4) ?  I ask because in one of my drills  I get to A4, I feel the weight transfer AS my arms drop, and then go.  Now this may be totally normal, but I "feel" like this gets me in a weird timing position and causes me to try and do too much at once.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...