Jump to content
IGNORED

Conceded Putt Blown Into the Hole


iacas
 Share

Ball Blown Into Hole After Concession  

32 members have voted

  1. 1. What is your answer to the question in the first post?

    • A scores a 3 for the hole.
      19
    • A scores a 4 for the hole.
      13
    • A scores something else for the hole.
      0


Recommended Posts

1 minute ago, woodzie264 said:

This

I think it’s only if the ball is overhanging?

Edited by Vinsk
  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 hour ago, Missouri Swede said:

I see your point. I don't know what the final interpretation will be.

The player scores a 4.

HIs ball was at rest, thus, the concession was legitimate and converted his ball to a movable obstruction, not a ball in play.

1 hour ago, Missouri Swede said:

But the result of A's first putt (without concession) is that it is holed. If the concession prevents this, then the concession is preventing the first putt from coming to this final result.

Except the result is finalized when a concession is made and the ball is at rest. If the player concedes the next shot while the ball is still rolling, it's finalized as soon as it comes to rest.

1 hour ago, Missouri Swede said:

["I've been wrong before.  Thought I made a mistake.  Turns out I didn't."]

And you're wrong here. 😄

Just now, woodzie264 said:

This

Not that. The ball isn't overhanging the hole. The ten-second thing has no bearing here.

  • Informative 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 minutes ago, iacas said:

Except the result is finalized when a concession is made and the ball is at rest.

So does the ball overhanging override a concession? Is overhanging considered not at rest? I’m asking as per the Solheim Cup situation. Had Euro said, this putt is good before picking it up, would that not matter since the 10sec hadn’t passed?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
11 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Is overhanging considered not at rest?

Correct.

11 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Had Euro said, this putt is good before picking it up, would that not matter since the 10sec hadn’t passed?

Correct… since that's basically what they did. If they had said "that's good" and Nelly had picked up her ball herself (there's no rule that says you MUST wait the ten seconds after you get there), she'd have made birdie instead of eagle. But by picking up her ball (or knocking it back to her or any equivalent) before she could wait the ten seconds after arriving, she deprived Nelly of that "right" and Nelly's putt was considered holed.


That's why the ten-second rule only applies to a ball overhanging the hole. And why ten seconds? Because it feels long enough to know that a ball will go in or not, and short enough to not hold up play a ton.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Neither a 3 nor a 4 are in evidence from the original question unless we assume that the first putt A attempted that we read about in the first post was for a 3 (in which case, the answer is 4).  

49 minutes ago, iacas said:

And why ten seconds? Because it feels long enough to know that a ball will go in or not, and short enough to not hold up play a ton.

For anyone wondering later if this would have held up play:  I believe the rule is in response to when Don January did hold up play when believing that the wind would knock his ball into the hole.  It did, but it was something like thirty minutes later.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, Shindig said:

For anyone wondering later if this would have held up play:  I believe the rule is in response to when Don January did hold up play when believing that the wind would knock his ball into the hole.  It did, but it was something like thirty minutes later.

Not quite but close.

Arnold Palmer wrote about this event at 1963 Phoenix Open in his great book Playing by The Rules. According to him Don waited for 7 minutes because in his opinion the ball was moving. Finally the ball fell in and Don said 'Told you it was moving'. However, I have read another description from that event according to which the ball did not fall into the hole but after those 7-8 minutes Don yielded under pressure from other competitors and putted the ball in. Whichever is true, the 10 second Rule was drafted shortly after and released in 1964.

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


4 hours ago, Ruler said:

Not quite but close.

Arnold Palmer wrote about this event at 1963 Phoenix Open in his great book Playing by The Rules. According to him Don waited for 7 minutes because in his opinion the ball was moving. Finally the ball fell in and Don said 'Told you it was moving'. However, I have read another description from that event according to which the ball did not fall into the hole but after those 7-8 minutes Don yielded under pressure from other competitors and putted the ball in. Whichever is true, the 10 second Rule was drafted shortly after and released in 1964.

Dang, I should not have gone from memory.  I used to read that book very regularly but it's been a while, and I didn't have it readily accessible when I wrote my post.  Good catch.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 hours ago, Shindig said:

  

For anyone wondering later if this would have held up play:  I believe the rule is in response to when Don January did hold up play when believing that the wind would knock his ball into the hole.  It did, but it was something like thirty minutes later.

This is totally incorrect.

1. It was "7 or 8" minutes later. But one even wonders if that is an exaggeration. 30 minutes? Where did that come from?!

2. Also, it wasn't that he "thought the wind would knock his ball into the hole". It was (supposedly) that he didn't want to be penalised for hitting a moving ball.

3. It didn't eventually fall in. He tapped it in.

And just to clarify - the fact that some may say that there is debate about whether the ball was tapped in or fell into the hole would imply that the whole story was exaggerated anyway. Maybe the "7 or 8 minutes" was 2 minutes. Just sayin'. If people aren't sure if the ball was putted in or not they certainly aren't sure how long he waited. My guess is that it was "ages" and the "7 or 8"  minutes was a totally exaggerated BS story because Player or whoever thought it sounded better.

And.....if an unlikely story involves Gary Player you can be sure it's bullsh*t.

 

Edited by Shorty
Link to comment
Share on other sites


9 hours ago, Ruler said:

Not quite but close.

Arnold Palmer wrote about this event at 1963 Phoenix Open in his great book Playing by The Rules. According to him Don waited for 7 minutes because in his opinion the ball was moving. Finally the ball fell in and Don said 'Told you it was moving'. However, I have read another description from that event according to which the ball did not fall into the hole but after those 7-8 minutes Don yielded under pressure from other competitors and putted the ball in. Whichever is true, the 10 second Rule was drafted shortly after and released in 1964.

January was responsible for a change to the Rules of Golf. During the 1963 Phoenix Open, January had a putt roll up to the lip of the hole and stop. January claimed that the ball was still moving, and waited for seven minutes for the ball to drop (it never did).[2] Rule 16-2 was revised in 1964 to state that players had to tap the ball in within ten seconds or be penalized.[3]

  • Confused 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

34 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

January was responsible for a change to the Rules of Golf. During the 1963 Phoenix Open, January had a putt roll up to the lip of the hole and stop. January claimed that the ball was still moving, and waited for seven minutes for the ball to drop (it never did).[2] Rule 16-2 was revised in 1964 to state that players had to tap the ball in within ten seconds or be penalized.[3]

I thought I just explained what you seem to have copied from Wikipedia...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I scored it a 3.  No swing taken = no swing scored.

 

I'd further argue that the concession must be accepted.

Edited by HankBlue
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
3 hours ago, HankBlue said:

I scored it a 3.  No swing taken = no swing scored.

I'd further argue that the concession must be accepted.

The concession is the stroke. It's a 4.

You can't turn down a concession, correct. The stroke conceded was the fourth.

  • Informative 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 weeks later...
On 9/12/2021 at 10:14 AM, iacas said:

The concession is the stroke. It's a 4.

You can't turn down a concession, correct. The stroke conceded was the fourth.

I was wondering about this. Since the player cannot turn down a concession - what protects the player from an opponent declaring a concession early? I know that the concession isn't awarded until the ball comes to rest - so I'd assume then that the rules governing when a ball is at rest would take precedence over the concession to make sure the ball is at rest before awarding a concession? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Has anyone played this format? It's kind of like a Stableford in that it has points for eagles, birdies, pars, etc., but it's different. For an explanation click here. In our league we normally play weekly individual stroke play contests with handicaps but the thought was it would be a fun mid-season break to have some sort of team competition as well so I'm trying to set up something like this for next year. The question I have though is how should we handle things if the number of guys who want to play is not divisible by four and we end up with one or more threesomes? Someone suggested that it shouldn't matter since it's each individual player's handicap that determines the team handicap which is what is used to set the team's quota. I'm thinking there would need to be some sort of reduction to the threesome's team quota that would have to be factored in or else they would be at a disadvantage.  Does anyone have experience with team tournaments with a mix of threesomes and foursomes?          
    • This is an absolutely horrible take. That is not anywhere close to the best way to determine the best team in college football. All that does is rewards schools for playing in weak conferences. Not all conferences are equal. The top team in multiple conferences is often worse than the 2nd, 3rd, or even 4th best team in other conferences. There are at least 6-7+ teams in both the Big Ten and the SEC alone that would be favored heavily over whoever the conference champ is from the Mountain West, the MAC, etc. Based on your logic, one of each of the two teams like SDSU/Utah State in the Mountain West, Kent State/Northern Illinois in the MAC, and Appalachian State/Coastal Carolina in the Sun Belt would be in the playoff, and with only 1 at large bid for a non-conference champ, that means a number of very good football teams would be left out of the playoffs entirely including potential teams like Alabama, OSU, Michigan, Michigan State, Iowa, Penn State, Kentucky, Ole Miss, Oklahoma State.  Please explain why a team like Utah State, Kent State, or Appalachian State would deserve to be in the playoff over any of those schools I just listed. Simply "Winning your conference championship" is not enough for me, not when there is such disparity between conferences.  How does your method prove who the best team in college football is for a given season?
    • Awesome, @Shindig. For those interested, I'm likely closing this out at the end of the month. LIST OF GEARS-Heads: @Vinsk💰 @boogielicious 💰 @Darkfrog 💰 @Chris Brooks 💰 @cipher 💰 @ChetlovesMer 💰 @billchao ✅💰 @saevel25  ✅💰 @GolfLug ✅ @BradSomrak @coachjimsc @bjfox10 ✅💰 Local Player DR Local Player BT Local Player ST @Shindig
    • I don't believe them at all. It's a stain on all of them, and particularly Kane/Toews, etc. One could forgive them for what they did 11 years ago if they show true signs of attrition and regret and growth, but now they're just liars.
    • I have a hard time believing the players who have been copping the ‘I didn’t  know’ card.       
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. david7w5
      david7w5
      (49 years old)
    2. Jmwest76
      Jmwest76
      (45 years old)
    3. Mikael Detterberg
      Mikael Detterberg
      (39 years old)
    4. NEhomer
      NEhomer
      (61 years old)
    5. RangeGolfer
      RangeGolfer
      (40 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...