IGNORED

Fitting Dilemma

GetItIn
Note: This thread is 2259 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Noobe to the forum. Hoping I can get some advice. Went to a premium fitter and they recommended aftermarket shafts, puring, and grips that jumped the price of irons up $1500. Went to another fitter for a second opinion and found out stock shafts on the same irons at $840 were giving me similar or better trackman stats. I'm torn on whether to get the premium shafts or regular to save money. I'm a 14 handicap. Short game is saving me. Ball striking is a bit inconsistent. Will getting the upgraded aftermarket shafts make any significant positive change in my current skill level? Or will stock shafts be sufficient?

Welcome to TST.     

I'm not an expert but your situation came up when I was fitted for my driver.   I decided to go the cheaper route because the initial driver cost was around $400 and for me that was expensive enough.   I'll never know if the more expensive shafts would have made a difference.    Grips are a personal choice.

If the second fitter found that you were getting similar or better trackman stats, it would be a no-brainer.   

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sounds like nonsense to me.  Shafts have weight and a flex profile...that's it.  Is it worth spending an extra $660?  (Blank) No.  My entire set, including the bag, didn't cost that much.  

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

8 hours ago, GetItIn said: