IGNORED

Playing vs Range Time For a New Player

klineka
Note: This thread is 2630 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey everyone, pretty new member here, reading through all the great information on this site. I have been golfing for fun the past 4-5 years but never really practiced or worked on my swing specifically. This year I am wanting to get better and lower my scores (have been in the 85-95 range for the past few years) 

I had a 10 year old box set of clubs where some of the clubs had broken so I recently purchased a new iron set 4-PW, Nike covert x, a used Taylormade RBZ 3 wood, an Adams XTD 3 iron, and an off brand 56 wedge. Basically entirely new clubs except driver and putter. I rarely, less than once per round, hit driver. I typically used 3 or 4 iron previously for tee shots, now I will be giving the 3 wood a chance. 

I have been to the range 5+ times so far with the new clubs, and a par 3 course once so far. I know the distances roughly within 5 yds or so.

My main question is will it be worth my time to continue going to the range for practice with the new clubs, or am I better off playing as many actual rounds as I can to get used to the clubs and lower my score?

Driver: :callaway: Rogue Max ST LS
Woods:  :cobra: Darkspeed LS 3Wood/3Hybrid
Irons: :tmade: P770 (4-PW)
Wedges: :callaway: MD3 50   MD5 54 58 degree  
Putter: :odyssey:  White Hot RX #1
Ball: :srixon: Z Star XV

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

• iacas changed the title to Playing vs Range Time For a New Player
12 minutes ago, klineka said: