Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2083 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
1 minute ago, dennyjones said:

But such practice strokes must not be made from a bunker and must not unreasonably delay play (see Rule 5.6a).

 

ROG: 5-5b

No ball = no stroke

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
2 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:

No ball = no stroke

Interesting thought.  

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 hours ago, dennyjones said:

Interesting thought.  

It comes from here, Denny:

Rule 5.5 Practising During Round or While Play Is Stopped

a. No Practice Strokes While Playing Hole - While playing a hole, a player must not make a practice stroke at any ball on or off the course.

These are not practice strokes:

A practice swing made with no intent to strike a ball.

Hitting a ball back to a practice area or to another player, when done solely as a courtesy.

Strokes made by a player in playing out a hole whose result has been decided.

  • Like 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

So after I've played a hole, if time allows, I can get into a bunker and swing away as long as I don't have a ball?   Of course, raking after I'm done..

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
10 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:

Except the question is about a practice swing.
Rule 5.5b discusses a practice stroke. A stroke is the forward movement of the club made to strike the ball. If there is no ball, is it still a stroke? “Striking a tee or natural object with a club (such as a stone or a pine cone) is not a practice stroke.” (Interpretation of 5.5a/1)

Quite right. Let me join you in redefining the consensus, answer True.

It's a nice question, our brains are hard-wired to go "no-one takes practice swings in a bunker after a hole is finished, it must mean stroke".

  • Like 1

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, dennyjones said:

So after I've played a hole, if time allows, I can get into a bunker and swing away as long as I don't have a ball?   Of course, raking after I'm done..

So it seems. 😀

I'm playing with my group on Wednesday. They're vaguely familiar with the Rules, perhaps I'll try it out on them.

Edited by Asheville
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on a puddle of rain water in a penalty area. The player drops a ball within 1 club-length of the nearest point of complete relief within the penalty area and plays a stroke. Which is correct?
    A.    The player proceeded correctly.
    B.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking unplayable ball relief.
    C.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking relief from the penalty area and 2 penalty strokes for playing from a wrong place.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted
1 hour ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on a puddle of rain water in a penalty area. The player drops a ball within 1 club-length of the nearest point of complete relief within the penalty area and plays a stroke. Which is correct?
    A.    The player proceeded correctly.
    B.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking unplayable ball relief.
    C.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking relief from the penalty area and 2 penalty strokes for playing from a wrong place.

C


Posted
1 hour ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on a puddle of rain water in a penalty area. The player drops a ball within 1 club-length of the nearest point of complete relief within the penalty area and plays a stroke. Which is correct?
    A.    The player proceeded correctly.
    B.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking unplayable ball relief.
    C.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking relief from the penalty area and 2 penalty strokes for playing from a wrong place.

C

WITB:
Woods: Cleveland Launcher (Driver, 17 degree, 22 degree)
Irons: Titleist T200 (4-PW)
Wedges: Callaway Jaws (50/54/60)
Putter: Odyssey White Hot

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 hour ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on a puddle of rain water in a penalty area. The player drops a ball within 1 club-length of the nearest point of complete relief within the penalty area and plays a stroke. Which is correct?
    A.    The player proceeded correctly.
    B.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking unplayable ball relief.
    C.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking relief from the penalty area and 2 penalty strokes for playing from a wrong place.

C

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

1.  A player's putt from on a putting green hits a pine cone and is deflected into the hole. The player then tees off the next hole. 
    A.    There is no penalty.
    B.    The player is disqualified because the putt should have been cancelled and replayed.
    C.    There is a 2 stroke penalty and the ball is holed.

2.  A player putts his or her ball from the putting green. The ball deflects off a live insect into the hole. The ball is considered holed. 
    A.    True
    B.    False

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted (edited)

I'll give this a try.  I have "hidden" my response so my incorrect advice doesn't influence anyone else.

Spoiler

 

1. A - the pine cone is a loose impediment and no penalty for the deflection

2. B - False.  A live insect is an outside agent and a putt deflected by an outside agent must be replayed.

 

 

Edited by bkuehn1952

Brian Kuehn

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
57 minutes ago, Asheville said:

1.  A player's putt from on a putting green hits a pine cone and is deflected into the hole. The player then tees off the next hole. 
    A.    There is no penalty.
    B.    The player is disqualified because the putt should have been cancelled and replayed.
    C.    There is a 2 stroke penalty and the ball is holed.

2.  A player putts his or her ball from the putting green. The ball deflects off a live insect into the hole. The ball is considered holed. 
    A.    True
    B.    False

1. A

2. A

WITB:
Woods: Cleveland Launcher (Driver, 17 degree, 22 degree)
Irons: Titleist T200 (4-PW)
Wedges: Callaway Jaws (50/54/60)
Putter: Odyssey White Hot

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
1 hour ago, Asheville said:

1.  A player's putt from on a putting green hits a pine cone and is deflected into the hole. The player then tees off the next hole. 
    A.    There is no penalty.
    B.    The player is disqualified because the putt should have been cancelled and replayed.
    C.    There is a 2 stroke penalty and the ball is holed.

2.  A player putts his or her ball from the putting green. The ball deflects off a live insect into the hole. The ball is considered holed. 
    A.    True
    B.    False

Like @bkuehn1952, I'll hide my answer to avoid influencing anyone:

Spoiler

11.1b Exception 2.  A ball played on the putting green hits any person, animal, or movable obstruction, it must be replayed from its original spot.  So the answer to question 2 is False. A Pine Cone is not a movable obstruction, obstructions are artificial objects, to in Question 1 the ball must be played as it lies, e.i. it is holed, with no penalty.

 

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 hour ago, bkuehn1952 said:

I'll give this a try.  I have "hidden" my response so my incorrect advice doesn't influence anyone else.

  Hide contents

 

1. A - the pine cone is a loose impediment and no penalty for the deflection

2. B - False.  A live insect is an outside agent and a putt deflected by an outside agent must be replayed.

 

 

Explanation for 2 is inaccurate, the phrase "outside agent" has no role in the relevant rule, R11.1b, Exception 2. Swap it out for "animal" and you're good.

  • Upvote 1

Posted
2 hours ago, Asheville said:

1.  A player's putt from on a putting green hits a pine cone and is deflected into the hole. The player then tees off the next hole. 
    A.    There is no penalty.
    B.    The player is disqualified because the putt should have been cancelled and replayed.
    C.    There is a 2 stroke penalty and the ball is holed.

2.  A player putts his or her ball from the putting green. The ball deflects off a live insect into the hole. The ball is considered holed. 
    A.    True
    B.    False

Spoiler

1. A. It hit a loose impediment.

2. B. Live insect is an outside influence. Must replay the stroke.

 

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I really appreciate that you guys are hiding your guess.   Thanks.   

 

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2083 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.