Jump to content
Vinsk

Rules official resigns over ...rules issue.

Recommended Posts

Not sure what hole/area the penalties happened on, but below are stills of two greens from round one coverage on youtube...it's certainly difficult to see a fringe in some areas but in both shots it's clear that there is a fringe, at least in come places. It's seams reasonable for one to assume it goes all the way around the green, no matter what the surface looks like at any particular point. Again, I'd love to see the area in question, though.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQi9a_H_04Y

fringe.png.03198bba86566eaea0d67cdb47640042.pngfringe1.png.3d9197656ac7d3297cf8931749984872.png

Edited by roamin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sounds ridicules, but I never saw it to make an opinion.     I have played a lot of Golf and seen many times where it was hard to determine the line though.    Could be an over mow or a double cut or whatever, but it seems a but of a mystery.      

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ive played courses where closely mown areas were indistinguishable from the putting surface. Ive seen the same mistake made. But the decision to wipe out the entire round was absurd. Just realizing the situation and introducing a local rule after the round would have been more practical. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

49 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

Ive played courses where closely mown areas were indistinguishable from the putting surface. Ive seen the same mistake made. But the decision to wipe out the entire round was absurd. Just realizing the situation and introducing a local rule after the round would have been more practical. 

Not sure what local rule helps here, the "you can pick up your ball in the fringe rule" or perhaps the "feigning stupidity gets you out of a penalty" rule?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, NM Golf said:

Not sure what local rule helps here, the "you can pick up your ball in the fringe rule" or perhaps the "feigning stupidity gets you out of a penalty" rule?

If one can not make out the fringe, how does one know where it is? 

tenor.gif

Mark the area with paint. Something. Obviously if several players made the same exact error there is some kind of course management fail going on. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not much to add here as sometimes it is difficult to determine where the green begins and the fringe ends.  But if I'm confused I'd ask the guys in my foresome.  But I'd think a pro would ask a rules official if not certain.  I'd also think that if you're certain but it turns out you're wrong, you take the penalty and learn a lesson.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now




×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.