Jump to content
IGNORED

Embedded Ball Holed?


iacas
 Share

Recommended Posts

  • Moderator
2 minutes ago, Dutch Boy said:

IMO If the ball is embedded rule 16.3b applies and relief may be taken  by dropping a ball in the relief area right behind where the ball was embedded.

 

16.3b only applies when the ball is embedded in the general area.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 minutes ago, Asheville said:

 

For the special case of a ball resting against the flagstick in the hole, see Rule 13.2c (ball is treated as holed if any part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green).

This certainly seems to be applicable here, no? So it's holed?

Colin P.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

What about this scenario? I get that it is highly unlikely, but I am just curious. If this is no good, what if 50 percent of the ball is in the cup, or 80? This is not a ball that has entered through the mouth, but it is a ball that is completely underneath the putting surface and within the confines of the hole.

I get the rule now, but I don't like the way it contradicts with replacement of a ball. That's something I'll just have to deal with if I'm ever as unfortunate as the guy that posted the picture.

embed.jpg

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator

@Bonvivant, rules for replacing a ball on a spot is 14.2. The section you want is d which covers where to replace a ball when the original lie is altered. Specially, 14.2d(2) for the putting green:

Quote

(2) Ball Anywhere Except in Sand. When the ball was anywhere except in sand, the player must replace the ball by placing it on the nearest spot with a lie most similar to the original lie that is:

Within one club-length from its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2c),

Not nearer the hole, and

In the same area of the course as that spot.

 

6 minutes ago, colin007 said:

This certainly seems to be applicable here, no? So it's holed?

No, ball embedded in side of hole is covered in the interpretations which I quoted earlier.

  • Like 1

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, billchao said:

@Bonvivant, rules for replacing a ball on a spot is 14.2. The section you want is d which covers where to replace a ball when the original lie is altered. Specially, 14.2d(2) for the putting green:

 

Thanks for the clarification. I read through the rules at one point in time, but definitely don't remember everything. This 14.2d(2) is the key. Cheers!

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Just now, Bonvivant said:

Thanks for the clarification. I read through the rules at one point in time, but definitely don't remember everything. This 14.2d(2) is the key. Cheers!

Neither do I, but I try anyway. I focus on the general concepts and know how to look up the specifics when needed, like in this case. I couldn’t even tell you it was rule 14 until I looked it up.

Good thing I never became a lawyer 😃

  • Like 1

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
4 minutes ago, Dutch Boy said:

Oops!, My first post and I got it wrong 😖

No worries. I’ve made thousands of posts and have been wrong thousands of times. 😃

Welcome to TST, BTW.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

34 minutes ago, billchao said:

@Bonvivant, rules for replacing a ball on a spot is 14.2. The section you want is d which covers where to replace a ball when the original lie is altered. Specially, 14.2d(2) for the putting green:

 

No, ball embedded in side of hole is covered in the interpretations which I quoted earlier.

I don't think any of us has as much info as we'd like based on the photo. Is it possible this ball is both embedded and resting against the stick?

Colin P.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Just now, colin007 said:

I don't think any of us has as much info as we'd like based on the photo. Is it possible this ball is both embedded and resting against the stick?

Still covered by the interpretation, which I’ll post again:

Quote

Holed/1 – All of the Ball Must Be Below the Surface to Be Holed When Embedded in Side of Hole

When a ball is embedded in the side of the hole, and all of the ball is not below the surface of the putting green, the ball is not holed. This is the case even if the ball touches the flagstick.

 

  • Informative 1

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 minutes ago, colin007 said:

I don't think any of us has as much info as we'd like based on the photo. Is it possible this ball is both embedded and resting against the stick?

Ya, I thought the same thing.   I downloaded the pic, blew it up and it is resting against the stick but I did learn something from this...Thanks Erik, Bill and Asheville.

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

20 hours ago, Bonvivant said:

What about this scenario? I get that it is highly unlikely, but I am just curious. If this is no good, what if 50 percent of the ball is in the cup, or 80? This is not a ball that has entered through the mouth, but it is a ball that is completely underneath the putting surface and within the confines of the hole.

I get the rule now, but I don't like the way it contradicts with replacement of a ball. That's something I'll just have to deal with if I'm ever as unfortunate as the guy that posted the picture.

embed.jpg

The picture is interesting. Let's put aside the wrinkle that the likelihood is so close to zero to probably not matter.

IMO, the Rules do not provide an answer here, because it is entirely outside the situations that the Rules and Definitions are intended for. Consequently, this discussion is just speculation.

Rule 13.2c, ball against flagstick, does not apply. Rule 13.3, ball overhanging hole, does not apply because of line 1 "if any part of the ball overhangs the LIP of the hole", which is not the case here.

So we are left with trying to extract an answer from Holed/1's words: When a ball is embedded in the side of the hole, and all of the ball is not below the surface of the putting green, the ball is not holed.  For me, the ball is 1) embedded and 2) in the side of the hole, but it is not embedded in the side of the hole.  But this is an arguable semantic distinction.

If you want an answer, I think you need to send it in to the USGA.  They may reply with "call me when it happens".

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
21 minutes ago, fredf said:

IMO, the Rules do not provide an answer here, because it is entirely outside the situations that the Rules and Definitions are intended for. Consequently, this discussion is just speculation.

Thomas Pagel doesn't seem to agree that there's no answer within the Rules.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, iacas said:

Thomas Pagel doesn't seem to agree that there's no answer within the Rules.

He's talking about my crude drawing I believe.

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Just now, Bonvivant said:

He's talking about my crude drawing I believe.

Oh, yeah, I missed that if so.

I've only ever seen a ball really embed that deep on a very, very soft fairway. Never on a green down > 1.68".

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

40 minutes ago, fredf said:

The picture is interesting. Let's put aside the wrinkle that the likelihood is so close to zero to probably not matter.

IMO, the Rules do not provide an answer here, because it is entirely outside the situations that the Rules and Definitions are intended for. Consequently, this discussion is just speculation.

Rule 13.2c, ball against flagstick, does not apply. Rule 13.3, ball overhanging hole, does not apply because of line 1 "if any part of the ball overhangs the LIP of the hole", which is not the case here.

So we are left with trying to extract an answer from Holed/1's words: When a ball is embedded in the side of the hole, and all of the ball is not below the surface of the putting green, the ball is not holed.  For me, the ball is 1) embedded and 2) in the side of the hole, but it is not embedded in the side of the hole.  But this is an arguable semantic distinction.

If you want an answer, I think you need to send it in to the USGA.  They may reply with "call me when it happens".

I can live with Holed/1. Should I see it, I'll call it in to the Tournament Director or SRO along with a photo.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


18 minutes ago, iacas said:

Oh, yeah, I missed that if so.

I've only ever seen a ball really embed that deep on a very, very soft fairway. Never on a green down > 1.68".

Yeah. Highly unlikely but I was just curious.

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
3 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

Yeah. Highly unlikely but I was just curious.

Given five seconds of thought, more than highly unlikely: almost impossible, given that there's going to be a plastic or metal cup liner in there, preventing any part of the ball from being "inside" the circumference of the hole. No?

  • Like 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • I'm glad you see the virtue of distance over fairways.  The latter are overrated, and as your full swing improves (good on you for focusing on full swing with 65% of your practice, that's about the right fraction), you'll get those fairways, too, as your dispersion will decrease, even with the longer shot ... and that's ignoring that your driver is probably more forgiving than your fairway woods.  I do want ask something about the fourth paragraph.  Since you're practicing driver, I would bet your iron shots are improving too, even more than the 15% practice time you're putting in (since you're still working on full swing 65% of the time, and that's assuming none of your "short game" practice is full swing mechanics).  Are your misses getting better, relative to where they were from the same distance in the recent past?  I'll bet they are.   I would also bet that as your full swing improves (and as you're closer to the green on your second shot than you were when hitting non-driver off the tee), you're getting better at missing the green in a preferred spot.   Congrats on the first sub-90 round in competition.  That's always a special moment.   Andy has this figured out -- which makes us all happy.  Anyone else reading this far that isn't sure what I meant about practice time, please check out the thread linked in the second post of this thread (the "65/20/15 rule"). 
    • Day 162.  I forget if the official rules (the first post doesn't say) include golf-focused working out, but I'm counting it.  Fit for Golf, in-season, "workout #3."  Substituted barbell press for dumbbell press, as I was doing the largest dumbbells I had and easily getting to 15 reps before.  I discovered I may have been doing press wrong for quite some time after watching Mike's video, so I reset to bar (first set), bar (second set), bar + 10 lbs (third set).  I haven't picked up a golf club today other than for stretching / dynamic warm-up purposes. 
    • Day 9: Did some driver practice; static stuff and then some almost golf balls working on dynamic stuff. 
    • Prioritising driver practice in the last 4 weeks or so is part of a practice plan I've been implementing to get better. And I really feel its starting to pay off. I just had my best ever round of 9 holes yesterday evening with a 40 (daily handicap is 15 at this course so its not particularly challenging), and on the weekend I broke 90 for the first time in competition with a 89 and 35 stableford points (playing handicap 17). I went through a period of months using my woods off the tee, but after doing a lot of reading into strokes gained and similar stats I'm now convinced in the merit of gaining distance off the tee as opposed to just focusing on hitting fairways.  My driving hasn't been amazing, I'm hitting less 40% of fairways, but most of the time its staying in play or at least giving me a chance of advancing my second shot closer to the hole, and overall is giving me a better scoring average per hole compared to my woods. My good drives are getting around 240m down there, compared to about 200m with my 3 wood. I'll keep working on my driver with a lot of block practice as I feel this is the best way to utilise range time - simulating tee box conditions is a lot more attainable on the range than continually playing approach shots off a perfect lie, which Im finding has much less transfer to my actual game. Correlating to my scoring improvements has also been putting in hours of short game practice. Im making more up and down, and am not afraid to miss the green anymore. This has also been huge. So at the moment my practice can be divided up like this: Driver: 50% Approach shots: 15% Short game: 35% Putting: to be honest - 0% lol. In fact, Ive felt just not overthinking my putting has helped me.
    • Day 21: Today was two separate sessions, morning and evening. The morning session was 3-9 swings only, but getting in the delivery position, "pumping," and then going to the finish. Foam balls were used and then real balls. I was concentrating on solid contact.  In the evening, it was more 3-9 swings, a bit longer than that actually, but a bit slower speed. I was concentrating on synchronizing body rotation and hand movement. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Abelvis
      Abelvis
      (43 years old)
    2. DMC64
      DMC64
      (51 years old)
    3. Hazsa
      Hazsa
      (32 years old)
    4. Jkf10
      Jkf10
      (47 years old)
    5. junivivecreamfr1
      junivivecreamfr1
      (37 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...