IGNORED

Is it too much height in my shot a good thing?

irockvdubs
Note: This thread is 2287 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello everyone, 

I'm new to this site so I'm gonna begin with my stats.

I started playing golf 4 years ago. It started off as a stress relief exercise when I was studying for my board exams. At that the time, all I wanted to do was hit the ball as far as I can. Over time, I really got into golf and made it a mission to lower my score with no target in mind. My first round of 18 holes ended with a 110. This year, my lowest round was 85 (no mulligans, counted drop shot and follwed proper rules) in these four years, I've worked really hard. I would wake up at 6am so I can get a range session in before I start studying or do whatever I have to do that day. Went to range 4-5 times a week and focused on hitting targets and developing proper tempo, swing plane, lower body rotation and ball impact (this helped me A LOT with getting range and back spin)  

As I'm a med student, I can't really afford to play golf AND get coaching. So I bought Zepp golf sensor. It helped me up to certain limits. My score has been stuck between 85-87. I know I can do better because, on my back 9, I usually shoot about +3 or +4 Over par. I know I can bring my score down to single digits. Any tips on how I can achieve that? 

Recently, at one of my range sessions, some guy came up to me and told me that I shouldn't be hitting my 6 iron that high. It's not that I'm trying to hit high shots, those are just my normal shots lol. now I've been learning to control the height. 

I never would've thought that height was the problem since I hit my shots pretty far. 

these are my max distance shots that I can hit with accuracy and incredible height (I say this so readers know it's not a fat shot or a shank):