or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Adding Up Scores
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Adding Up Scores

post #1 of 11
Thread Starter 

It's amazing to me how many people don't know that golfers are responsible only for the 18 (or 9) scores in the appropriate boxes, not for adding up the scores and putting a number in the "total" box (stroke play, obviously).

 

Oy.

 

33-5. Score Card

In stroke play, the Committee must provide each competitor with a score card containing the date and the competitor’s name or, in foursome or four-ballstroke play, the competitors’ names.

In stroke play, the Committee is responsible for the addition of scores and application of the handicap recorded on the score card.

In four-ball stroke play, the Committee is responsible for recording the better-ball score for each hole and in the process applying the handicaps recorded on the score card, and adding the better-ball scores.

In bogey, par and Stableford competitions, the Committee is responsible for applying the handicap recorded on the score card and determining the result of each hole and the overall result or points total.

Note: The Committee may request that each competitor records the date and his name on his score card.

 

That is all…

post #2 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post
 

It's amazing to me how many people don't know that golfers are responsible only for the 18 (or 9) scores in the appropriate boxes, not for adding up the scores and putting a number in the "total" box (stroke play, obviously).

 

Oy.

 

33-5. Score Card

In stroke play, the Committee must provide each competitor with a score card containing the date and the competitor’s name or, in foursome or four-ballstroke play, the competitors’ names.

In stroke play, the Committee is responsible for the addition of scores and application of the handicap recorded on the score card.

In four-ball stroke play, the Committee is responsible for recording the better-ball score for each hole and in the process applying the handicaps recorded on the score card, and adding the better-ball scores.

In bogey, par and Stableford competitions, the Committee is responsible for applying the handicap recorded on the score card and determining the result of each hole and the overall result or points total.

Note: The Committee may request that each competitor records the date and his name on his score card.

 

That is all…

I only learned this recently (here, probably from you ;)) ... and shared the info for the first time on Sunday.  After we compared cards, my marker started adding them up and I got to tell him he didn't have to bother, they'll do it inside.  (Which they don't actually do either, becaue they just enter the hole by hole into the computer and let the computer figure the total.)

post #3 of 11
Everyone knows that golfers can't add anyway..... a2_wink.gif
post #4 of 11
Wow, didn't know that. Either way I like to know what I shot. a3_biggrin.gif
post #5 of 11
I didn't know that either.

Does that mean you can't be penalized for putting the wrong number in the total box?
post #6 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14ledo81 View Post

I didn't know that either.

Does that mean you can't be penalized for putting the wrong number in the total box?

Yep. But it also means that even if you have the right total, if you have the wrong number for an individual hole, you suffer the consequence.....
post #7 of 11
I'm always surprised when people don't know this one. I've had people get very defensive about it with me too.
post #8 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by saevel25 View Post

Wow, didn't know that. Either way I like to know what I shot. a3_biggrin.gif

In the tournaments I play, you have a little tear off on the bottom of the other guys card and you keep your scores there for yourself.  Use that one to check the numbers your guy wrote down, and then add up your totals on there at the end.  Its also handy because it has rows for GIR, fairways, and putts.

post #9 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamo View Post

I'm always surprised when people don't know this one. I've had people get very defensive about it with me too.

 

There is a series of mystery books where the main character is a PGA touring pro who is dyslexic.  The author does a pretty good job on the behind the scene stuff at PGA events but he totally blew this exact one.  He makes a point of having his main character use a calculator to add up his scores because of the dyslexia, so he does not add wrong and thereby get himself disqualified or stuck with a higher score than he actually shot.  

 

FWIW, the author is John Corrigan and his main character is Jack Austin.  In case anyone might like to check it out.  They aren't the best golf stories in the world, nor the best mysteries, but I found them entertaining.

post #10 of 11

Apparently in Australia, if your club/course hasn't got the full blown handicapping software, you are required to enter your score as the total of your calculated Stableford points !!!!!

post #11 of 11

I know that only the hole by hole needs to be correct.  I formerly did not bother with a total when I was a marker and did not care whether my marker calculated a total.  A year ago during our City Tournament, the scorers got my total wrong.  I pointed out the error (they were too high) and to this day, the permanent record has never been corrected.  So I include a total to hopefully give the scorers pause if they come up with a different number.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Adding Up Scores