Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
iacas

Mulligans

Note: This thread is 4439 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

0  

  1. 1. How often do you take a mulligan?

    • Every round
      9
    • Only in practice rounds
      36
    • If I hit a real stinker!
      22
    • Never
      62


55 posts / 16662 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Sometimes

* In a strictly practice round where I'm trying to get to know a course for the very first time and only during slow times where I won't slow anyone down.
* Living in AZ practically every course is a desert course with lots of rocks. I don't want to damage my clubs so I sometimes carry a rock club or will take a drop out of the rocks.
* I have bad eye sight, so when I am playing by myself and can't see the ball. Most of these times I'll play a provisional.

NEVER
*During a tournamant or any round involving money.
*When I'm playing a round that I'm posting for handicap reasons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Been out with a new group of guys, starting somewhat late this season, who allow themselves one per side so I go along with it. (Must be to save ourselves the grief of looking for a couple of "lost" balls per round because no one ever cares, or talks about, what he shot for the day.)

The majority of my rounds are with my wife and we don't take "mulligans". She badgered me out of a self-imposed, eight-year "retirement" from the game to teach her how to play. My stipulation was that she'd learn to play by the Rules. Hence, no "freebies" for either of us. (Actually, for the sake of her sanity, and mine, she picks up if not on the green in three over, or less. Her intermediate goal is to eliminate "pick-ups" from her game and it's a hell of a lot easier on our marriage. )

Rick

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The two guys I play with including myself take a mulligan if we hit a bad shot. If it slices hard into the trees and no one is behind us I will tee up another. We give each one per 18. We don't play for money, we don't play in tournaments, we don't have our handicaps listed with the USGA, we are just a couple of guys hitting golf balls for fun.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When i 1st started playing earlier in the year, we used to allow ourselves mulligans if we fluffed the tee shot 10 foot or similar.

Now though i play what i hit. I feel its improved my game a lot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Never if I'm playing real golf, ie. posting a score. If I'm out late in the afternoon, not keeping score, skipping holes to find an open hole, etc. I might hit four or five from a particular location whether they are good or not. That's not a mulligan; it's called practice, so under my definition of what a mulligan is - I would say I never take one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tell myself i get one mulligan per 9 on anything besides a putt but I always forget..and then not end up even contemplating using one until the last approach on the last hole..I go through this self owning everytime I play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have made this migration: First 7 years of play, tons of mulligans. Next 2 years, 1 a round. Then I started tracking my handicap the last two years, so I switched from mulligans to giving myself penalty strokes. That really sucked: like learning about income tax the first time after leaving home.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if I'm by myself and not paired up with anyone else, I normally hit a 2nd ball if on my 1st shot I didn't like the results (from any point on the course) but I don't keep my score either when I play alone. but I wouldn't call that a Mulligan

now when I play with my neighbor or guys from work I never use a Mulligan no matter how bad a tee shot is, I've taken a 8 or 9 many times on a hole with a bad OB tee shot...last season I drove 2 tee shots OB on the same hole

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I NEVER take them as far as the scorecard goes... but when I'm playing alone I will drop one and "show myself" that I can hit a better shot. I will also hit a few extra greenside shots and putts when playing alone... but only the REAL ball counts for my score.

Wednesday... HOLY CRAP! I shortsided myself on a par 3 171 yards... so I tee up another and hit it perfect. I knew I pured it so I bend down to grab the tee, look up and it's headed right at the HOLE. Lands 6 feet short rolls dead at the pin, HITS the PIN and stops about a foot.

I would have cried myself to sleep for many nights had I got a quasi hole-in-one that I could not card or count as such. Thank God it didn't fall.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I never take mulligans. Not that I have anything against other people doing it because to each his own.. but I personally feel that if I hit a bad shot than crying over it and hitting a second ball isn't going to help.. so I just walk up to my only ball in play and wack it again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I NEVER take them as far as the scorecard goes... but when I'm playing alone I will drop one and "show myself" that I can hit a better shot. I will also hit a few extra greenside shots and putts when playing alone... but only the REAL ball counts for my score.

haha, that really would've sucked if it had gone in eh? I would rather miss the green again than even come close to getting a hole in one on the second shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if its a practice round, sure ill take a mulligan if i want to give the shot another try . i don't think its a big deal, its a practice round. you think you can make a better shot so you see if you can fix a mistake. i don't worry about score in a practice round, so in that case i don't see any harm.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 4439 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...