IGNORED

Hello from Hilton Head Island.

Bigborgel
Note: This thread is 2486 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello, I'm a 71 y/o golfer living on Hilton Head for the past 16 years, and I'm a semi-retired CPA. I'm a member of the Country Club of Hilton Head, where I seldom play, because that course eats my lunch. But I do play regularly at Dolphin Head GC and Bear Creek GC, these 2 courses are under new ownership and are now semi-private, and quite reasonably priced. I game most Ping equipment, except for AFO 12* driver and a Maltby KE4 putter.  I used to build and repair clubs as a hobby, but now just blow grips on. A year ago I moved up from the white tees to the greens, nice to have a chance to reach in regulation again.

Welcome aboard.

We stayed on HHI for the first time back in the summer of 2014.  Loved it - absolutely beautiful place, and we plan to go back next summer (it's a 7-8 hour drive, so not our quickest beach destination).

We stayed in a villa on the 10th at Harbour Towne, just in front of the old tree that guards the 10th green on the left.  Decided against playing it, as my (then-teen) son was with me and wanted to play wherever I did, but isn't an avid golfer...not so fit for $165 greens fees.  Very cool, though, how in the evenings, they let people just walk around the course (there were kids playing in the bunkers on 16 and people throwing frisbee on 18); we walked across 10, 16, 17 and down 18 to the marina for dinner and it was such a cool ambiance.

We played off-island at Crescent Pointe.  Decent little track for the money, but I'm going to play on-island for sure next year.  Let me know if you have any course recommendations!  I like a challenge, but am more a fan of the generous fairways over the tight, tree-lined ones.