The 11th sends us to Rule 11, where the distinction between accidental and deliberate actions are crucial.
BALL MOVED BY ANOTHER BALL and BALL HITS ANOTHER BALL
If a player's ball is accidentally moved by another ball or if a player's ball accidentally hits another ball, the moved ball must be replaced. (R9.6) The ball which did the "hitting" is played as it lies. (R11.1a & b) No penalty to anyone.
Exception: If a player's putt hits another ball at rest on the putting green, the player's ball must be played as it lies. (R11.1b) The moved ball must be replaced. (R9.6) The penalty to the player is two strokes. (R11.1a, Exception)
BALL HITS THE PLAYER If a player's ball accidentally hits him or herself or their equipment, the ball must be played as it lies. No penalty. (R11.1a)
DOUBLE HIT If a player accidentally hits the ball more than once with their stroke, they must play the ball as it lies. No penalty. (R10.1a)
BALL HITS SOMETHING ELSE If a player's ball accidentally hits another player, their equipment or anyone or anything else, the ball must be played as it lies. No penalty to anyone. (R11.1a)
Exception: On the putting green, if a player's putt accidentally hits any person, animal or movable obstruction other than a ball-marker, the flagstick or person attending the flagstick, they must replay the stroke. No penalty to anyone. (R11.1b, Exception 2)
Rule 11 - Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Person, Animal or Object; Deliberate Actions to Affect Ball in Motion
Purpose of Rule: Rule 11 covers what to do if the player’s ball in motion hits a person, animal, equipment or anything else on the course. When this happens accidentally, there is no penalty and the player normally must accept the result, whether favorable or not, and play the ball from where it comes to rest.
Rule 11 also restricts a player from deliberately taking actions to affect where any ball in motion might come to rest.
This Rule applies any time a ball in play is in motion (whether after a stroke or otherwise), except when a ball has been dropped in a relief area and has not yet come to rest. That situation is covered by Rule 14.3.
Parts of Rule 11:
11.1 Ball in Motion ACCIDENTALLY Hits Person or Outside Influence
11.2 Ball in Motion DELIBERATELY Deflected or Stopped by Person
11.3 DELIBERATELY Moving Objects or Altering Conditions to Affect Ball in Motion
This 19 HC player likes the Srixon Z-star. $29.99/doz. OR the Taylormade Project-a in the same price range.
Great feel around the green. Excellent off the tee. Your mileage may vary.
I like a ball I can pop and stop on the green. One that checks up on a lob shot or bunker shot. Driver? They're all within 200 rpm off the tee.
Once I got paired-up with an interesting gentleman. He was a professional drag-racer (not the library kind, the normal kind). Based on our conversation (we shared a cart) I tend to believe this. Very nice guy, enjoyable round. He was powerfully-built and I believed him that he worked out every day. Kind of a prima Donna type, but I enjoy being around different people for limited periods of time.
Anyway, he was given some fancy Titleist clubheads by some fancy person and had them put on very long shafts. He asserted that the pros don't actually hit longer than us because they use longer shafts. He said "compare my PW to your 6-iron." I did and they were exactly the same.
His story always struck me as baloney on the surface, and every person I've told it to has agreed. I'm 6'1" and play standard lengths, he was maybe 5'10".
I've always wondered if there is some secret long-shafts club out there or of he just had a fun time pulling my leg somehow.