• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Lesterday

Allen Grant seeks rules relief at Badlands Golf Course

40 posts in this topic

I was skimming through youtube videos because I'm playing Badlands on Sunday. A lot of golfers in town say it's a hard track so I wanted to take a sneak peak :) . anyhow, Figure I post this gem. So was the golfer correct in taking relief ?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

What a mess.

But I would agree with him that the line of rocks is a wall (Immovable Obstruction. However his nearest point of relief was about a foot further up the bank such that he would be standing on the rubble behind the wall.

Further, depending any local rule saying otherwise, both the gravel and the tarmac were one and the same cart path. So even if his npr was on the path he shouldn't have got further relief from the 'second' path.

In addition, even if he was right so far, he seems to have place the ball one drop too early.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What a mess. But I would agree with him that the line of rocks is a wall (Immovable Obstruction. However his nearest point of relief was about a foot further up the bank such that he would be standing on the rubble behind the wall. Further, depending any local rule saying otherwise, both the gravel and the tarmac were one and the same cart path. So even if his npr was on the path he shouldn't have got further relief from the 'second' path. In addition, even if he was right so far, he seems to have place the ball one drop too early.

Yep.....looks like he should have taken relief up in the rocks which would have REALLY sucked..... ......and then he T.C. Chen'd the chip to boot! :~(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

There's some courses you only play once.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I watched this expecting some sort of prank ... Allan Grant is the name of the scientist in Jurassic Park and the first scene of the movie takes places at the Badlands (Montana). :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

I watched this expecting some sort of prank ... Allan Grant is the name of the scientist in Jurassic Park and the first scene of the movie takes places at the Badlands (Montana). :)

Wow.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by dsc123

Wow.

That's all I get?  Just a wow?  No clarification?  Boo!  (I'm assuming the wow was short for "wow, what a dork!" or something of that nature ... which is perfectly acceptable and accurate)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Wow because our minds work alike.  As soon as I read your post, the lights flashed on my nerdy, trivia filled mind.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

That's all I get?  Just a wow?  No clarification?  Boo!  (I'm assuming the wow was short for "wow, what a dork!" or something of that nature ... which is perfectly acceptable and accurate)

haha, yes, I meant "Wow, what a dork!"

Quote:

Originally Posted by boogielicious

Wow because our minds work alike.  As soon as I read your post, the lights flashed on my nerdy, trivia filled mind.

I'm calling shenanigans.  No way two people connected that!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

That's all I get?  Just a wow?  No clarification?  Boo!  (I'm assuming the wow was short for "wow, what a dork!" or something of that nature ... which is perfectly acceptable and accurate)

Did I hear in the beginning he was 2 under.  He just hit a shot that probably is going to screw up his score.  He needs the rules to help him out.  Type "A" personality that, I'll give him the benefit of the doubt here, thinks he knows the rules and doesn't.  The other option would be he knows the rules and is cheating.

Anyway, he doesn't get it right and plays from a wrong place with a serious breach.  Oops.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Did I hear in the beginning he was 2 under.  He just hit a shot that probably is going to screw up his score.  He needs the rules to help him out.  Type "A" personality that, I'll give him the benefit of the doubt here, thinks he knows the rules and doesn't.  The other option would be he knows the rules and is cheating. Anyway, he doesn't get it right and plays from a wrong place with a serious breach.  Oops.

Yeah, the narrator said " he's playing a terrific round" and somebody else yelled 2 under. Hope that wasn't going to be a personal best prior to that debacle!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He may be 2 under at the beginning of this hole but not when he is done with it.  He makes a bunch of mistakes but arrogantly acts like he knows what he is talking about.

IMO it is really questionable whether the rocks that have been stood up are obstructions.  Certainly they have been placed there but that alone doesn't make them obstructions.  He claims them to be an obstruction and says he is standing on them but he not even close to addressing his ball when he is standing on them.  It is hard to tell but appears that when he properly addresses the ball, the rocks will not interfere with stance nor swing.

The rocks are clearly movable so they are either movable obstructions or loose impediments.  He is not in a hazard and so he may move those rocks whichever status they have.  He does not get to move his ball.  The only reason to concern yourself with whether they are movable obstructions or loose impediments would be if his ball moves when he moves the rocks but that appears to be very unlikely.   Once he incorrectly decides he is entitled to relief from rocks as if they were immovable obstructions, he violates one of the most basic rules of taking relief whether under penalty or free relief. He drops the ball nearer the hole!  ( Is he that ignorant of the rules or is trying to cheat?).  It looks to me to be really questionable whether his drop/place procedure is correct but that as well as his double strike of the ball are not relevant because he has committed a serious breach of rule 20.  He has to correct that or be DQ'd (assuming stroke play).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with rulesman.

