Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Hank Haney questions Bernhard Langer's Putting


Note: This thread is 2702 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  On 8/27/2017 at 4:05 AM, iacas said:

It was by some. She seems to have a small history of doing that mis-marking/mis-replacing thing.

Expand  

That's interesting...I wasn't aware of that. I assumed she'd say no because when she was first told she was being given a penalty she said, "what, are you kidding me?" That didn't sound like an admission to what she'd done. I also wasn't aware that video was reviewed clearly showing no anchoring took place. I only read that the USGA 'spoke to BL about it." In light of that, I am wrong.

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I watched some of the Champions Tour final on 8/27 and I think most of the people using a long putter are anchoring.  Can't believe that it goes unquestioned by the PGA with some of the after the fact rulings they have made on other tours.


  • 2 months later...

I can’t imagine a much better look short of literally walking up to him and passing an index card between his hand to see if it’s touching. Just appears that this is one rule that is 100% held on player’s word alone. Sure looks like anchoring to me.

64F02EFF-81DE-48A5-BE9B-0BFBD264894E.jpeg

8D45004F-51EF-4F24-94A4-84F8E54A3EF9.jpeg

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)

This is an ugly issue in golf... I think the powers that be wants these guys to retire so the long putter disappears.

Edited by Mr. Desmond

Ping G400 Max 9/TPT Shaft, TEE EX10 Beta 4, 5 wd, PXG 22 HY, Mizuno JPX919F 5-GW, TItleist SM7 Raw 55-09, 59-11, Bettinardi BB39

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
  On 11/2/2017 at 8:06 PM, Vinsk said:

I can’t imagine a much better look short of literally walking up to him and passing an index card between his hand to see if it’s touching. Just appears that this is one rule that is 100% held on player’s word alone. Sure looks like anchoring to me.

64F02EFF-81DE-48A5-BE9B-0BFBD264894E.jpeg

8D45004F-51EF-4F24-94A4-84F8E54A3EF9.jpeg

Expand  

Having seen Dave Koster (who has smaller man boobs than Scott above) in person, it does not look like anchoring to me.

And, it's two guys on the Champions Tour.

I'm not getting overly invested in this. I'm done. It's a non-issue to me.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  On 11/2/2017 at 9:46 PM, iacas said:

Having seen Dave Koster (who has smaller man boobs than Scott above) in person, it does not look like anchoring to me.

And, it's two guys on the Champions Tour.

I'm not getting overly invested in this. I'm done. It's a non-issue to me.

Expand  

Yeah I know. But it’s two guys who happen to be leading the Champions Tour. Still a lot of money and the powers that be bothered to make the rule. Which I just don’t feel is enforceable really. That’s all. No amount of video can possibly prove anchoring. What I disagree with others is I don’t believe McCarron or Lhanger would accept a penalty if they were called out on it because I don’t think even they are aware if they do it. Either way, it’s a rule purely based on hoping players just don’t do it.

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

IDK and IDC. As far as being anchored or not, to me it does NOT look like it noting the shadow behind the rear palm.  Stupid rule anyway.

"James"

:titleist: 913 D3 with Aldila RIP Phenom 60 4,2 Regular Shaft,  :touredge: Exotics XCG-7 Beta 3W with Matrix Red Tie Shaft:touredge: Exotics EX8 19 deg Hybrid w UST Mamiya Recoil F3 Shaft:touredge: Exotics EX9 28 deg Hybrid w UST Mamiya Recoil F3  shaft, / Bobby Jones Black 22 deg Hybrid:touredge: Exotics EXi 6 -PW  w UST Mamiya Recoil F2 Shaft, SW (56),GW (52),LW (60):touredge:  TGS),/ ODDYSEE Metal-X #7 customized putter (400G, cut down Mid Belly)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
  On 11/2/2017 at 10:19 PM, Vinsk said:

Yeah I know. But it’s two guys who happen to be leading the Champions Tour.

Expand  

Which isn't really or mostly because of their putting. Bernhard, for example, is #1 in GIR.

  On 11/2/2017 at 10:19 PM, Vinsk said:

Still a lot of money and the powers that be bothered to make the rule.

Expand  

Which they, to me, appear to be following. The USGA says they're following it. They say they're following it. The PGA Tour Champions says they're following it.

  On 11/2/2017 at 10:19 PM, Vinsk said:

Either way, it’s a rule purely based on hoping players just don’t do it.

Expand  

Repeating that as you have done over and over again doesn't make it any more correct.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  On 11/2/2017 at 10:59 PM, iacas said:

Which isn't really or mostly because of their putting. Bernhard, for example, is #1 in GIR.

Which they, to me, appear to be following. The USGA says they're following it. They say they're following it. The PGA Tour Champions says they're following it.

Repeating that as you have done over and over again doesn't make it any more correct.

Expand  

Well you’ve already stated your opinion and that you’re not going to invest in it so maybe some others can suggest how this rule could be enforced. 

Unless you’re standing on top of the guy or he’s shirtless it’s impossible to definitively tell with the naked eye if anchoring is taking place. You have yet to prove otherwise so I am correct in saying it’s a murky rule at best because it cannot be enforced but only written.

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
  On 11/2/2017 at 11:19 PM, Vinsk said:

Well you’ve already stated your opinion and that you’re not going to invest in it so maybe some others can suggest how this rule could be enforced.

Expand  

Dude, c'mon. Get over it. I'm not investing more in this by repeating the things I've already said several times, including the many ways that someone could actually be penalized for breaching this rule, despite your claims that it's "purely" based on hope.

  On 11/2/2017 at 11:19 PM, Vinsk said:

Unless you’re standing on top of the guy or he’s shirtless it’s impossible to definitively tell with the naked eye if anchoring is taking place.

Expand  

Not true.

  On 11/2/2017 at 11:19 PM, Vinsk said:

You have yet to prove otherwise so I am correct in saying it’s a murky rule at best because it cannot be enforced but only written.

Expand  

Also not true.

As there's nothing new here, nor has there been, I'm locking the topic.

https://www.golfdigest.com/story/why-is-bernhard-langer-guilty-until-proven-innocent-jaime-diaz-anchoring

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas locked this topic
Note: This thread is 2702 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...