Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Fleetwood Not Given Relief From Drain. Why Not?


Note: This thread is 2455 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

If you're watching the Players Championship, you know what I am talking about, no relief from a man-made drain around the green, resulting in a bogey. After seeing this, I am now afraid to take relief from any obvious man-made object without breaking the rules. I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.


  • Administrator
Posted
3 minutes ago, SAGolfLuvr said:

If you're watching the Players Championship, you know what I am talking about, no relief from a man-made drain around the green, resulting in a bogey. After seeing this, I am now afraid to take relief from any obvious man-made object without breaking the rules. I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.

You're gonna need to post a picture or something.

He probably didn't meet the criteria for relief.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I saw this while watching today. It was directly in front of his line of play, but wasn't interfering with his stance, swing, and the ball wasn't on it. I guess the PGA Tour doesn't have the Local Rule on immovable obstructions interfering with your line of play near the green (Local Rule F-5). Without the Local Rule, you don't get relief when a drain is only interfering with your line of play.

FWIW, I think the drain was more than 2 club lengths away from the putting green, so he wouldn't have gotten relief under the local rule anyway.

  • Like 2
  • Upvote 1

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Paradym :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :aimpoint:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Here's what it looked like (16th hole, 2nd round):

242267622_fleetwooddrainoffgreen.thumb.JPG.1f6c68afa123a0edae4d04bf20bd6e3c.JPG

2136001107_fleetwooddrain2.thumb.JPG.7d895b200ff4208cda81ba47265534ff.JPG

 

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

It’s only in his line of play, not stance, lie, or swing.

From what I know, I don’t believe the PGA Tour uses that local rule. And as Deadman pointed out, he’s more than 2CL’s from the green and wouldn’t be eligible anyway. I know they use the local rule overseas on a lot of courses. 

Just a bad break here in America. 


Posted
11 hours ago, SAGolfLuvr said:

If you're watching the Players Championship, you know what I am talking about, no relief from a man-made drain around the green, resulting in a bogey. After seeing this, I am now afraid to take relief from any obvious man-made object without breaking the rules. I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.

It was too far from the edge of the green to qualify for interference on line of play under the local rule (the local rule IS in effect, as I saw it used in Thursday's round).  The lie of his ball met the second provision of the local rule, but not the first requirement.  Both conditions must be met to be entitled to relief:

Quote

Model Local Rule F-5

“Relief from interference by an immovable obstruction may be taken under Rule 16.1.

The player also has these extra options to take relief when such immovable obstructions are close to the putting green and on the line of play:

Ball in General Area. The player may take relief under Rule 16.1b if an immovable obstruction is:

Exception – No Relief If Line of Play Clearly Unreasonable. There is no relief under this Local Rule if the player chooses a line of playthat is clearly unreasonable.

 

  • Informative 1

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
20 hours ago, SAGolfLuvr said:

If you're watching the Players Championship, you know what I am talking about, no relief from a man-made drain around the green, resulting in a bogey. After seeing this, I am now afraid to take relief from any obvious man-made object without breaking the rules. I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.

So there's your answer. While it was "around the green" it wasn't within 2 CL of the green.

Would have been the same thing if a drain was a yard in front of him in the fairway. Irrelevant.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
21 hours ago, Augster said:

It’s only in his line of play, not stance, lie, or swing.

From what I know, I don’t believe the PGA Tour uses that local rule. And as Deadman pointed out, he’s more than 2CL’s from the green and wouldn’t be eligible anyway. I know they use the local rule overseas on a lot of courses. 

Just a bad break here in America. 

Bingo! It did not interfere with his stance or his swing, Thus, no relief. I've played plenty of shots like that. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
On 3/15/2019 at 10:49 PM, SAGolfLuvr said:

I'd better get creative.  Guess that means WE ALL better strive to be better golfers and never need relief.

Or....we can all make an effort to understand the rules a bit better and learn how to abide by them and when they can be advantageous.😁

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2455 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.