IGNORED

SEMI_Duffer's Golf Journey Saga

SEMI_Duffer

In another thread, @Shindig asked:

You've been on this site for a while and it's still golf season where you live -- let's talk (in another thread) about what's stopping you from whatever level of play would start to get you nervous, and then let's get you there so you can experience it.  It doesn't even have to be an 18 hole total -- if you're a 30 handicap, having a three hole bogey stretch can start some nerves that you're getting better. 

Since you asked :-) (I really did try to keep it as short as possible):

I took up golf at the ripe old age of sixty-nine years, in late June of 2020. Took two sets of group lessons at a local golf store.  When I felt I was ready I started playing.  Bottom line: After two sets of group lessons, countless hours in the back yard, at ranges, taking Internet advice, watching YouTube videos, etc, and 7-8 games: My ball-striking was worse than what it'd been at the start of the season. I couldn't hit diddly worth squat with anything.

At the end of the season I started training with True Motion Golf. The plan was to rebuild my swing from scratch, get to the point just shy of doing full swings, for which I hadn't the room, indoors, and move it outside.  Good plan, but...

In May of 2021 I needed arthroscopic knee surgery due to an injury sustained nine years before.  After recovering from that, resumed my training. (Backed-up a bit to re-do some of what I'd already done, as a refresher.)  Was going well.  Then I allowed a couple friends to convince me to play before I felt I was ready.  Calling the game a "train wreck" would be an understatement of epic proportions.  Then, a couple hours after that, I suffered a Branch Retina Artery Occlusion in my right eye--losing about 1/3 of my vision in that eye.

Dropped golf altogether.  Felt it likely I wouldn't play again.