Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2489 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Rules experts...Is this ball holed?  Does rule 17/4 or 16/3 come into play here?  

91E03F3A-BA75-49B7-8D61-F71BB869CD3C.jpeg

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I believe not until the ball comes to rest in the bottom of the cup.
The player should lift the pin and if the ball falls into the hole, then it would be holed.

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  On 8/30/2018 at 12:41 PM, Grinde6 said:

Rules experts...Is this ball holed?  Does rule 17/4 or 16/3 come into play here?  

91E03F3A-BA75-49B7-8D61-F71BB869CD3C.jpeg

Expand  

Not holed. See the definition: A ball is "holed" when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole.

  • Like 1

Posted

Let me rephrase it, as I know it’s not holed by the picture, poor wording on my part.  If the pin gets pulled and the ball falls in the cup, is it considered holed with the last shot?  The ball left an indentation in the side of the cup.  I’m just not sure if one should proceed under 17/4 or 16/3 for embedded ball since it did leave an indentation. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

It only seems to be held out of the cup by the serious lean the flagstick has. Lots of wind or was it not put back in properly?

KICK THE FLIP!!

In the bag:
:srixon: Z355

:callaway: XR16 3 Wood
:tmade: Aeroburner 19* 3 hybrid
:ping: I e1 irons 4-PW
:vokey: SM5 50, 60
:wilsonstaff: Harmonized Sole Grind 56 and Windy City Putter

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  On 8/30/2018 at 1:10 PM, Grinde6 said:

Let me rephrase it, as I know it’s not holed by the picture, poor wording on my part.  If the pin gets pulled and the ball falls in the cup, is it considered holed with the last shot?  The ball left an indentation in the side of the cup.  I’m just not sure if one should proceed under 17/4 or 16/3 for embedded ball since it did leave an indentation. 

Expand  

17-4 ('/' denotes a decision, not a Rule subsection) is applicable. If the ball does not fall into the hole then yes, D16/3 applies


Posted

Know...it isn't hold.  It will be, however, once the pin is removed.

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  On 8/30/2018 at 1:10 PM, Grinde6 said:

Let me rephrase it, as I know it’s not holed by the picture, poor wording on my part.  If the pin gets pulled and the ball falls in the cup, is it considered holed with the last shot?  The ball left an indentation in the side of the cup.  I’m just not sure if one should proceed under 17/4 or 16/3 for embedded ball since it did leave an indentation. 

Expand  

One bit of advice, don't just pull the flagstick from the hole.  Straighten it and let the ball drop into the hole, then you can remove it without worry.  If you yank it out and knock the ball away from the hole, then you haven't holed out.

  Quote

17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick

When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

Expand  

If the ball is not allowed to fall into the hole, then it takes another stroke to hole out.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Move the flag or take it out gently and it will fall in the cup. Birdie for u!

Another question to the topic, same escenario but a playing parter take out the flag agresivelly and our ball fly away from the hole and land let say 20 feet from it. You have to putt it or either way it is considered holed??

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick

When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

17-4/3  Ball Resting Against Flagstick Moves Away from Hole When Flagstick Removed by Opponent or Fellow-Competitor

Q.A player's ball is resting against the flagstick. Without the player's authority, his opponent or a fellow-competitor removes the flagstick and the ball moves away from the hole. What is the ruling?

A.In match play, the opponent incurs a penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced against the flagstick (Rule 18-3b).

In stroke play, the ball must be replaced against the flagstick without penalty to anyone (Rule 18-4).

In either form of play, the player may then move or remove the flagstick as prescribed in Rule 17-4.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Posted
  On 8/30/2018 at 6:42 PM, Rulesman said:

17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick

When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

17-4/3  Ball Resting Against Flagstick Moves Away from Hole When Flagstick Removed by Opponent or Fellow-Competitor

Q.A player's ball is resting against the flagstick. Without the player's authority, his opponent or a fellow-competitor removes the flagstick and the ball moves away from the hole. What is the ruling?

A.In match play, the opponent incurs a penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced against the flagstick (Rule 18-3b).

In stroke play, the ball must be replaced against the flagstick without penalty to anyone (Rule 18-4).

