• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Golfingdad

Multiple penalties on same shot??

12 posts in this topic

Today a guy in my group hit his parked cart with a shot.  I was going to come in here and ask if it is a penalty because it was a shared cart and the other occupant is a fellow competitor, not a partner or caddie.  Turns out, I didn't need to because the answer lies in the first Decision of Rule 19. Decision 19/1 says that so long as the FC isn't actually moving the cart at the time, it and everything in it are considered yours.  So, per Rule 19-2 , the player incurs a penalty of one stroke and the ball must be played as it lies .

The thing is ... he lost that ball.  After it hit the cart it either deflected OB, or some random direction that nobody saw and he had to replay.  So the question is:

Does the lost ball "over-ride" the one stroke penalty and he re-hits lying 3 or does he incur both penalties since the ball clearly struck the cart before it got lost, and thus re-hits lying 4??  (He carded a 6 on the hole, so I know that he went with the latter option because he hit 3 more times from that point on)

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

There is no hard-and-fast rule for this, but Decision 1-4/12 provides guidance.

My opinion would be scenario 2 under that decision is what applies here.  A single act resulted in multiple rules being breached, so a single penalty would apply; the more severe penalty of stroke and distance for the lost ball.

I'm sure Rulesman or Foutputt will correct me if I'm mistaken.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a question of a single act resulting in two Rules being breached.  In order to apply only one penalty, we need to consider the relationship between the two Rules.  The example of a single penalty given in D1-4/12 is of raking a bunker being a breach of 13-4 and 13-2.  In that case you can see how close the two Rules are:  touching the ground in the bunker (13-4) can result in improvement of lie or line of play (13-2).

What is the relationship between hitting your own equipment and the ball unfortunately bouncing OOB or being lost?   Although one is the consequence of the other, there is in my view no relationship close enough in rules terms to justify a single penalty.  The ball going out of bounds was not an inevitable outcome of hitting the cart.  You could have had a lucky with the ball bouncing back on to a favourable lie on the fairway.  The deflection is the random outcome of hitting something.

I see this as clearly being separate breaches of two unconnected Rules and would apply the 1 stroke penalty for hitting your equipment and the stroke and distance for the OOB/lost ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a question of a single act resulting in two Rules being breached.  In order to apply only one penalty, we need to consider the relationship between the two Rules.  The example of a single penalty given in D1-4/12 is of raking a bunker being a breach of 13-4 and 13-2.  In that case you can see how close the two Rules are:  touching the ground in the bunker (13-4) can result in improvement of lie or line of play (13-2).

What is the relationship between hitting your own equipment and the ball unfortunately bouncing OOB or being lost?   Although one is the consequence of the other, there is in my view no relationship close enough in rules terms to justify a single penalty.  The ball going out of bounds was not an inevitable outcome of hitting the cart.  You could have had a lucky with the ball bouncing back on to a favourable lie on the fairway.  The deflection is the random outcome of hitting something.

I see this as clearly being separate breaches of two unconnected Rules and would apply the 1 stroke penalty for hitting your equipment and the stroke and distance for the OOB/lost ball.

I see your point and that does make sense.  Hopefully we'll get additional confirmation.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Colin is correct.

19-2/2

Player's Ball Strikes Own Caddie and Comes to Rest Out of Bounds

Q. A player's ball accidentally strikes his caddie, who is standing in bounds, and the ball comes to rest out of bounds. What is the ruling?

A. The player incurs a penalty of one stroke (Rule 19-2 ) and, since the ball lies out of bounds, he must proceed under Rule 27-1 , incurring another penalty stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aha!  I'd forgotten about that Decision.  Could have save some time. :-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I remember seeing a pretty funny video of a guy barely missing a put, tossing his putter lightly in the air but failing to catch it. While lunging forward in an attempt to stop it from hitting the ball (which it did anyway), he stumbled forward and fell on the green, and the ball rolled into him, incurring what I think was essentially a four-stroke penalty. I can't find the video anymore, sadly.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I remember seeing a pretty funny video of a guy barely missing a put, tossing his putter lightly in the air but failing to catch it. While lunging forward in an attempt to stop it from hitting the ball (which it did anyway), he stumbled forward and fell on the green, and the ball rolled into him, incurring what I think was essentially a four-stroke penalty. I can't find the video anymore, sadly.

Not really on topic, but that's only a one-stroke penalty ( link ). The same act resulted in multiple infractions - once the ball was hit by the putter the fact that it hit other "player things" was irrelevant.

The equivalent in Drew's example would have been if the ball hit the cart, ricocheted back and hit the player, and then hit the cart again, or something like that. The acts themselves are somewhat similar or more directly linked.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Colin is correct.

19-2/2

Player's Ball Strikes Own Caddie and Comes to Rest Out of Bounds

Q.A player's ball accidentally strikes his caddie, who is standing in bounds, and the ball comes to rest out of bounds. What is the ruling?

A.The player incurs a penalty of one stroke (Rule 19-2) and, since the ball lies out of bounds, he must proceed under Rule 27-1, incurring another penalty stroke.

:doh: Crap, how did I miss this??  Must have been cuz it was late at night.  Anyways, thanks!

