Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3459 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Funny story.

I doubt it's true though.  That's a pure swindle and not within the spirit of the rules.  He was more likely to get a black eye than being paid up.

Sales guys and their stories...

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
2 minutes ago, No Mulligans said:

Funny story.

I doubt it's true though.  That's a pure swindle and not within the spirit of the rules.  He was more likely to get a black eye than being paid up.

I could see that being a true story. It's perfectly within the spirit. Absolutely.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 hours ago, iacas said:

I could see that being a true story.

I sure hope it was, I loved it! Mister, "I'll bet you TWO-HUNDRED!", should've known the rules.

Jake
"If you need to carry a water hazard, take one extra club or two extra balls." - Unknown (to me)

My Swing | Course Vlogs | Favorite Post | Roamin' for life. (MCATDT)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The result would have been the same, but I don't think the ruling is correct. A ball struck in anger (if that was the case) is not a stroke. The ball was moved under 18-2 and must be replaced with 1PS.

18-2/23

 

Ball Knocked from Lip of Hole in Disgust

Q.In stroke play, a competitor's ball stops on the lip of the hole. In disgust the competitor knocks his ball off the green with the back of his putter. What is the ruling?

A.The competitor must replace the ball under penalty of one stroke (Rule 18-2). The competitor is not considered to have made a stroke.

  • Upvote 1

  • Moderator
Posted

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
7 hours ago, Martyn W said:

The result would have been the same, but I don't think the ruling is correct. A ball struck in anger (if that was the case) is not a stroke. The ball was moved under 18-2 and must be replaced with 1PS.

18-2/23

 

Ball Knocked from Lip of Hole in Disgust

Q.In stroke play, a competitor's ball stops on the lip of the hole. In disgust the competitor knocks his ball off the green with the back of his putter. What is the ruling?

A.The competitor must replace the ball under penalty of one stroke (Rule 18-2). The competitor is not considered to have made a stroke.

Wait a minute--wouldn't that give him a chance at 5 (instead of 6)?

On the green in 2.  Third stroke (the first putt) gets him to a few inches from the hole.  Knocking the ball off the green isn't a stroke.  Replace the ball with penalty of one stroke.  So now, instead of replacing his ball on the green and lying 5 (taking unplayable lie in the story, and putting for 6), he's lying 4 and putting for 5.

Does it matter that his story is match play and the decision is stroke play?  (I'm assuming it doesn't, since rule 18-2 doesn't say there's a difference, but the decision specifies stroke play.)

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
17 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Wait a minute--wouldn't that give him a chance at 5 (instead of 6)?

On the green in 2.  Third stroke (the first putt) gets him to a few inches from the hole.  Knocking the ball off the green isn't a stroke.  Replace the ball with penalty of one stroke.  So now, instead of replacing his ball on the green and lying 5 (taking unplayable lie in the story, and putting for 6), he's lying 4 and putting for 5.

Does it matter that his story is match play and the decision is stroke play?  (I'm assuming it doesn't, since rule 18-2 doesn't say there's a difference, but the decision specifies stroke play.)

You are correct - even better story!


Posted
31 minutes ago, Martyn W said:

You are correct - even better story!

Yeah, and a better bet: "I can make a 5 from here!"

I suspect that one would get challenged more readily than the unplayable lie.

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3459 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.