Jump to content

47 posts / 3545 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

9 minutes ago, Jay28 said:

He won by 4 shots.

I hardly think he was cheating with a 4 shot lead on the last hole.

He would have won anyway, and not have a thread saying he cheated 45 years later 😂😱😂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

24 minutes ago, Jay28 said:

He won by 4 shots.

I hardly think he was cheating with a 4 shot lead on the last hole.

 

He may have not intentionally improved his lie, directly cheating. But he did improve his lie. If it was accidental he still should’ve called it on himself or at least call a rules official over and state what happened. He did none of those which doesn't shed a very good light on the situation. 

The only scenario that really clears Gary doesn’t sound very plausible: He didn’t even realize he moved the dirt. Huh? I did what? Of course with today’s rule of ‘ I didn’t know that was breaking any rule’ would have him covered.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don’t believe it was intentional, I don’t know if he realized it or not (he did clean off the putter head so I would think it would have clicked but maybe not), and yeah he got away with breaking a rule there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

25 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Of course with today’s rule of ‘ I didn’t know that was breaking any rule’ would have him covered.

What's that Rule number, please?

25 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

24 minutes ago, Asheville said:

What's that Rule number, please?

 

No idea. I thought there was something said awhile back about ‘claiming ignorance’ to avoid a penalty.

On a more serious note:

BMW names Bernhard Kuhnt CEO for North America.

Rather unfortunate last name....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Jay28 said:

He won by 4 shots.

I hardly think he was cheating with a 4 shot lead on the last hole.

 

And yet it appears that he did......

5 hours ago, Vinsk said:

Well the first one would be reserved for utter morons. There’s no question if he touched the ground.

Have a look at the 20 responses following mine. There are people who insist it might not have been intentional and he might not have known. Amazing.

The attitude seems to be "I know you think he looks like he cheated, and the evidence is there in front of us, but why would he, therefore I don't think he did."

The guy has a reputation for being a cheat and a dick - and you can point to all of the Masters promos where you see him desperately sucking up to Palmer and NIcklaus to be recognised as part of the "Big 3" (as if anyone gives  a hoot) to disparage that opinion. How could someone say that a guy with the strength he had in has wrists in those days, and the firm practice backstroke he took was not controlled. Give me a break.

Next we'll have people say that if someone in their Friday foursome did that they wouldn't care - as if that has anything to do with it.

Edited by leftybutnotPM

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Vinsk said:

He may have not intentionally improved his lie, directly cheating. But he did improve his lie. If it was accidental he still should’ve called it on himself or at least call a rules official over and state what happened. He did none of those which doesn't shed a very good light on the situation. 

The only scenario that really clears Gary doesn’t sound very plausible: He didn’t even realize he moved the dirt. Huh? I did what? Of course with today’s rule of ‘ I didn’t know that was breaking any rule’ would have him covered.

 

1 hour ago, Asheville said:

What's that Rule number, please?

 

34 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

No idea. I thought there was something said awhile back about ‘claiming ignorance’ to avoid a penalty.

I think that was whether disqualification was applicable. Rule 1.3b(1)

Quote

(1) Player Responsibility for Applying the Rules. Players are responsible for applying the Rules to themselves:

    •    Players are expected to recognize when they have breached a Rule and to be honest in applying their own penalties.

    »    If a player knows that he or she has breached a Rule that involves a penalty and deliberately fails to apply the penalty, the player is disqualified.

Also, the additional penalty for not including the penalty strokes was dropped:

 

 

Edited by Missouri Swede

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

13 hours ago, Vinsk said:

Well the first one would be reserved for utter morons. There’s no question if he touched the ground. Personally  I think he knew he did something wrong and played the whole ‘ can you keep it down for a minute’ to divert attention.

dont look at me nick offerman GIF by Team Coco

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 8/16/2019 at 4:22 PM, leftybutnotPM said:

Something along the lines of "Gary, we're sick of this shit." when Player improved his lie for the umpteenth time.

Are you serious? How about the advantage of not having to chop down on the ball and being able to take a smooth backswing. That's why the rule exists.

Meaning rules don't matter for you. Correct? Cheating is OK if "no advantage is gained"? - a notion that makes as much sense as your disregard for the rules.

Ive read through this thread and nobody can definitively state what rule he broke. Just a bunch of shoulds, hypotheticals and finger pointing saying "he cheated". If you cant say he even broke a rule, then he didn't break one, did he?  If you have a problem with what he did with the putter, chalk it up to gamesmanship. The tone of golf rules discussions (especially on the internet) are often self righteous and accusatory. Equating the rules of golf with actual laws. Please. These aren't laws. These are rules of a game that in the grand scheme of things are completely meaningless. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

20 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

Ive read through this thread and nobody can definitively state what rule he broke.

Inaccurate.

Rule 17 from 1972: http://www.ruleshistory.com/rules1972.html. Rule 18 doesn't apply as sand and loose soil weren't loose impediments in 1974 either.

23 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

The tone of golf rules discussions (especially on the internet) are often self righteous and accusatory.

As opposed to your constant pooh-poohing? Please. We all know how you feel about the Rules, so here's a new rule: you are not allowed to participate in the Rules forum of this site.

It's a Rules forum. We discuss the Rules here.

21 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

Equating the rules of golf with actual laws. Please. These aren't laws.

Uh, no. You're way, way off base there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, Groucho Valentine said:

 These aren't laws. These are rules of a game that in the grand scheme of things are completely meaningless. 

 

And while a single child is spending a night without food and a bed it is wrong to talk about golf on a golf forum, correct?

And you're the one who used the term "self righteous". Funny that...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...