What is the relationship between hitting your own equipment and the ball unfortunately bouncing OOB or being lost?   Although one is the consequence of the other, there is in my view no relationship close enough in rules terms to justify a single penalty.  The ball going out of bounds was not an inevitable outcome of hitting the cart.  You could have had a lucky with the ball bouncing back on to a favourable lie on the fairway.  The deflection is the random outcome of hitting something.

The funny thing is that while this was going on, I was on the other side of the hole in the trees doing almost exactly the same thing.  The key difference is that my ball hit a tree.  Because he was having his own debacle, and our third was busy prepping for his shot in the middle of the fairway, nobody saw or heard anything after it creamed the tree branch 30 yards in front of me.  It's pretty hard to search for a lost ball when you have no flipping idea where to start looking.  I just got in my cart (after hitting a good provisional) and drove towards my provisional like I was on Lombard street in SF, just hoping to find the danged thing.  No luck. :loco:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Asked and answered, but I've gotta know, how the heck did he manage to hit his own cart?!  Did the FC move it forward to play his shot?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Asked and answered, but I've gotta know, how the heck did he manage to hit his own cart?!  Did the FC move it forward to play his shot?

LOL ... my wife asked the same thing.  It was our last hole, and he was really, really struggling.  Carded a 9 a few holes prior and could not get anything going.  You could tell he was pretty flustered at this point.  So his drive fades into the rough on the right and I saw it so I lead them over there, but I go one valley too far.  I get out and start looking and he does as well.  I see it about 25 yards behind our carts.  His partner then tells him that he's going to walk up to his ball, and I guess he doesn't hear him and just grabs his club and runs back to his ball.  So, basically, they both left it sitting there, 30 yards or so in front of him. He probably got to his ball, turned around, and saw it and thought "I'm aiming further right and higher ... I can't hit that thing."

Then he thought ... "Oops."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

[SPOILER=Video] [/SPOILER] Not really on topic, but that's only a one-stroke penalty ([URL=http://www.barryrhodes.com/2010/12/hold-on-to-your-putter.html]link[/URL]). The same act resulted in multiple infractions - once the ball was hit by the putter the fact that it hit other "player things" was irrelevant. The equivalent in Drew's example would have been if the ball hit the cart, ricocheted back and hit the player, and then hit the cart again, or something like that. The acts themselves are somewhat similar or more directly linked.

There it is, thanks! I figured the issue being discussed in this thread was similar enough that I could just bring it up here. I guess his embarrassment was worse than a multiple-stroke penalty, anyway :-P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I think an active lead knee (or both knees) certainly helps with sequencing. In order for the knee to move forward and around (and straighten) it helps for it to gain some flex and rotate internally on the backswing. Creates some "flow". I basically described what I mean by active knee movement in my previous post in this thread. Like I said, doing the knee stuff in of itself might not be the answer, have to consider how the torso is working to facilitate the motion/pieces. While I love Jack's swing and think there is a lot we can learn from it, he was a special players and he would have been just as good with a swing where he kept the lead heel planted.
    • Quality over quantity! I understand the concept, but 2 grand for 3 wedges? There's no way they out perform vokey or any of your other major wedges enough to warrant those kind of prices! That's just my opinion. You're 100% correct there are people with money to blow who will buy them just to say they did. IMO it's all about the player. Spieth for example could take any wedge and most likely perform better than I ever will be able to. Which I'm sure you will agree to some extent. Just blows my mind at the cost! 
    • I'm still putting my money on you being the bigger head case.  
    • The dude has won 2 majors with glaringly less talent than the other top players....I don't think that happens to a head case. People tend to think otherwise at times because he wears his emotions on his sleeve so vividly, but Spieth's mental game is still more of an asset than anything else for him IMO. With his relatively limited talent, you don't accomplish things that only Jack, Tiger, and Seve have done if you're truly a head case. Reality vs. perception difference here.
    • The site of the 2017 U.S. Open is near my old stomping grounds...I was born about 30 min. away from where Erin Hills was eventually built.  I moved from that area long before the course was even planned, so I've never been there or played it or anything, but I learned some interesting things this evening. I have a good friend up there who works for a limo/shuttle company, and he has been driving people from Madison, Milwaukee and O'Hare to Erin Hills for several days, and he made several comments on how remote the golf course is.  It might not be exactly in the middle of nowhere, but apparently a short drive would get you there. There is only one way in, and one way out.  And these are country roads, not four-lane highways. They announced this site would host the U.S. Open in 2010...seven years ago, and they couldn't get a better road system in place?  I thought that was one of the things that they took into consideration when they scout potential sites?  It sounds like this course was earmarked to host USGA events before it was even built, so if they set out to design a course that would one day host a major, why wouldn't the road infrastructure be included? Anyway, the course itself is a monster...or at least can be, when the stretch it out.  From the blacks it plays 7,800 yds, but it looks like it will play about 7,700 during the tournament.  All four par 5s are over 600 yds, two par 4s are over 500 yds, and two others are over 480.  This is the first time in many years the course will play to a par of 72, which actually gives the guys a chance to make up some ground.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bigtosh90
      bigtosh90
      (27 years old)
    2. dopplegvnger
      dopplegvnger
      (25 years old)
    3. Frank62
      Frank62
      (55 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon