IGNORED

Etiquette: Eating/Break at the Turn

Tienshiao
Note:Β This thread is 1051 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

I'm still relatively new to golf. I've been primarily playing 9 hole executive courses.

I've played 18 hole courses a couple of times. On some of the courses, there's a menu at the 9th hole allowing you to order food for later at the turn.

Now my question is, what is the proper etiquette for eating at the turn? Are you suppose to pick it up and eat and play at the same time, or is it OK to take a short break and chill out (essentially letting groups behind you to play through)?

I'm curious what is considered "normal" behavior.

Thanks,

Tienshiao

Great question.

The groups that I've played in have always embraced the "grab-n-go" approach if you are getting anything to eat. Getting the "sit down" lunch or beer if wanted....after the round.

Quite often on our home course it becomes something to consider. We have a great grill that is used by many...not just golfers. It can become very busy between 11:00-1:30. People are able to orded ahead though, using the gps comunication system in the cart....just push a few buttons between shots and your food will be ready at the turn.....magic.

I've never had anyone object to being passed at the turn if they were parked at the grill. It's usually a super place to get ahead of a slower group.

I've never played well when I've stopped for lunch while playing...I do much better maintaining the pace of play and staying with it. Delays become distractions....distractions can become too great....except of course on the days where the beverage cart girl is really attractive.....very allowable distraction there.

• Like 1
909D Comp 9.5* (house MATRIX OZIK XCON-6)
Burner Superfast 3 & 5 woods (house MATRIX OZIK XCON-4.8)
G15 Hybrid 23* (AWT shaft)