Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
loki16

Cleaning ball using the green: penalty?

13 posts in this topic

Me again. On a green, I marked my ball, lifted it, and wiped the dirt off on the green beside my marker. Was then called a penalty for testing the rub of the green ( which I wasn't trying to do). I thought legitimate ball cleaning was ok?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Me again. On a green, I marked my ball, lifted it, and wiped the dirt off on the green beside my marker. Was then called a penalty for testing the rub of the green ( which I wasn't trying to do). I thought legitimate ball cleaning was ok?

Cleaning a ball by rubbing it on the green may not be the preferred method but it's not illegal in this case (Decision 16-1d/5). If the line of the putt wasn't touched and it was clear that you were wiping the ball clean, there is no penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Me again.

On a green, I marked my ball, lifted it, and wiped the dirt off on the green beside my marker.

Was then called a penalty for testing the rub of the green ( which I wasn't trying to do).

I thought legitimate ball cleaning was ok?

Decision 16-1d/6

16-1d/5

Rubbing Ball on Putting Green for Cleaning Purposes

Q.May a player clean his ball by rubbing it on the putting green?

A.Yes, provided the act is not for the purpose of testing the surface of the putting green. It is recommended that a ball be cleaned in other ways to eliminate any question as to the player's intentions.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thats a penalty

Why did you type that? You're incorrect. How are you helping by giving misinformation? :-(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe he forgot to refer to the Rule book and Decisions?  I agree that he was wrong, but maybe he learned something about the Rules and the process of answering questions.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe he forgot to refer to the Rule book and Decisions?  I agree that he was wrong, but maybe he learned something about the Rules and the process of answering questions.

Quite true, but there's a difference between topics which are matters of opinion and ones where there is a request for facts.

Not that people can't get the answers themselves with a few keystrokes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Me again.

On a green, I marked my ball, lifted it, and wiped the dirt off on the green beside my marker.

Was then called a penalty for testing the rub of the green ( which I wasn't trying to do).

I thought legitimate ball cleaning was ok?

This is an intent based penalty.  As explained if you are doing it to clean the ball it's fine.  If your also doing it to check out the grain, it's a penalty.   If I'm in a tournament I would avoid doing this.  Playing with my buddies, I'd do it and say "get over it, my ball is dirty". :-X

BTW, you can also scratch the green with a tee to mark the position of the ball.  The same caveats apply, plus the green superintendent might not be happy..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just like brushing loose impediments off the green with your hand, it's intent based.  If you're obviously rubbing to test the grain of the green, it's a penalty.  If you're obviously just removing the junk on the green or the ball, no penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pardon this if it's too obvious. If the ball is on the green and you mark it, you can clean it with a proper towel. Right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

yeah, or just spit on it and wipe with your fingers like everybody :whistle:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yeah, or just spit on it and wipe with your fingers like everybody

Or, and don't tell my wife, wipe it on your pants.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I suppose if you know your playing partner real well, you could wipe the ball across the back of the guy's neck.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0