1) the lineup of rocks is clearly artificial, therefore an obstruction. free drop (unless local rules say it's part of the course).

2) the dirt path is not an obstruction but the car path with artificial cover is (unless local rules say otherwise).

3) the NPR is pretty clearly behind on the bank. not only that but the relief taken seems closer to the hole than where the ball was at rest !

the relief taken is such an advantage that 2 strokes penalty for playing the wrong relief doesnt seem fair = DSQ.

he did drop twice then placed the ball, thats fine, but he changed places between the two drops and seams to outrun the NPR + 1 club for relief on drop n°2. then he doesnt even place the ball were drop 2 landed but 1 foot off at least.

seing this I beleive anyone could be at 2 under par by his rules;

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To be clear... Where is the nearest point of relief?  Further up the embankment - in the rocks?  Can someone please clarify this?  I'm still confused on where NPR is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by bubble

he did drop twice then placed the ball, thats fine,

The first drop was taking relief from the wall and the ball finished next to ther hard surfaced part of the path. He then said he got relief from that edge. So he dropped a second time but this was for a different relief. Not the wall but the hard surfaced path. He then placed the ball.

However, I am not convinced that gravel part of the path is not simply another part of the same path. It is certainly an artificial surface.

If I am right, he should not have dropped second time wher he did. He must take full relierf from the whole path

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is no NPR because the rocks are obviously moveable.  If you consider them to be obstructions, they are moveable obstructions.  The way you take relief from moveable obstructions is to move the obstructions no by moving the ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The stones were put there to make a wall (an artificial construction). Drystone walls are Immovable Obstructions.

The stones that were not part of the wall were Loose Impediments. Individual stones are not Obstructions unless they have broken away from a wall.

A properly written Local Rule would have declared the stone wall and the whole of the path as one Immovable Obstruction

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • It was fun to watch, Rory slowly moving up the leaderboard and with Chappell becoming a bit nervy on the final holes, Rory made it into a playoff. Rory didn't take full advantage of his shots on the par 5, and on the 15th I thought he had lost it. But great putts on the 15th and 16th to win in. What a fantastic golfer to watch, and he can smash the ball out there, almost hit his drive it in the lake on 18.
    • The length of the driving range is limited by houses and a road. So the ball flight is way shorter as with normal balls. So what reads 200 yards on the driving range in reality is much shorter. But I think this does not really matter for now. What I found out is the following. When doing my grip I twist my left wrist extremly to the right. At impact this delofts my clubs a big time. The head is very closed. The iron 7 I was talking about at least becomes an iron 4 loftwise ( i am judging this by eye on comparing to my other clubs). So now numbers maybe begin to make sense. Loftwise we are talking about an iron 4. What happens to the driver is that it even gets a negative loft which explains why balls just go up in the air with a very long tee. The 3 wood on the other hand gets the loft the driver should have. So this makes the longest shots. This is also explains why I had a very hard time hitting my hybrid. This hybrid (4 iron) becomes something like a club with loft 0.  So probably I am twisting my wrist to much ( there is a special term for this hand position which I don't remember). But this gives me 2 advantages. 1) I don't slice the ball with the driver 2) It is easier to hit down on the ball with the iron for me. Before this I had the wrist turned to the left (I think this is called neutral grip) which did not work at all for me. So I think in general this hand position helps a lot when not overdoing it. The V of the left hand index and middle finder should point to the right shoulder as far as I know. My V pointed right of my shoulder. I will tweak this position a bit. I think I am just overdoing it at the moment. I am pretty sure the iron 7 distance will get down when doing this and the driver distance will get up. We will see.
    • How many softball questions get lobbed at each candidate? How many times will Trump say "Believe me!" and "It's like incredible" the word "tremendous" and "Crooked Hillary" How many times Hillary will dance around the e-mail scandal? Will Hillary blow up? Will Hillary challenge Trump to do arithmetic? Or will that be out of bounds? It will be interesting to hear how lowering taxes on the rich and lowering corporate taxes will balance the budget - I've heard that whopper before. Will Trump challenge Hillary on the 2nd amendment? Will Hillary challenge Trump on his pandering to the religious right with the "freedom of speech and religion" proposal to allow discrimination against GLBT people.  Will either of them persuade me to not vote for Gary Johnson?
    • Haha, I've done that while walking.  The thing that made it embarrassing for me is I did it 2 or 3 times in the same round before I finally started catching myself.
    • I think there's a large old thread exactly like this already actually, just need to dig it up. Anyway, weirdest I've encountered was people rolling a cart.  I've also hit 2 geese myself (both with drives).
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CoachB25
      CoachB25
      (59 years old)
    2. Fsgolfer
      Fsgolfer
      (60 years old)
  • Blog Entries