IGNORED

Golfing for Weight Loss and Improvement

chigolf07
Note: This thread is 5805 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I justed joined a club in my area (see sig) and as a beginner I want to incorporate 2 things into my practice, weight loss and, of course, game improvement. As a 25+ handicap, I plan to really work on my game by going nearly every day (as my work and condition allows) and walking the course (18 holes).

Other than basic stretching techniques, what else does everyone recommend to lose weight (incorporated with golf) and for game improvement. Obviously be losing some weight (I'm 6'2" and about 235~), I can improve my game.

Thanks in advance!

In my bag:

Burner 460 9.5* Stiff
1, 2, 3 Hibore Hybird (Regular Steel)
Big Bertha 4-PW Regular TrueTemper Dynamic Gold Shafts 54* and 60* CG12 Wedges Piper Putter Tour i Balls Stand BagMy Home Course: Oak Brook Golf ClubMy Stats for This Season

Im sure you'll shed a few pounds walking 18 holes with the bag on your back. If oyu do that enough you'll see some improvement. Good luck man!
Sticks
driver- X460 tour 9.5 Aldila NVS 75
irons- X-forged 3-PW TT BlackGold stiff
wedges- x-tour vintage 52, 56, 60
hybrid- FT-hybrid #2 17* putter- Sophia 33" "If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough."_Mario Andretti

The biggest thing about weight loss is watching what you eat. If you try to limit the junk food (Im not saying you cant have a beer and a cheeseburger and fries, just eat those things in moderation), you will lose weight.
Beyond that, some mild weight training would be good. Make sure you go with less weight but more reps. That will give you more lean muscle mass so that you wont look like a body builder.
Also, Id start doing pushups and situps.