In either form of play, the player may then move or remove the flagstick as prescribed in Rule 17-4.

Expand  

So even if the ball is embedded a bit, rule 17-4 applies first?  

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
  On 8/30/2018 at 6:43 PM, Grinde6 said:

rule 17-4 applies first?  

Expand  

Yes, but if the ball is embedded where it does not fall into the hole when the flagstick is remove, ball is considered "embedded" and not holed.
Very rarely will a ball be in such a position, but it can and has happened.

Edited by Club Rat

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Let's be sure to make a clear distinction between this ball's situation on the putting green and a Rule 25 Embedded Ball. The latter can only occur through the green.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted
  On 8/30/2018 at 9:34 PM, Asheville said:

Let's be sure to make a clear distinction between this ball's situation on the putting green

Expand  

Can you explain the situation when a ball is oblivious "embedded on the green" when it stuck in the edge of the hole.
I should have used the term plugged? My understanding, the ball may be marked and placed on the lip, then tapped in.

My above comment was pertaining to situations when a ball is plugged in the green, or sometimes referred as embedded.
I understand what you are stating, the Embedded Ball ruling does not occur on a green and the Embedded Ball Ruling is only through the green.

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  On 8/30/2018 at 4:55 PM, Fourputt said:

One bit of advice, don't just pull the flagstick from the hole.  Straighten it and let the ball drop into the hole, then you can remove it without worry.  If you yank it out and knock the ball away from the hole, then you haven't holed out.

Expand  


Is this allowed ? 


Posted

Yes, but I meant is it allowable to straighten the flagpole first. Of course, the flag would normally be lifted from a straight(ish) position , but in this case it's leaning ,and if I move the stick around prior to lifting it, there's been an effort to achieve a specific outcome. Not saying that's wrong, just curious. 

 


Posted
  On 8/31/2018 at 2:00 PM, Moxley said:

Yes, but I meant is it allowable to straighten the flagpole first. Of course, the flag would normally be lifted from a straight(ish) position , but in this case it's leaning ,and if I move the stick around prior to lifting it, there's been an effort to achieve a specific outcome. Not saying that's wrong, just curious. 

 

Expand  

As long as the movement of the ball is only a result of straightening the flagstick, it is considered holed. 

You are also allowed to straighten the flagstick before playing your stroke (from off the green), but if the flagstick needs to be held to keep it straight, then it is being attended and must be removed before the ball strikes it.  Around here, the wind blows so constantly that the socket in the hole liners tend to wear and the stick will not stand straight unless it is tended.  The 9 hole course near my home operates on a tight budget, so they use the liners as long as possible, resulting in some pretty wobbly pins after a couple of years.  

With the new rules next year, you will be able to leave the flagstick in the hole when putting too, so this condition may occur more frequently.   It's good to know how to proceed with it.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2489 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 354: shitty, busy week so far. Only had time for a bit mirror work - working on the same things. 
    • IDK, a full turn. That is what it's feeling like. When I shallow the club, it ends where It ends. Should I crank the torso more around?  I'll check a face-on to make sure, but it's not like I am trying to make partial backswings.  The day has finally come, when I am getting comments on not making a long enough backswing. 🤣 too much of what?  Here is my typically routine.... 1) I usually start out just doing position work. The backswing stuff we work on. Turn to A2.5-ish, shallow to A4, pause, arms down to A6. Then, slight pump drill and hit the ball.  2) I do some pause at A4 and arms down and try to hit ball from A4 instead of A6.  3) I do some full swing stuff, trying to blend it all together. Checking video to see if I am actually keeping the club shallow or not. If not, then I go back to trying to train the downswing with the stuff we worked on. I try to blend it all together again, and check video.  What am I missing here? I do the stuff we worked on. I'll keep it at, it's all I can do. Just hope it changes.  Sorry for trying to find a feel that keeps the club shallow.. 
    • Ha ha.... I'm not sure.  I've actually never watched a LIV event. ... but maybe? 👍👍
    • I'd look at Days 2 and 22 here: https://golfevolution.com/30-day-plan And watch this video:
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...