Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3784 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Yesterday I hit a weak fade tee shot with my 3 wood that bounced once on the grass, once on the cart path, and then came to rest in a little bush just to the right of the cart path.  I considered my options to be:

A)  Take free relief from the cart path, or

B) Take an unplayable lie with a stroke penalty.

Relief from the cart path would have just put me further to the right in the bushes, and I thought at the time that relief from the unplayable would have just put me further back in the bushes.  Because the lie was not horrendous - at least as lies in bushes go, it was kind of sitting up - I chose to try and play it.  I figured it was the best option.  I didn't consider option 3:

Taking relief from the unplayable condition to the left.  If 2 clublengths got me on the "course" side of the center of the cart path, then I would get to take a free drop from that condition afterward, right?

Of course, if I were to drop it on the cart path and it were to bounce to the right, then I could very well end up right back in the bushes no better off than before I picked up the ball.

So maybe I did make the correct choice after all. :)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Rule 24-2b

Exception: A player may not take relief under this Rule if (a) interference by anything other than an immovable obstruction makes the stroke clearly impracticable or (b) interference by an immovable obstruction would occur only through use of a clearly unreasonable stroke or an unnecessarily abnormal stance , swing or direction of play.

In this case was the stroke from the bush unreasonable?


Posted
Rule 24-2b

Exception: A player may not take relief under this Rule if (a) interference by anything other than an immovable obstruction makes the stroke clearly impracticable or (b) interference by an immovable obstruction would occur only through use of a clearly unreasonable stroke or an unnecessarily abnormal stance, swing or direction of play.

In this case was the stroke from the bush unreasonable?

In the end, he actually chose to play the shot from the bush, so I'd infer the answer to be "no"......

Yesterday I hit a weak fade tee shot with my 3 wood that bounced once on the grass, once on the cart path, and then came to rest in a little bush just to the right of the cart path.  I considered my options to be:

A)  Take free relief from the cart path, or

B) Take an unplayable lie with a stroke penalty.

Relief from the cart path would have just put me further to the right in the bushes, and I thought at the time that relief from the unplayable would have just put me further back in the bushes.  Because the lie was not horrendous - at least as lies in bushes go, it was kind of sitting up - I chose to try and play it.  I figured it was the best option.  I didn't consider option 3:

Taking relief from the unplayable condition to the left.  If 2 clublengths got me on the "course" side of the center of the cart path, then I would get to take a free drop from that condition afterward, right?

Of course, if I were to drop it on the cart path and it were to bounce to the right, then I could very well end up right back in the bushes no better off than before I picked up the ball.

So maybe I did make the correct choice after all. :)

I'd REALLY have to look at the drop option before answering.  You're right about option 3, but given the relative playability of the original lie, I would likely have done the same as you, and played it.  I don't always make the smart choice though...... :8)

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Rule 24-2b

Exception: A player may not take relief under this Rule if (a) interference by anything other than an immovable obstruction makes the stroke clearly impracticable or (b) interference by an immovable obstruction would occur only through use of a clearly unreasonable stroke or an unnecessarily abnormal stance, swing or direction of play.

In this case was the stroke from the bush unreasonable?

Where does Rule 24 come into play?

EDIT:  Sorry, I'm slow.  I get it now.  Rule 24, immovable obstruction, is the rule I'm applying when I take relief from the cart path.

So, yeah, see David's answer. :-P

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rulesman

Rule 24-2b

Exception: A player may not take relief under this Rule if (a) interference by anything other than an immovable obstruction makes the stroke clearly impracticable or (b) interference by an immovable obstruction would occur only through use of a clearly unreasonable stroke or an unnecessarily abnormal stance, swing or direction of play.

In this case was the stroke from the bush unreasonable?

Where does Rule 24 come into play?

EDIT:  Sorry, I'm slow.  I get it now.  Rule 24, immovable obstruction, is the rule I'm applying when I take relief from the cart path.

So, yeah, see David's answer.

As Rulesman said, that would come into play if there was a reasonable possibility of playing a normal shot from where the ball originally lay.  If the bush left him with no reasonable shot, then he could not use Rule 24 as a "Get out of jail" free card.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

In the end, he actually chose to play the shot from the bush, so I'd infer the answer to be "no"......

Correct.  It wasn't pretty, but it was sitting up in the bush high enough that I figured I'd have a better chance of advancing it than taking relief.  And, technically, I was right. ;)  I got it out of the bush and was able to take a somewhat normal swing with my next shot, even though I still didn't quite get it to the green.

I'd REALLY have to look at the drop option before answering.  You're right about option 3, but given the relative playability of the original lie, I would likely have done the same as you, and played it.  I don't always make the smart choice though......

Yeah, now I'd like to go back and analyze the cart path.  I figure if

A)  Two club lengths put my on the "course side" half of the cart path, and

B)  The path was sloping in such a way that I could "guarantee" that it would bounce at least two club lengths away and preferably to the course side, just in case,

then I think it'd been the smarter play to take relief from the unplayable, then relief from the path.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Correct.  It wasn't pretty, but it was sitting up in the bush high enough that I figured I'd have a better chance of advancing it than taking relief.  And, technically, I was right. ;)  I got it out of the bush and was able to take a somewhat normal swing with my next shot, even though I still didn't quite get it to the green.

Yeah, now I'd like to go back and analyze the cart path.  I figure if

A)  Two club lengths put my on the "course side" half of the cart path, and

B)  The path was sloping in such a way that I could "guarantee" that it would bounce at least two club lengths away and preferably to the course side, just in case,

then I think it'd been the smarter play to take relief from the unplayable, then relief from the path.

Could you have chipped the ball from the bush onto the path?


Posted

Could you have chipped the ball from the bush onto the path?

If I had not tried to play it, I would answer yes to this.  Since I attempted to advance it towards the green and I did not reach the cart path, then I guess I have to answer no. :-P

Relevance?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

If I had not tried to play it, I would answer yes to this.  Since I attempted to advance it towards the green and I did not reach the cart path, then I guess I have to answer no.

Relevance?

If you had been able to play it onto the path you wouldn't get an unplayable penalty.


Posted

If you had been able to play it onto the path you wouldn't get an unplayable penalty.

But I've had hit it one more time, so how does that help me?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

Guys, his original question was about dropping on the cart path intentionally with the stroke penalty, and then taking relief to the left of the cart path. Was it not?

At least that was his option B. He wasn't asking about getting relief from the cart path in order to immediately drop left of the path, I don't think.

P.S. I'm not sure what 24-2b has to do with anything. He's not saying he's going to make an unusual stroke or that anything other than an immovable obstruction is in the way.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

P.S. I'm not sure what 24-2b has to do with anything. He's not saying he's going to make an unusual stroke or that anything other than an immovable obstruction is in the way.

The fact that he considered declaring it unplayable was the prompt. In the event it was a red herring.


  • 10 months later...
Posted

So if the ball is unplayable from a bush on the right of the cart path does one get to drop with penalty onto the cart path then re-drop onto the green grass left of the cart bath for free? Still getting the penalty drop from the bush.  Anyone got the rule # for this type of drop?


Posted

Yes you can drop on the cart path under the unplayable ball R28..  You then may take relief from the cart path R24-2.  You must drop within 1 club length from the nearest point of relief.  This could be back on the right side of the path, however and back/near  the bush.

The key is knowing how to accurately determine your NPR (nearest point of relief).

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

So if the ball is unplayable from a bush on the right of the cart path does one get to drop with penalty onto the cart path then re-drop onto the green grass left of the cart bath for free? Still getting the penalty drop from the bush.  Anyone got the rule # for this type of drop?

As I understand the procedure, you take each circumstance in turn.  It's certainly acceptable to take an unplayable lie penalty and drop on the cart path, as long as its within 2 club lengths, or it keeps the original spot between the drop point and the hole.  Then, if the players stance or swing is impeded by the immovable obstruction (the cart path) he can take relief from it.  Depending on there the ball ended up, the nearest point of relief could be back into the bush, or could be to the fairway side of the path.

There's nothing in the rules that says you can't take your unplayable lie drop on a path.  The rules DO require you to take complete relief from an immovable obstruction, once you choose to take any relief.  For instance, if his ball  was on the right edge of the path, so that his nearest point of relief was toward the right, and there was a 2-foot wide strip of grass before the bushes began, he couldn't drop in that strip of grass unless he could take a proper stance with both feet off of the path.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted


so if he decides to drop onto the cart path from the unplayable lie its 2 club lengths then the free relief from the cart path is another two from the spot where the ball was dropped onto the cart path?


  • Moderator
Posted

so if he decides to drop onto the cart path from the unplayable lie its 2 club lengths then the free relief from the cart path is another two from the spot where the ball was dropped onto the cart path?

NO.  First is 2 club lengths from his original ball, with a stroke penalty for the unplayable lie.  The ball is allowed to roll up to two club lengths from where it lands, possibly back towards the bushes on the right, perhaps to the left, or maybe it stays on the path.  Then, if his stance or swing is impeded by the path, and he chooses to take relief, he must drop within ONE club length of the NEAREST location that gives him complete relief from the cart path.  This could mean he'd be required to drop to the right, back into the bush.  He could also choose to play it from the cart path.

A simple rule to remember about one or two club lengths.  If its free relief, you get just one club length from a point that gives you full relief.  If you PAY, with a stroke penalty, you get two club lengths, but from the "spot", with no guarantee of relief of any kind.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
There's nothing in the rules that says you can't take your unplayable lie drop on a path.  The rules DO require you to take complete relief from an immovable obstruction, once you choose to take any relief.  For instance, if his ball  was on the right edge of the path, so that his nearest point of relief was toward the right, and there was a 2-foot wide strip of grass before the bushes began, he couldn't drop in that strip of grass unless he could take a proper stance with both feet off of the path.

That is correct.

In instance in the video, the ball crossed over the restroom into the hazard. The hazard line would technically project through the bathroom, I guess.  So the rules official forced him to drop in the restroom, then proceed with getting a free drop from immovable obstruction.

In case with @Golfingdad If he was taking an unplayable lie I believe he's allowed to drop on the cart path. Then proceed to take relief from the path. Though, nearest point of relief might be right back in the bush. This might be one of those cases you need to practice your dropping technique ;)

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3784 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.